My Top Ten Movies Of 2013

I’ve been holding off on doing this list as there are still some movies I haven’t seen and I think it’s possible some of them would make the list. Maybe I can amend it after seeing some more. I’ll list a few that I missed at the bottom.

So…. *Drum Roll!* – Here are My Top Ten 2013 Movies (going by UK Release Date & counting down from ten). I’ve also done a full review for each which you can read if you click each title:

10. Warm Bodies

20140107-093617 pm.jpg
9. Thor: The Dark World

20140107-093837 pm.jpg
8. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

20140107-094020 pm.jpg
7. Despicable Me 2

20140107-094155 pm.jpg
6. Django Unchained

20140107-094554 pm.jpg
5. Robot & Frank

20140107-094410 pm.jpg
4. Gravity

20140107-094827 pm.jpg
3. The Way Way Back

20140107-095009 pm.jpg
2. Frozen

20140107-095302 pm.jpg
1. Rush

20140107-095614 pm.jpg

THE NEXT TEN (in ascending order this time just to complicate things!):

11. The Place Beyond The Pines
12. Before Midnight
13. The Conjuring
14. Star Trek Into Darkness
15. Sound City
16. Wreck-It Ralph
17. Monsters University
18. The World’s End
19. Mud
20. Pacific Rim

MOST DISAPPOINTING OF THE YEAR:

Man Of Steel & The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug

WORST MOVIE OF THE YEAR:

Oz The Great And Powerful

SOME I MISSED:

Here are a few films I missed. Plus remember I’m in the UK so a lot of those big “worthy” films aren’t even out here yet:

The Spectacular Now
Saving Mr Banks
Captain Phillips
Blue Is The Warmest Color
Short Term 12

And plenty more but I really wanted to see these & The Spectacular Now sounds like my exact type of thing.

Now, if you care, you can see the full (sad) list of every 2013 movie that I saw HERE. I’ve reviewed all but two (Before Midnight & Mud because I’ve only just watched those) and the links are included. And… I may have sort of ranked every single one in order from my favorite to least favorite. Yes, I do that sort of thing. I should seek help…

And tomorrow I’ll be posting My Top Ten (Other) Movies Watched In 2013. I watched a lot of movies other than just ones released in 2013 & they deserve a mention as a lot of them are better than most the 2013 films combined. πŸ™‚

61 thoughts on “My Top Ten Movies Of 2013

  1. Just saw Frozen today and now I need to change my top 10 😦

    Nice list. still haven’t seen a few on your list that I’m looking forward to seeing(Thor and The Hunger Games 2)

  2. Very interesting list. Great to see Rush so highly rated. i liked Now you see me a lot, and The World’s End would be so much better if the ending hadn’t gotten so silly. I really want to see Frozen.

    • Thanks. πŸ™‚ I really did love Rush, which I wasn’t expecting as I hate racing & sports. Now You See Me was okay but I think I was disappointed because I couldn’t help but compare it to The Prestige the whole time. Do agree that The World’s End doesn’t have a great ending but not sure the best way they could have ended it. Hope you like Frozen – I think it’s the best Disney film in years. πŸ™‚

  3. I count some of these as 2012 pictures, but I agree that most of them are very good. I didn’t love Thor or Rush, but I did (tepidly) recommend both.

    And Frozen is fantastic.

    Oh. And Man of Steel and The Hobbit are not good. Oz is crap.

    You should make a point of seeing The Spectacular Now, by the way. I have a feeling you’ll like it.

    • What do you have against Chris Hemsworth?? Lol. I loved Frozen! So glad to see a return to the classic sort of fairy tales Disney does so well. Glad you agree on the ones I didn’t like! I want to see The Spectacular Now SO much. It never got a general release in the UK. 😦

    • Yes – Rush was excellent! Can’t believe how much I loved a film about racing. Ugh! Goes to show just how great the characters were. Everyone thinks it’s just because I have the hots for Hemsworth but it’s all about those two guys and their very different personalities. Loved it! πŸ™‚ And, yeah – it gets confusing when all those big Oscar films are released end of the year in the US but January/February here. I hate that!

  4. That’s a fine list there Disco girl (that’s what I’m calling you from now on) πŸ˜‰

    Great to see Robot & Frank feature. So often little movies like that that are released early in the year are forgotten about.

    • Thanks! And I like Disco Girl, btw. πŸ™‚ Yep – Robot & Frank was a pleasant surprise. Loved it. And I never forget a film since I keep these sad sad movie lists. Lol πŸ™‚

      • Disco girl it is then! πŸ˜‰
        Yeah, I don’t normally keep lists but I tag my reviews with just the year it was released so I can check back on all the films from that year. That way they get list or forgotten about. Great little film, though.

    • The Way Way Back was so good! Loved Rockwell. It’s one of those that I just want to make everyone watch! The same as with Rush – I wasn’t expecting that to be SO good. Especially as I hate racing & sports. They were just such amazing characters and the two guys gave excellent performances.

  5. Nice choices – The Way Way Back was one of those nice, slow-paced films, perfect for a relaxing Friday night at home.

    I thought the 2nd hunger games was an improvement on the first. What was it about The Hobbit that was particularly disappointing? It’s another one I thought improved on the first installment.

    • LOVED The Way Way Back – almost put it at 2nd above Frozen. πŸ™‚ Sam Rockwell was great! (And I’ve never really liked him before this movie). The 2nd Hunger Games was a better adaptation than the first – definitely an improvement over the first film even though I like the first book the most. Ugh – don’t get me started on The Hobbit! Lol. I ranted about it in the review. The problem is that I, unfortunately, saw it in 3D so I’m not actually sure how good the film was as the 3D & way it was filmed went beyond distracting. :-/

  6. Great list! Obviously we disagree on The Hobbit but otherwise our tastes seem to be quite similar (except that I like girly movies), so I got to check the ones you mentioned in your top20 that I haven’t seen yet. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ Yeah – I’m still not sure how I feel about the actual Hobbit movie as I was too distracted by the 3D to concentrate! I do recommend all 20 of these films. And I do like girly movies too. Sometimes… Lol πŸ˜‰

  7. I liked how you had Warm Bodies on the list as It was one of my favorites as well( a surprising one too when i watched it) I just watched The Place Beyond the Pines last night and rather enjoyed the multiple layers, themes and it being more of an epic; which I think is a lost art in film making these days and was rather refreshing.

    • Yeah – I’d not read the book and had NO idea what to expect from Warm Bodies. It ended up being a nice pleasant surprise! πŸ™‚ I really enjoyed The Place Beyond The Pines too. It’s probably the one that the hubby & I most disagreed on this year. I do agree with him that the first act was by far the best of the three, though.

      • I would agree too about The Place Beyond the Pines. For me there were flaws in the third about Luke’s son but honestly for me it is one of those films where i really had to try hard to find a criticism. Yes, the first was my favorite too. Gosling was just an appropriate fit for that role.

  8. Rush was awesome. Admittedly I caught it on a plane over to San Francisco, but I was gripped! Performances were perfection and the sound mix was one of the best of the year, probably second behind Gravity.

    • Definitely! SUCH a great film. Very gripping. And I hate racing! (And all sports, really). It was all about the two great & very different personalities. Has nothing to do with my Hemsworth crush like everyone thinks. Lol

  9. Pingback: My Top Ten Movies Watched At Home In 2013 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  10. Oh my goodness Catching Fire thrilled me no end! Django was just bags of fun, too. I love that film!

    I think you are biased when it comes to Rush πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

