Les Miserables

20130129-032405 PM.jpg
Just saw Les Miserables. My mascara was a mess by the time it finished. Everyone was crying & sniffling. Someone even clapped. I had to get to the bathroom quick to fix my mess of a face.

You’re thinking “Wow – she was really moved!”. Not exactly. My hubby leaned over & cracked a joke at an inappropriate time about 30 minutes before the end and I spent the final half hour trying to suppress a massive giggling fit and wiping away tears of laughter while surrounded by people who were taking the movie very seriously. So, thanks hubby! At least you made Les Miserables less miserable for me. πŸ˜‰

Don’t you think the girl in the poster looks a bit like Dawn Of The Dead girl?

20130129-032542 PM.jpg
That’s what this movie needed – Zombies! Would have been more fun. Also needed a Scooby Doo ending, as my hubby pointed out half an hour before the end.

My Les Miserables haiku:

They sing and they cry
Die and still sing! This needs a
Scooby Doo ending

20130129-033050 PM.jpg
My Rating: 6.5/10

11 thoughts on “Les Miserables

  1. excellent movie! didn’t make me cry, but it still moved me.

    Saw the play in high school and also loved that.

    The whole aspect of national pride really moved me. That, along with the fact that a person can change what kind of person they are after making a mistake are two themes thoroughly explored in the story.

    I saw this twice within two weeks.

    Because of my history with the story, I thought it was better than any of the other Oscar BP nominees this year even though I knew it didn’t have a chance to win (except at the globes). But that’s what we all thought in ’98 about Shakespeare in Love (1998) and Saving Private Ryan (1998) and look what happened there….

    Was secretly hoping for an upset πŸ™‚

    Argo (2012) was a close second for me this year.

    • Yeah – it’s definitely a good movie. I just wasn’t in the mood to do a serious review – the hubby screwed that up by making me have a laughing fit through it. πŸ˜‰ I’d actually never seen the musical so it was interesting watching the movie. I enjoyed it more than it sounds! I wasn’t overly crazy about Russell Crowe or Amanda Seyfried – Samantha Barks was by far the best one in it.

  2. Ha! This film was total Marmite – everyone I spoke to who’d seen it in the West end seemed to really like it and everyone who hadn’t seen it seemed to hate it. I have seen it on the stage, and I really enjoyed the film. If ‘enjoy’ is that right word.

    Huge, I mean Hugh, Jackman is always a good choice as far as I’m concerned and Anne Hathaway was a real surprise. Poor old Crowe got some unfair criticism; no, he can’t really sing but seeing as everyone else can, does it really matter?

    The thing that hampered my enjoyment was the story of the young lovers. Each time they were on screen I keep thinking I wished they get off so we could see what the grown ups were doing. And how annoying was Eddie Redmayne?

    • Hey Laura! I found one of your comments from that time you commented on a bunch of my stuff then they disappeared from my notifications! Lol. I was linking to Les Miserables in my Into The Woods post as I hated that even more than Les Mis! πŸ˜‰ Yes – I agree the young lovers were the worst thing about this. That’s funny you said how annoying Eddie Redmayne was in this just after he’s won an Oscar last night! lol. πŸ™‚

      • Ha! He was SO ANNOYING in les mis! Theory of Everything looks like a Sunday afternoon movie to me, although my friend say Annoying Ed “just IS Hawking”. I trust her judgement and will definitely watch this (one Sunday afternoon).

      • It really does look like a “Sunday afternoon” film. My hubby saw it & really liked it and keeps saying I need to. Suppose I’ll check it out at some point. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Into The Woods (2014) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  4. I do not even know the way I stopped up here,
    however I thought this post was good. I don’t realize who you are but definitely you are going to a well-known blogger in case you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  5. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I
    wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog
    writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips
    and hints for first-time blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  6. Pingback: My Top Ten Movie Musicals | Cinema Parrot Disco

  7. Pingback: My Top Ten Helena Bonham Carter Movies | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a Reply

