John Hughes Blogathon – Volunteers Wanted

20140105-014415 am.jpg
Hello fellow bloggers! How many of you love John Hughes movies as much as I do? Well, whether you do or not, how many of you would like to help me with a John Hughes Blogathon I’m planning for March by choosing a John Hughes movie from the below list & doing a review for it? πŸ™‚

I know he’s done the best teen movies EVER but that he also did some very dodgy stuff in later years. I’m hoping to get reviews for as many of these films as possible, including the bad ones. But as everyone will want to do things like Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, I’ll have to do this on a “first comment received” basis. So add a comment ASAP with your pick.

Here’s the list – I’m including everything he’s ever written as he’s directed very few. I’ll update it as people choose their films:

Tajna Nikole Tesle
National Lampoon’s Class Reunion
* Mr Mom (chosen)
* National Lampoon’s Vacation (chosen)
Savage Islands
* Sixteen Candles (chosen)
* The Breakfast Club (chosen)
National Lampoon’s European Vacation (potentially chosen – let me know if you want this)
* Weird Science (chosen)
* Pretty In Pink (chosen)
* Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (chosen)
* Some Kind Of Wonderful (chosen)
* Planes, Trains & Automobiles
She’s Having A Baby (potentially chosen – let me know if you want this)
* The Great Outdoors (chosen)
* Uncle Buck (chosen)
* National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (chosen)
* Home Alone (chosen)
Career Opportunities
* Dutch (chosen)
Curly Sue
* Beethoven (chosen)
* Home Alone 2: Lost In New York (chosen)
Dennis
Baby’s Day Out (potentially chosen – let me know if you want this)
Miracle On 34th Street
101 Dalmatians
Flubber
Home Alone 3
Reach The Rock
Just Visiting
Maid In Manhattan (partial review will be done for this but someone else can still choose it too)
Drillbit Taylor (potentially chosen – let me know if you want this)

You’ll have plenty of time to watch your movie & e-mail me your review. I plan to kick things off in March so would like all reviews by the end of February.

Now, this had come about because I was picking on Eric of The IPC for never really watching many John Hughes movies (even though he’s my age so he should have!). So we agreed to do one of his Double Take reviews where he reviews a film along with a guest blogger. We’ll kick things off with a Double Take review of Weird Science on his site. We’ll then both also review several other Hughes movies on my site for the blogathon. But anyone else can also choose Weird Science or any of the others that both Eric & I will be doing too. Depending on how many volunteer for this, I’d probably post reviews of the same movie on the same day (One that Eric & I will both do is The Breakfast Club so if you choose that one, I’ll post all three of our reviews on the same day but spread out throughout the day. Probably. This isn’t all fleshed out yet).

Hope that all made sense. And I hope I get enough people joining in – this will be my first ever blogathon! Thanks in advance to any who volunteer. πŸ™‚

20140105-015010 am.jpg

148 thoughts on “John Hughes Blogathon – Volunteers Wanted

      • I know it’s a super obvious one and he did loads of other great ones, but it’s still such a cool and fun film and had to take it given first option.

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

      • No – that’s fine! Am hoping people WILL do their favorites. πŸ™‚ Weird Science is a classic – I’m reviewing as many as I get time for but am at least doing the teen ones. πŸ™‚

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

    • Hey you! You can do that one too but you’re doing all those other teen ones I’m forcing you to do too!!! πŸ˜‰ But someone else can do Planes, Trains & Automobiles too if they want – it’s a popular one. Thanks for being willing to torture yourself by watching all these for me! πŸ™‚

    • That’s brave! There are some pretty bad ones in here. πŸ˜‰ You sure you want me to pick? Or do you want to see what others are picked & then look at what’s left? πŸ™‚ I assume you’ve seen all the biggest ones…

      • Haha. Okay – I’ll see how many sign up then give you one in a couple of days (I won’t give you the very worst). Then after that I’ll open it up to people choosing a second one too if they want. πŸ™‚

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

      • Oh wow! You haven’t seen many of these?! Most my favorites are taken. That’s a lot of pressure – I don’t know what to give you so you aren’t turned off of John Hughes for life! Lol. πŸ˜‰ Have you seen all the Vacation movies? I assume you’ve seen Home Alone! Uncle Buck?? Planes, Trains & Automobiles?

      • I have seen Home Alone and Flubber… Not much else haha! I will watch anything you recommend as good just for me, but just give me any which one to join in on the blogathon with haha!

      • Hmm…. I’m going to give you National Lampoon’s Vacation, then. The start of the Vacation films. I have NO clue what you’ll make of it! But I’m scared it give out one of my precious teen ones to you – I think you’d have to ease into the teen ones if you haven’t watched much Hughes. You’d have to start with Ferris Bueller but that was the first one to go. As expected. πŸ™‚ I may do Vacation as well – not watched it in ages. πŸ™‚

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • Okay – I’m going to bend the rules a bit if they’re going to be reviews from the lovely Movie Squirrel! πŸ˜‰ The Breakfast Club has been chosen (and Eric & I are also doing it) but I think we can squeeze in a review from the Squirrel as well. And for Maid In Manhattan too. πŸ™‚ Plus I’ll still leave that one open for others in case anyone else wants to choose it too (for some odd reason). Thanks for joining! I value the opinion of Movie Squirrel!

    • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

      • I’m looking forward to all the great Hughes fun!
        I saw that documentary Don’t You Forget About Me a couple of years ago and it made me really miss him. But it also made me feel like the people who made it were being ridiculously pushy, pretty much stalking the guy.

      • I’m really looking forward to this now, too. I can’t believe the great response to this! πŸ™‚ You know I never actually saw that documentary?? Wanted to but I don’t like the sound of them harassing my lovely John Hughes. 😦

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

    • Hi! Do you still want The Great Outdoors and/or Uncle Buck? I have one review for Uncle Buck but you can still do it too if you want. : ) Reviews starting to be posted Monday.

      • Hey! If you already have an Uncle Buck then I will certainly provide a Great Outdoors post. I know that they were due today and I am working like a maniac to polish it off and get it to you soon

      • Hey – that’s alright! Finish it anytime. Just double checking you still wanted in. : ) Don’t have an Uncle Buck yet but one person plans to do it. I’m posting multiple reviews for several so feel free to do that as well if you want. If you don’t tell anyone, you can send me a review(s) anytime before the end of March. Your reviews are great. Love the Shitfest ones especially! : )

  1. Hey Dude, Happy New Year ! This is Andraι from Movie Logs. I’d love to get in on the John Hughes blogathon. I’d love to review Drillbit Taylor, She’s Having a Baby and Weird Science. This is a great idea and I hope we can do more collaborations like this in 2014 and beyond! Andraι

    Date: Sun, 5 Jan 2014 15:00:55 +0000 To: casabey@hotmail.com

    • Thanks for joining! πŸ™‚ Weird Science has been taken. Which would you rather have of the other two? For now I think I’ll let everyone just choose one and then if there are still a lot left over, I’ll open it up to everyone also choosing a second or third if they want too. πŸ™‚

      • I’ve opened it up again due to there being so much interest. You can do all three! πŸ™‚ I’d especially love for you to do Drillbit Taylor, too, as no one is doing that either. You’re the only one to volunteer for She’s Having A Baby, too, which I thought someone would pick. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

    • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

    • Hi! Do you still want to do Drillbit Taylor, She’s Having A Baby & Weird Science? I only have reviews for Weird Science. Let me know! : ) Reviews starting to be posted Monday.

    • Yay!!!! I was SO hoping no one would pick that as I sat here watching no one pick such a good one for so long. I knew you’d be wanting that of what was now left! πŸ˜‰

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

  2. I’m up for National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation and European Vacation if nobody’s doing it and you’re ok with that. They kind of go together.

    • Great! Thanks for joining in. πŸ™‚ I suppose I better stay fair & for now ask which of the two you’d rather do. Then in a few days if there are still a lot of movies left over, I’ll ask those who’ve chosen one already if they’d like to pick a second (or maybe even third!) to do as well. Hoping to get as many of the above movies reviewed as possible. πŸ™‚ If you want, I’ll automatically give you your second choice too if no one has picked it yet after a few days.

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

    • Lol! All you people making me choose are stressing me out! πŸ˜‰ (Just kidding – you know you don’t stress me out). πŸ™‚ But I need to know what you’ve seen of Hughes to know what one you may like! Like with Zoe, I don’t want to make her hate Hughes forever as she hasn’t watched many of his movies. Have you?

      • I know. I’m helpless. 😦 Lol. I have seen and enjoyed: Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Home Alone, and Christmas Vacation. Liked Home Alone 2, 101 Dalmatians, and Maid in Manhattan ok. Keep me away from Flubber, Drillbit Taylor, and Home Alone 3.

      • Okay. I suggest either Some Kind Of Wonderful if you want a teen one or Planes, Trains & Automobiles if you don’t. πŸ˜‰ Some Kind Of Wonderful is one of several that I’ll also be doing. Gonna try to at least do all the teen ones. πŸ™‚

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

  3. I will be happy to do Dutch if no one else has claimed it. It is one of my faves out of the non-teen-angst era John Hughes.

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

      • Is there any way I could turn mine in sooner (I am actually finished)? Because by the time March rolls around I will not have time and attention while I am in the middle of school.

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

      • Woohoo! Thanks for hosting the blogathon! I’m glad I finally have a legitimate reason to revisit it. πŸ™‚ Can I also please pick Baby’s Day Out? My boyfriend is always ranting about how amazing that film is.

      • I’m waiting a couple of days to see how many get picked and then am going to open it up to anyone wanting to choose a second (or third!) film to do as well. A few of you would like to do a second one – if Baby’s Day Out isn’t chosen soon, I’ll let you know & you can have that too. πŸ™‚

      • I’m sending this message to everyone who has signed up for the Hughes blogathon. It’s been so popular that I’ve decided to open it up again & let as many people choose any movie they want. All I ask is that you also still do your original choice as well so that I don’t just end up with 100 reviews of Ferris Bueller. ; ) So those who asked for two or three already can have them all. I’ll update the post later today when I get time. Thanks all for all the interest! : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

    • Yes! Thanks for joining! πŸ™‚ I’m updating this later & letting everyone also choose anything else of any of the others as there’s been such a huge response & I’ll have to let more than one person do some of them.

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

    • It’s yours! Thanks for joining! : ) Later today I’m also updating this & letting everyone pick another one of any of them. It’s been so popular I’ll have to let more than one person do each. So you can also choose a second if you want. : )

    • (This is a reply to everyone so ignore me if you’ve sent your review) : )

      Hi! Just letting you know in case you didn’t see my updates, you can email your John Hughes review(s) to me anytime by March 1st to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. I’ll let you know when your review gets scheduled. Thanks again for joining in! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: John Hughes Blogathon – UPDATE: Pick Any You Want | Cinema Parrot Disco

  5. Pingback: John Hughes Blogathon – Still Time To Join | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a Reply

