Weird Science Star Ilan Mitchell-Smith Talks Babes, Bullies, And Bras, 30 Years Later

Ilan Mitchell-Smith was definitely one of my nerd-crushes when I first watched Weird Science. Who doesn’t love a cute nerd? He was the type of boy you could imagine actually dating, unlike some hot Chris Hemsworth-type. Give me the cute nerd instead! (Well, okay – I wouldn’t say no to Chris Hemsworth). 😉

You can read an interview with the now 46-year-old professor of medieval studies here: Uproxx. And you can read the review I did of the movie with Eric of The IPC for my big John Hughes Blogathon here: Weird Science Double Take. And here’s Ilan Mitchell-Smith now. He’s still quite nerdy-cute!

Taking It Easy On The Blogging:

I’ll be sharing these sort of movie “tidbits” a bit more often again as I’m needing a small blogging break. The IMDB guest reviews have dried up (after this coming Tuesday) and I don’t want to commit to any sort of regular schedule for anything. My main priorities will be reviewing current movies that I go to in the cinema & my top ten lists but I may not do them every week. We’ll see! I just want the blog to take more of a backseat to other things in my life. I’ll read other blogs when I’m able to but my rule to keep life simple is this: as long as a post is still in the app’s Reader when I have time to do some reading, I’ll read it. My Reader shows about a day & a half worth of posts from blogs that I follow. But I’ll do my best to keep up with what’s in the Reader and hopefully won’t miss too many posts from my favorite blogs. 🙂 

So the schedule I’m going to half-heartedly follow through Christmas is this:

Mondays & WednesdaysRandom news about things I like, such as today’s post, and movie or book reviews when I have time to do them. 

Tuesdays: IMDB reviews from guests if I receive any or from myself if I can be arsed. I can’t be arsed lately. 😉 But I’ve watched & not yet reviewed quite a few so I should attempt some! 

Thursdays: Top Ten lists. I’ll stay fairly regular with this as I have tons of ideas ready but may skip some weeks if time is short. 

Fridays: Music Video Friday. I’m keeping this up even though no one looks at these posts because a) I enjoy these posts and admit that I’m selfishly doing them for my own amusement and b) they’re super quick & easy to put together! Which is cool as I’m totally lazy. 

Sorry – this isn’t some trying-to-get-attention thing… I’m just explaining that my appearance on the blogs may be somewhat sporadic. I’m trying to achieve the right balance with real life. But I’ve realized, finally, that this blog is a part of my life now so I’m cutting back a little to keep me actually enjoying doing it. If that makes sense. Oh, I never make sense anyway. 

Here’s Oingo Boingo! 🙂 That’s a good band name. Shit, I think I forgot to include that in My Top Ten Band Names… (I’m more annoyed that I forgot Scritti Politti):

3 thoughts on “Weird Science Star Ilan Mitchell-Smith Talks Babes, Bullies, And Bras, 30 Years Later

  1. The blog/life balance can be tricky sometimes, can’t it? There have been times I’ve had to remind myself it’s meant to be fun and a hobby because I’ve put in so much time it feels like a job (that no one’s paying me for!) It’s different for everyone of course, so good luck finding the right ratio for yourself.

  2. I think I am going to be chilling out a bit as well. if I can’t do Film Friday every Friday I think chances are no one will die.

Leave a Reply

