The CPD John Hughes Blogathon Begins

20140302-040355 pm.jpg

Why I’m Doing A John Hughes Blogathon:

Hi everyone! I’d like to start by saying a little bit about why I’m doing a John Hughes Blogathon. I grew up with all the John Hughes movies (especially his teen films) and they will always be very special to me. I’m a movie blogger so, obviously, I have a massive love of all kinds of different films. I’ve been doing this over a year now but I’ve never reviewed a Hughes film or really made much mention of the man who is probably most responsible for helping to make me the movie lover that I am today. So I decided it was about time that I do something on my blog to celebrate the work of John Hughes. For me, nothing else comes close to giving me that same sense of nostalgia that his 80’s films still do when I watch them all these years later. Thank you, John Hughes! I hope you knew just how much your teen movies meant to a generation of teenagers as well as your family films to all ages and that what you created will forever live on in our hearts. 🙂

What Will Be Happening:

The John Hughes Blogathon BEGINS! I’ll post a couple little things later today but we’ll officially kick things off tomorrow with a special double review of Weird Science from me & Eric of The IPC, who helped inspire this blogathon. Then I have loads of guest reviews I’ll be posting for all of March plus I’ll be reviewing as many films as I can and posting occasional other Hughes-related things. Thank you so much to everyone who has agreed to participate! And you can still join in if you want. Here’s an update on the reviews that have been done, that will be done, and that have yet to be chosen. Let me know in the comments if you’d still like to join in. You can e-mail the reviews to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com.

Reviews Received (the number received is next to each):

Weird Science (3)
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (3)
National Lampoon’s European Vacation (1)
Mr Mom (1)
Just Visiting (1)
Only The Lonely (1)
Home Alone 3 (1)
Sixteen Candles (4)
The Breakfast Club (3)
Some Kind Of Wonderful (2)
Planes, Trains & Automobiles (3)
Baby’s Day Out (1)
Beethoven (1)
Tajna Nikole Tesle (1)
National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (2)
Pretty In Pink (2)
National Lampoon’s Class Reunion (1)
101 Dalmatians (1)
Career Opportunities (1)

Films Chosen:

National Lampoon’s Vacation (1)
Uncle Buck (1)
Miracle On 34th Street (1)
Home Alone 2: Lost In New York (1)
Maid In Manhattan (1)
The Great Outdoors (1)
She’s Having A Baby (1)
Home Alone (1)
Dutch (1)
Curly Sue (1)
Drillbit Taylor (1)
Flubber (1)

Films Not Chosen or I’ve Not Heard From The Volunteers:

Would love to get reviews for each of these so let me know if you’d like to review any of the following. I can’t remember who chose some of these – If you chose one, let me know if you’d still like to review it. 🙂

Savage Islands
Dennis
Reach The Rock
New Port South

17 thoughts on “The CPD John Hughes Blogathon Begins

  1. Looking forward to this one. It should be fun. 🙂

    I will do one or two more if no one else signs up for the unchosen ones. Since I’ve already done two, though, I’ll give others a chance to sign on first, though. Just let me know if you need me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

