Kristen Stewart and Nicholas Hoult are Tackling George Orwell’s 1984

20140118-100431 am.jpg
Kind of old news now but I just had to post this so I could say: “What? Are you kidding me?? F&@k off!”.

Now that that’s out of the way, the following and a bit more can be read at this link: Screencrave

[Kristen Stewart] has signed up for a role in a remake of George Orwell’s 1984 that will gear the story towards young romance, and is seemingly called Equals. She’ll be costarring with Nicholas Hoult, recently of Jack the Giant Slayer and Warm Bodies, who is also no stranger to the problems of being young and in love. The film is to be directed by Drake Doremus, best known for Like Crazy.

Whatever.

But in looking for a picture to use in this post (I didn’t want to use Kristen Stewart), I came across this interesting Guardian article where they did a survey asking people if they’ve lied about reading books they never actually read. 1984 is number one. See the top 10 books people claim to read but haven’t here: The Guardian

Really? It’s now many years since I’ve read it but I loved 1984! Also The Catcher In The Rye, To Kill A Mockingbird & Lord Of The Rings. Okay – I fully admit that I’ve not read the rest in the top ten. 🙂

32 thoughts on “Kristen Stewart and Nicholas Hoult are Tackling George Orwell’s 1984

  1. Our English teacher made us read 1984 and asked who’s read it. Out of 30 17-18 year olds I was the only one and now, as we are reading it, they all say how boring and uninteresting it is. And while we are supposed to read in class, they put their phone inside of the book and pretend to read. As 1984 is my fav book and I’ve read it about 4-5 times, it breaks my heart every time. How do people not LOVE it??

    The film news, anyway… hmh. Stewart should be playing Winston’s lethargic wife, I see it working like that. Otherwise, I’m really sceptical about this. For this to be good (and do justice to Orwell’s genius), a miracle should happen.

    • Lol – do they realize that they’re kind of living proof of Orwell’s vision?? How funny! I’m old so we didn’t have phones in school. I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised that students now would hide their phones in their books & pretend to read! Glad you’re different. : )

      I really can’t see this film being good. At all. : (

  2. Nicholas Hoult I’m fine with, but Kristen Stewart?! EW. How is she still getting work??? As for the books, I’ve read 6 out of 10! …Unless I’m lying. Lol. Unfortunately, 1984 is one of the 4 I haven’t read…

  3. Definitely agree with how Elina put it. The film must be really something to do any good to Orwell’s masterpiece. It’s a great read, but it also carries some important messages as in any other work by Orwell. I’m really curious of hwo they will integrate all those genius aspects into the film.

  4. I don’t think I could be any less enthused about this adaptation. Not a fan of Kristen Stewart, and the fact that the director of ‘Like Crazy’ is attached plummets my hopes even more. I haven’t seen enough of Hoult to judge his casting, though. UGH.

    On a brighter note, interesting Guardian link! I’ve legitimately read all of the top 10 except for Great Expectations, A Passage to India and Crime and Punishment.

    • I know. 1984 as a young adult romance! Big ugh. : (

      Yeah – I feel a bit better now knowing that so many people lie about reading classics. Lol. That’s impressive that you’ve read so many! I’ve only read four. For real. : )

      • I went through a phase in my early teens where I got really into reading classics and super-long books. I must’ve wore myself out with them though, because now I much prefer modern/contemporary lit haha.

  5. What in the name of arse?! I just can’t stand that girl and her constant pouting. 1984 isn’t my favourite book (I preferred Animal Farm) but the thought of a remake makes me shudder.

  6. Oh…grrooooaannnnn…Kristen Stewart in an Orwell adaptation/remake? Call me cynical but I just don’t think there’s any way this can be good. And I didn’t recognize the male name, but now that you associated him with Warm Bodies and Jack the Giant Slayer, that doesn’t seem to really increase my hopes for this. . .anyway, interesting piece of news, though! 😀

    • I know. What the hell? 1984 as a young adult romance! Ugh. And Kristen Stewart! Ugh. Hoult… I don’t know. I liked him in Warm Bodies. But this movie still sounds terrible.

  7. Stewart and Orwell do not sound good compination but then again, she’s not that bad actress… I have to admit, I haven’t read any of the books on the list, so I don’t know a lot about that classic novel but of course I’ve heard about it. And I should definitely read it. I own at least half of the books on the list, just never gotten into reading them.

  8. The only possible good bit of news here is that they’re not using the original title — hopefully it’s “1984-like” rather than a straight adaptation, and therefore will not sully the novel’s name with an inevitably awful film.

    Not that I’ve read it either, though I’ve been meaning to for… too long to think about. (In fact, I’ve only read 1 book on that list. I’ve seen films of 5 others though — that’s basically the same, right?)

Leave a Reply

