My Top Ten Studio Ghibli Movies (So Far)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2015/01/img_8162-0.jpg

First of all, Happy Birthday to Hayao Miyazaki! Co-founder of Studio Ghibli along with Isao Takahata, Miyazaki has directed the majority of the most well known & highly regarded Ghibli films.

As I said, I’ll be reviewing some Studio Ghibli films throughout January. I don’t have a definite schedule in mind plus I’ll probably post some non-Ghibli reviews as usual as well. So far, I’ve watched 10 of the 20 Ghibli movies I could possibly watch (2 aren’t yet available on DVD). I’ve mostly watched the ones directed by Miyazaki so I’ll first focus on reviewing these ten I’ve seen so far plus the two Miyazaki ones I have left to watch. I may then continue Studio Ghibli Month after January & do the remaining films as well. I’m halfway through writing my review for Nausicaรค Of The Valley Of The Wind so that will probably be the review you’ll see here tomorrow.

So, these are My Top Ten Favorite Studio Ghibli Movies (So Far) counting down from ten to one. I’ll update it once I’ve seen the rest of the Ghibli films but I’ll be surprised if the list changes much. ๐Ÿ™‚

10. From Up On Poppy Hill

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2015/01/img_8163.jpg

9. Ponyo

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2015/01/img_8164.jpg

8. Spirited Away

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2015/01/img_8165.jpg

7. Howl’s Moving Castle

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2015/01/img_8166.jpg

6. Grave Of The Fireflies

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2015/01/img_8167.jpg

5. Kiki’s Delivery Service

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2015/01/img_8168.jpg

4. Laputa: Castle In The Sky

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2015/01/img_8169.jpg

3. Princess Mononoke

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2015/01/img_8170.jpg

2. Nausicaรค Of The Valley Of The Wind

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2015/01/img_8171.jpg

1. My Neighbor Totoro

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2015/01/img_8172.jpg

45 thoughts on “My Top Ten Studio Ghibli Movies (So Far)

  1. Great picks. Totoro is probably my favorite as well. Wasn’t a fan of Princess Mononoke (the story didn’t appeal to me) and still have to watch From Up On Poppy Hill. Have seen the rest in your list. Grave Of The Fireflies is really moving.

    Looking forward to checking out the new Ghbili documentary, which I have heard a lot of good things about.

    • Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love hearing from other Ghibli fans. I don’t know what it was about Mononoke – I just really liked it (especially the Kodama). I can see From Up On Poppy Hill going off the list once I’ve seen more but I did enjoy it. Yeah – I’ll be watching that documentary soon. Looking forward to it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. To be honest, I am not really a fan of any of it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have watched some of them, but it really, really isn’t my style :/

    I am glad to hear you enjoy it so much though ๐Ÿ˜€

    • That’s okay! Which ones have you seen? Because they’re all quite different. Some are very “strange” while others are more straight-forward. I like the “a little bit strange”, I think. Lol. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t even know all the names of the ones that I have seen, and there are so few I have seen in their entirety. The one I do remember liking, as weird as it was, was Spirited Away, but I watched that YEARS ago.

        These would totally be your cup of tea though hahaha.

      • Ahh – yes, everyone seems to love Spirited Away. I tried that for the second time recently. Just can’t get into that one quite as much but I do like it.

  3. Hmm, interesting order. I’d put Ponyo much higher, and Spirited Away is my all-time favourite, closely followed by Howls Moving Castle. I still think Princess Mononoke is overrated. Good to see From Upon Poppy Hill getting some love though – sweet story. What about Arriety? And finally, yes My Neighbour Totoro is utterly charming, but a bit too kiddie for my taste. If you haven’t seen it, The Cat Returns is also very good.

    • Thanks for the comment! It’s great to hear from other Ghibli fans. ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like you go for the slightly more “strange” ones. I do like Ponyo quite a bit. I think I’ve seen only the dubbed version, which always ruins these films for me a bit. I’ve not yet seen Arrietty. I have that (and all of them) on DVD or recorded off TV so I’ll get to them all eventually. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ Everyone does rate Spirited Away very highly. I do enjoy that one… Very odd! Love Totoro. And Nausicaa – wish more people knew about that one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, Kim! And thanks so much for checking out my Ghibli stuff so far & all the retweets. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have so much blog reading to catch up on! I’m so behind. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Gotta love Totoro! Nothing can beat Totoro as a character.

  4. Very nice list, I forget that Grave of the Fireflies is a Ghibli film though not one directed by Miyazaki (and still one that I need to watch sometime, but I just know it’ll be such a downer). I remember my first was Mononoke, my favorite is probably Howl’s Moving Castle. Arriette is also another fun little movie when you get around to that one.

    • Thanks for the comment – it’s great to see there are so many Ghibli fans amongst bloggers! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah – I watched Grave Of The Fireflies just a couple of weeks ago. I’d put it off for years. VERY good but very very sad. I have Arrietty so I’ll be seeing that soon too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. The only one I have ever seen is Grave of the Fireflies.. so weird!!!!!!!! I remember my gf used to love that and make me watch it. She also used to make me watch Unico.. have you ever seen that one? When comic con comes around I am going to find something of Totoro for you, they have so much stuff!

    • Fireflies is SO sad. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’ve only just watched that for the first time. Unico?! Never heard of that! Ohh… TOTORO!!! I’d LOVE more Totoro stuff!!! I found a place in London that did some Ghibli stuff – I have a Totoro bag, pillow & key chain. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • See if you can find Unico or even a clip that one is sad too. I used to get seriously sad watching those… why the hell are they so sad, do you know? Is it a cultural thing? I know you know these random things…lol. OMG Comic con had tons I will look around this year see if there is anything cool.

  6. “Spirited Away” is one of my top ten films of all-time. I have “From Up on Poppy Hill” in my Netflix queue at the moment. Looking forward to seeing it (for the first time)!

    • Glad to hear you like Spirited Away so much – people really do love that one. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve decided I have it slightly too low on the list! From Up On Poppy Hill was fun but not the best Ghibli – would like to know your thoughts on it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Pingback: Howl’s Moving Castle (2004) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  8. All of these are good, but Totoro and Spirited Away just don’t “hit” me like the others for some reason. Have you ever seen Whisper of the Heart? That’s my favorite. It’s got a similar tone to From Up on Poppy Hill, but with more John Denver. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks! That’s a shame about Totoro. I don’t think it’s as “good” of a film as Nausicaรค but I love a great character so much & I think Totoro is a great one. : ) Whisper of the Heart is next on my list! Well… Maybe after The Wind Rises as that’s the only Miyazaki one I’ve not seen. John Denver, huh? Hmm… I’ll be watching the subtitled one – would it be his songs in the Japanese language one?

      • It’s “Country Roads” to be exact. There’s an English and Japanese version whether you watch it dubbed or subtitled. Since that happens to be one of my favorite songs, it clinched the film as my favorite!

  9. Pingback: Spirited Away (2001) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a Reply

