The Cabinet Of Dr Caligari (1920) Review

For today’s IMDB Top 250 Horror post, I’m reblogging my review of The Cabinet Of Dr Caligari. Fantastic film! One I highly recommend if you’ve never seen it. 🙂 (Okay, it’s not currently in the Top 250 but it’s very close. It should be!) 

Cinema Parrot Disco

IMG_7268.JPG

The Cabinet Of Dr Caligari (1920) (German: Das Cabinet des Dr Caligari)

Directed by Robert Wiene

Starring:
Werner Krauss
Conrad Veidt
Friedrich Fehér
Lil Dagover
Hans Twardowski

Running time: 71 minutes

Plot Synopsis: (via Wikipedia)
The Cabinet of Dr Caligari is a 1920 German silent horror film. The story centers around Dr Caligari and his somnambulist Cesare, whom the doctor keeps asleep in a coffin-like cabinet and controls hypnotically.

IMG_7331.JPG

My Opinion:

Well. This movie is pretty freaking awesome. I’m so glad I finally watched it and would highly recommend it to all horror movie fans to see a silent movie from 1920 that kicks the ARSE of most modern day films.

IMG_7335.JPG

You can read lots of excellent reviews of this film elsewhere. I don’t have the knowledge to discuss German Expressionism or silent film, really, as I haven’t explored much beyond Charlie Chaplin. For my…

View original post 551 more words

13 thoughts on “The Cabinet Of Dr Caligari (1920) Review

    • What? That’s so super cool! I had a look & that’s awesome! 🙂 You’re so cool, dude. But I already knew that. 😉 Oh! Shit! It must be almost time for The Muppets to start here… I better go make sure I’ve set that to record! YES!

  1. Pingback: ISAACS’ ELEVEN: ELEVEN MOVIES I WATCHED OVER THE SUMMER | Isaacs Picture Conclusions

Leave a Reply

