Nosferatu (1922) Review for Halloween Horror Fest & IMDB Challenge

For today’s IMDB Top 250 Horror post, I’m reblogging my old “review” of Nosferatu (1922). Wow, it’s pretty rubbish – I didn’t say much about it! Luckily, no one reads reblogs. Oh, the good old days of my blog when I didn’t ramble on for ages about a movie…. 😉 (Nosferatu was pretty damn cool – just watch it)

Cinema Parrot Disco

20131027-103544 pm.jpg
Nosferatu (1922)Nosferatu, eine Symphonie des Grauens (translated as Nosferatu: A Symphony of Horror; or simply Nosferatu)

Directed by F. W. Murnau

Starring:
Max Schreck
Gustav von Wangenheim
Greta Schröder
Alexander Granach
Ruth Landshoff
Wolfgang Heinz

Running time: 94 minutes

Plot Synopsis:
Basically, it’s Dracula. From Wikipedia:

The film, shot in 1921 and released in 1922, was an unauthorized adaptation of Bram Stoker’s Dracula, with names and other details changed because the studio could not obtain the rights to the novel (for instance, “vampire” became “Nosferatu” and “Count Dracula” became “Count Orlok”). Stoker’s heirs sued over the adaptation, and a court ruling ordered that all copies of the film be destroyed. However, one print of Nosferatu survived, and the film came to be regarded as an influential masterpiece of cinema.

20131027-104148 pm.jpg
My Opinion:

I watched this back in July as part of my IMDB Top 250 Challenge but never…

View original post 282 more words

10 thoughts on “Nosferatu (1922) Review for Halloween Horror Fest & IMDB Challenge

  1. I’ve heard that Willem Dafoe’s performance as Schreck in Shadow of the Vampire makes this movie even better. Of course, I havent seen either of them and probably wont 🙂

  2. It was about 10 years ago that I saw both films. I saw Nosferatu in a film class and within a year or so I rented Shadow of the Vampire. John Malkovich and Willem Dafoe are terrific. What a great Halloween Double Feature.

  3. I really need to get round to re-watching Nosferatu. There’s a lot of love out there for Shadow of the Vampire, but I just found it really disappointing for some reason.

Leave a Reply

