The Babadook (2014) Review

Happy Halloween tomorrow, everyone! 🙂

As I said earlier in the week, I had family visiting so only managed to write a few new posts for this week. Today I figured I’d just reblog my review of my absolute favorite horror film of, oh, probably the last ten years? (Since the Dawn Of The Dead remake was 11 years ago – nothing else since the year 2000 beats that one. Love it!). So here’s my review of the fantastic psychological horror film The Babadook…

Cinema Parrot Disco

IMG_7298.JPG

The Babadook (2014)

Directed by Jennifer Kent

Starring:
Essie Davis
Noah Wiseman
Daniel Henshall
Hayley McElhinney
Barbara West
Ben Winspear

Running time: 94 minutes

Plot Synopsis: (via IMDB)
A single mother, plagued by the violent death of her husband, battles with her son’s fear of a monster lurking in the house, but soon discovers a sinister presence all around her.

IMG_7309.JPG

My Opinion:

Last year I was pretty positive in my review of The Conjuring mostly, I think, because I was SO desperate for a good horror movie to ever actually be made again and that one was about the closest we’ve had to a decent American horror movie in years. It wasn’t perfect but at least it was almost a return to the good ‘ol days of horror movies that didn’t rely solely on cheap jump scares and/or excessive gore. Well, The Babadook is more the sort…

View original post 674 more words

6 thoughts on “The Babadook (2014) Review

  1. I’ve been really meaning to get round to both this and It Follows. Maybe a Halloween double bill… but You’re Next is on telly, and I’ve been meaning to watch that since I loved The Guest. Oh, decisions!

Leave a Reply

