Music Video Friday: Dirty Vegas – Days Go By

This week’s video is Days Go By by Dirty Vegas & it’s a breakdancing love story! Well, a story of heartbreak. Breakdancing heartbreak! Heartbreakdancing???

Anyway, I loved this video because 1) there’s a story & I love videos with stories – it reminds me of the good old days of 80’s videos and 2) Breakdancing!!!! 🙂

As for the song, I loved that as well! It’s a great song. I can’t say I know anything else by Dirty Vegas, however. I’ll let Wikipedia tell you how well the song did in the charts:

“Days Go By” is a 2001 song by the British electronic band Dirty Vegas from their eponymous album. The song became a radio hit in 2002, peaking at #14 in the United States, and received the Grammy Award for Best Dance Recording. It also peaked at #16 in Dirty Vegas’ home country of the United Kingdom.

As with most of the videos that I post, I’m assuming that most people have seen this. But if you haven’t & you like a good “video with a story” (and breakdancing!!!), check this one out (sorry for the bad quality on this one):

17 thoughts on “Music Video Friday: Dirty Vegas – Days Go By

  1. Heartbreakdancing lol! That is pretty awesome. And only one tier shy of being probably the coolest dance in existence. (#1 being bump’n-grind)

  2. As a general rule, you can expect me to be pretty hard on EDM. There needs to be some kind of non-musical hook to attach me to it. A memory, a story… something.

    This video was that kind of hook, for the reasons you’ve mentioned.

    This song and video debuted right around the time when music and music videos were suddenly a few clicks and a hour of watching a progress bar away from owning them forever, and playing them whenever you damn well want.

    My roommates and I saw this video on MuchMusic, and we were all blown away by the storytelling in it, and the song was good, too, as far as its genre goes.

    Other amazing videos for songs I never would have had the patience for: Basement Jaxx – Where’s Your Head At?, The Avalanches – Frontier Psychiatrist, and Fatboy Slim – Weapon of Choice.

    • Yay! I’m so glad I found a fan of this video! I love it. 🙂 Lol – I don’t have too much of a problem with EDM. I mean, I prefer rock & metal… But it’s funny how EDM music tends to have the only videos worth watching anymore. Funny you mentioned Where’s Your Head At – I was thinking of posting that one this coming Friday (and I do like the song as well). I adore Walken’s dancing in Weapon of Choice. Hilarious. And I forgot about Frontier Psychiatrist! Lol! That boy needs therapy! I posted some Chris Cunningham videos the previous Friday – do you like his work? His stuff is insane. I’m a big fan of Jonathan Glazer’s videos too…. 🙂

      • I hadn’t heard of Chris Cunningham before just this moment, but a little googlin’ later and… I still don’t know who he is. I *think* I remember Madonna’s Frozen video, but I’m not intrigued enough to open another tab fo it.

        Now Jonathan Glazer sounds familiar… and that must be because, as a Canadian, Virtual Insanity was inescapable for my last two years of high school, and also had the staying power to get downloaded with those other videos in the heyday of Mozilla? Morpheus? Fire-something? Hell, I don’t know what software era it was. But Jamiroquai is awesome.

        Unfortunately, I’ve always hated Radiohead, and just seeing the name Massive Attack makes me start to twitch in a fetal ball because of all the times my ex-wife listened/watched their stuff on single-goddamn-track-repeat for *literally* the better part of an hour at a time.

        There. Now that wound’s open. Well done. 😛

        Psychosomatic… Lie down on the couch… W-w-what does that mean?

Leave a Reply

