Laputa: Castle In The Sky (1986) Review

20130314-115628 PM.jpg
Laputa: Castle In The Sky (1986) – IMDB Rank #245

Watched 7/3/13

This is the second Studio Ghibli film Iโ€™ve watched since starting my IMDB Top 250 Movie Challenge – the first one was Princess Mononoke. I watched Spirited Away years ago in the cinema and My Neighbor Totoro & Ponyo last year.

20130314-115754 PM.jpg
As I said when reviewing Princess Mononoke, I think I started on the wrong one with Spirited Away. Not the best one to start on with my Western Disney-loving ways as that one is pretty out there. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I plan to re-watch it after Iโ€™ve finished the rest of the Ghibli stuff to see if I appreciate it more. I loved Princess Mononoke and that one & Totoro finally have me starting to understand why so many people are in love with the Studio Ghibli stuff.

20130314-115913 PM.jpg
Laputa: Castle In The Sky was a delight. I really enjoyed it. Whereas Princess Mononoke was more serious and adult, Laputa is one for the kids (and big kids!). It follows a young girl named Sheeta who is on the run from air-pirates and other baddies. They’re all after a mysterious amulet she wears around her neck and they’re all searching for the legendary Laputa, which is a floating city in the sky. Sheeta meets a young boy named Pazu who befriends her & helps her on her journey. And I’ve just made the plot sound FAR less complex than it actually is… lol! Although, as far as the Ghibli stuff goes, I suppose it’s a fairly simple one.

20130315-120134 AM.jpg
What I loved about this one, and most Ghibli stuff, was the characters. Sheeta and Pazu were so sweet and likeable & made a great team. There was a real innocence to them yet not in an annoying kind of overly fragile way (another of the strengths of Ghibli characters, I think). They’re kids with the innocence of kids but they’re also very clever & strong. I can see why many (cool, geeky, film-loving) parents are happy to let their kids watch this and other Ghibli films with similar young characters – it doesn’t treat kids like they’re stupid or “bratty” (oh how I hate movies with bratty kids!). Yes the story is a bit complex for the very young but there’s more than enough going on for them to enjoy anyway and it’s one they’d gradually understand more as they got older.

20130315-120313 AM.jpg
The other thing I love about Ghibli movies (aside from just the great overall look to them) is that there’s pretty much always something or someone that I fall absolutely in love with. With Princess Mononoke it was the Kodama (still my favorite Ghibli “thing”! Adorably cool). And of course everyone falls in love with Totoro (right?). With this it was the Laputan robots. I want one!

20130315-120411 AM.jpg

20130315-120432 AM.jpg

20130315-120459 AM.jpg
Another great set of characters were the air-pirates and their mother & leader, Dola. They were great! They were the Fratellis from The Goonies! Totally! (although my smart-ass hubby pointed out to me that in both movies the characters are just based on the real life Ma Barker. Whatever! I still like the link to The Goonies). ๐Ÿ™‚

20130315-120542 AM.jpg

20130315-120603 AM.jpg
I’m not really sure what else to say about Laputa: Castle In The Sky. I’m still pretty new to the Ghibli universe and can’t compare it to many others yet. I’m thinking it’s probably not the very BEST Ghibli if you’re judging it as some sort of film critic (which I’m not) but it was an absolute joy to watch and a million times better than so many animated films aimed at children. (But I’ll still always love my Pixar stuff!). I think what I’m saying is that even the “worst” (as if you could ever use that word in this case) Ghibli is still leagues ahead of the “best” animated films from other studios.

20130315-120720 AM.jpg
What I’m really saying is – just watch this. It’s awesome. And FUN.

My Rating: 8/10

20130315-120832 AM.jpg

21 thoughts on “Laputa: Castle In The Sky (1986) Review

    • Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, it doesn’t seem to be the MOST highly regarded of all the Ghibli stuff. But I had a lot of fun watching it. Looking forward to watching all of the Studio Ghibli stuff.

    • Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ I enjoyed this one so much. Interesting – I had to look Porco Rosso up – not heard anything about that one! I actually picked up a non-Ghibli DVD the other day that’s meant to be good – The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. So I’m wondering what I’ll think of that one…

      • I re-watched Porco Rosso today actually, it’s such a lovely film! I’ve not seen The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, i’ll be interested to read your review ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Pingback: My Top Ten Movies Watched At Home In 2013 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  2. Pingback: The Iron Giant (1999) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  3. Pingback: My Top Ten Studio Ghibli Movies (So Far) | Cinema Parrot Disco

  4. Reblogged this on Cinema Parrot Disco and commented:

    Here’s a review I did of Studio Ghibli’s Laputa: Castle In The Sky in the VERY early days of my blog. Reading it now kind of makes me cringe but hopefully it’ll still convince you to give the movie a watch – I liked it a lot. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! I was disappointed to get so few comments on this review – it’s a great movie & I want more people to know about it. That’s partly why I’m planning to review a lot of Ghibli stuff – I think more people should give it a try. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: Howl’s Moving Castle (2004) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  6. Pingback: What A Miyazaki Theme Park Might Look Like | Cinema Parrot Disco

  7. I’m partial to Whisper of the Heart and Grave of the Fireflies, but Castle in the Sky is my third favorite Ghibli film. Just as you said, awesome and fun! Plus, I love the score. Even for an early review, this is a great one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lol. Thanks! I really should redo this review after a re-watch… Well, I suppose it’s better than my Princess Mononoke review – I really didn’t know what to say in my earliest movie reviews. : ) Grave of the Fireflies was SO good but it’s hard to know what to write about it. Hubby bought me a few Ghiblis for Xmas for my little project & Whisper of the Heart was one of them – sounds like watching that one should be a priority, huh? : )

      • Whisper of the Heart is a lot happier and gentler than Fireflies, but the latter is one of the only movies that still makes me cry anymore. My review was rather hard to write too. Such a deep sadness. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

      • By the way, did you ever see or review The Girl Who Leapt through Time? If you end up liking Whisper of the Heart, you’ll probably like that one too, as I do. Oh, and Wolf Children as well.

  8. Pingback: Spirited Away (2001) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  9. Pingback: Miyazakiโ€™s Movie Posters Make The Best GIFs | Cinema Parrot Disco

  10. Pingback: Transmissions: Lonely Robot Paintings By Matt Dixon | Cinema Parrot Disco

  11. Pingback: A Separation (2011) IMDB Top 250 Review & The Films I’ve Watched So Far (Ranked!) | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a Reply

