Guardians Of The Galaxy (2014) Review

20140804-124743 am-2863834.jpg

Guardians Of The Galaxy (2014)

Directed by James Gunn


Starring:
Chris Pratt
Zoe Saldana
Dave Bautista
Vin Diesel
Bradley Cooper
Lee Pace
Michael Rooker
Karen Gillan
Djimon Hounsou
John C Reilly
Glenn Close
Benicio del Toro

Running time: 122 minutes

Plot Synopsis: (via Wikipedia)
In Guardians of the Galaxy, Peter Quill forms an uneasy alliance with a group of extraterrestrial misfits who are on the run after stealing a coveted orb. (Thank you, Wikipedia – that was very brief!)

20140804-124721 am-2841271.jpg

My Opinion:

If I don’t keep this short like I did with Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes, I’ll never get around to writing it. I thoroughly enjoyed Guardians Of The Galaxy. A lot. Like with all comic book movies, I have zero knowledge of any of these characters beyond what I’ve seen of them in all these films. As far as “superhero” characters go, I totally bought into these – raccoon & walking tree & all. That’s always what’s most important to me in any film. If I don’t buy into at least one character, it feels like a complete waste of my time. I loved these misfits. Who DOESN’T like a group of loveable misfits? That’s why this movie is such a huge success already.

20140804-125122 am-3082506.jpg

Hmm. What else? Groot. I loved Groot! I want my own Groot!!! Chris Pratt & Zoe Saldana were both great. Chris Pratt means nothing to me – No, I’ve not seen this Parks And Recreation thingamabob and I prefer it that way as Peter Quill is all he’ll be to me. Even Bradley Cooper was perfect & he gets on my nerves sometimes. I loved the relationship that formed between these characters.

20140804-125415 am-3255428.jpg

Summary:

Guardians Of The Galaxy is just a really really “fun” movie. Yes, I love all the Marvel movies but I really appreciated this slight departure from the seriousness of recent Marvel films. These are comic books! Have some fun! I loved the humor in Guardians Of The Galaxy and think it all worked perfectly. The story was still good, too, and I cared about what would happen to everyone. Maybe it was all a little predictable overall but what movie like this isn’t? This movie made me happy and kept me entertained but also managed to have fantastic characters and genuinely funny moments. Oh – and an awesome soundtrack! This old lady was loving THAT. Bowie! Moonage Daydream, baby! Oh, and of course the scene after the credits… Lol. Stay for that if you want but only those of a certain age will truly appreciate it. I’m of a certain age. 😉

So, basically, I pretty much loved this movie. Yep.

My Rating: 8.5/10

20140804-125500 am-3300528.jpg

** There are some fantastic alternate posters out there for this movie! The one I used above is by Matt Ferguson. Also love the two below by Matt Needle & Doaly. See links to these posters & more here: io9.

20140804-010022 am-3622128.jpg

20140804-010026 am-3626824.jpg

73 thoughts on “Guardians Of The Galaxy (2014) Review

  1. I really, really wanted to love this but just found it okay – Just Another Marvel Movie for me. Still, I’m glad you loved it!

  2. Best movie ever. Anyway, that blue poster: why is Drax standing like a woman? Also, Gamora is clearly rocking Star-Lord’s element gins. They’re encoded with his DNA so no one else could ever possibly use them. Fucking duh! EVERYONE KNOWS THIS.

  3. hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    everyone sure is raving about this thing….. I’m starting to get the feeling I might not love it….

    I’m glad you loved it!

    #notsureaboutthis

  4. Great review, look forward to seeing this. Also very cool posters, I like that one with the Walkman style headphones. People of a certain age will remember those with the foamy ear covers. LOL. Speaking of Bowie did you see the Showtime documentary on him called 5 years? If not, you need to, you would love it. Pretty cool stuff.

    • Thanks! I hope you love it too, Melissa! : ) Those posters are awesome, aren’t they?? Oh – I think that’s a BBC documentary I recorded ages ago & keep meaning to watch it! I really really need to. Love Bowie! : )

  5. Good review! I watched this over the weekend (post up tomorrow) and thought it was fine as well. I really adore the Avengers so Marvel won’t ever be able to reach that level with another film for me, but this was a nice attempt. I LOVE Chris Pratt in here

  6. You said it. Who doesn’t like a bunch of lovable misfits. So much heart. This captivated the mind as well as the soul. Pure unadulterated fun! Your review totally gets it. This was a fun read.

    • Wow – thanks! I actually had to wait 10 minutes for my ride after this film so wrote this while I waited. Lol. Guess I was still “high” on the movie. It totally WAS fun! But fun without being stupid. I really wish they could manage to make movies like this more often. Glad to hear you enjoyed this one as well! : )

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Actors Who Annoy Me | Cinema Parrot Disco

  8. Great review! I had a ton of fun watching this movie. I loved the characters, and the humor. Definitely a bit of a departure from what Marvel usually does, but I think it all worked.

  9. Great review and some great poster choices. I was really fond of the film too and liked it a similar amount as you I think. I don’t watch huge amounts of TV, but utterly love Parks and Recreation. Pratt is pretty amazing in it too. So if you are ever after a good comedy then it definitely has my recommendation.

    • Thanks! : ) I’m happy to hear that so many people loved this film. I’ve still not really read many other reviews of it so wasn’t sure – I’ll have to go check some out now. Hmm- I’ll have to look into Parks And Recreation & see if it’s available easily. I don’t watch much TV either but will if a show is really worth it. Would be nice to find a good comedy for a change! : )

    • I’m glad you love this one as well! Wow – it certainly looks like I’m not alone in loving it. : ) I know – isn’t that poster awesome?? Would love to have that. : )

  10. Yaaaayyyy Guardians love!!! So glad to hear you liked this one, too. I ALSO WANT A GROOT. Where are all the Groots?? Can we grow them in our backyard?? I want to be greeted with that adorable smile every day!!!

    • GROOT! Love him so much! And at the end of the film… OMG. Adorable! Want!! CARA – I think you’ve reviewed this! Yeah?? I’m like three weeks behind on all your blogs. ARGH!!!! Can you find me a job where I’m allowed to read blogs all day?? That would be awesome. : )

  11. Pingback: Question Of The Month At Oracle Of Film – Best Character Of 2014? | Cinema Parrot Disco

  12. Pingback: My Oscars Picks For The 87th Annual Academy Awards | Cinema Parrot Disco

  13. Pingback: Avengers: Age Of Ultron (2015) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  14. Pingback: Re-Rated: Movie Reviews I May Have Gotten Wrong | Cinema Parrot Disco

  15. Pingback: Ant-Man (2015) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  16. Pingback: My Top Ten Movie Fruits & Vegetables | Cinema Parrot Disco

  17. Pingback: Dredd (2012) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  18. Pingback: Deadpool (2016) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  19. Pingback: Captain America: Civil War (2016) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  20. Pingback: Fantastic Beasts And Where to Find Them (2016) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  21. Pingback: Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  22. Pingback: My Top Ten John C. Reilly Movies  | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a Reply

