TRON: Legacy (2010) Review

IMG_6279.JPG

TRON: Legacy (2010)

Directed by Joseph Kosinski

Starring:
Jeff Bridges
Garrett Hedlund
Olivia Wilde
Bruce Boxleitner
Michael Sheen

Music by Daft Punk

Running time: 127 minutes

Plot Synopsis: (via Wikipedia)
A sequel to the 1982 science fiction film Tron, the story follows Flynn’s (Jeff Bridges) son Sam (Garrett Hedlund), who responds to a message from his long-lost father and is transported into a virtual reality called the Grid, where Sam, his father, and the algorithm Quorra (Olivia Wilde) stop the malevolent program CLU from invading the human world.

IMG_6281.JPG

My Opinion:

Let’s keep this short – I’m extremely behind on reviewing things (6 books & 23 movies. Ugh). I enjoyed this movie. Quite a lot! I’m not a huge fan of the original or anything (I don’t even remember it that well). My hubby is the expert on these films. He loves the original and, oh my god, when he found out there was going to be a sequel AND that Daft Punk would be doing the soundtrack?! He was in HEAVEN. He should be writing this! Oh well – you’re stuck with me and my total lack of TRON knowledge.

IMG_6280.JPG

I kind of didn’t know WHAT the hell was going on in this thing. I’m sure the hubby was sick of me asking him questions as we watched this. In the end, I decided to just enjoy the ride & not worry about the story. I’m not saying this was all style over substance – I’m saying I was probably just too stupid for it. It really was fun to watch, though. I loved the look of the whole thing (and the look of Garrett Hedlund, yes…). Olivia Wilde was also absolutely gorgeous in this & I’ve never thought that about her before – this look really suits her. Look at these beautiful people!:

IMG_6282.JPG

IMG_6284.JPG

So… The movie looks awesome and the people are beautiful and there’s crazy sci-fi shit going on and I love sci-fi more than anything even though I’m a complete idiot and it’s always over my head. But then, to top it all off, we get the DAFT PUNK SOUNDTRACK. Yes! Loved it. Loved it so much! The music in a movie is very important to me and, when it’s right, it makes me love the movie even more. Yeah, I’m probably going to give this movie a higher rating than it deserves thanks to Daft Punk…

IMG_6285.JPG

Summary: (sort of)

You know what? I don’t know what to say. Woohoo! Worst review EVER! Basically, I thoroughly enjoyed TRON: Legacy even though I know it’s not a very good movie overall. Oh well – we all have our guilty pleasures. Plus Garrett Hedlund is a hottie.

My Movie Rating: 7/10

My Soundtrack Rating: 8.5/10

IMG_6286.JPG

40 thoughts on “TRON: Legacy (2010) Review

  1. HMMMMMMM – I didn’t love this one but I tried – CGI Bridges just looked too fucking creepy for me.

    I hope you have a great weekend!

  2. This was an awesome review, and I am in 100% agreement with you. This isn’t a great movie…but I still love it anyway. It’s just a lot of fun to watch, and hope it gets a sequel someday, could be really cool seeing where else it could go. 🙂

  3. I was totally baffled by this film, and had precisely NO IDEA what was going on. I haven’t seen the original, but to be honest, I’m not sure I’d have been any the wiser if I had. That said, it was worth watching just for Sheen’s Bowie impression alone!

    • Lol. Good – I thought I was just stupid as I didn’t know what was going on. I think seeing the original helps a little, though. My hubby wasn’t at all confused! Haha – I LOVED Sheen’s Bowie impression!!! For a second I was like “David Bowie?!”. He sounded exactly like him. Bowie rules. Wish he’d actually been in this!

  4. I truthfully don’t remember much from this movie! I took my friend Tron to go see this — that’s right, I do have a friend named the title of the movie — and he was all about it! (I say he’s biased, though.)

    Great review mutant, a short/sloppy review is better than none at all! 😉

  5. Pingback: eXistenZ (1999) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  6. Pingback: My Top Ten Video Game Movies | Cinema Parrot Disco

  7. Pingback: My Top Ten DJs/Disc Jockeys In Movies | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a Reply

