Teaser Tuesdays – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page.
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.

Here’s my teaser from page 106 of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak:

“Perhaps that’s why on the Führer’s birthday, when the answer to the question of her mother’s suffering showed itself completely, she was able to react, despite her perplexity and rage.

Liesel Meminger was ready.”

I’ve seen these Teaser Tuesdays posts a lot & they’re always a fun read so I thought I’d finally join in. I figure it’ll be a fun thing to post on Tuesdays while I’m being too lazy to do any of my own IMDB Top 250 movie reviews. Of course, I take a good month to read a book so I guess I won’t be joining in every week… 😉 I think most everyone who’s interested has read The Book Thief by now but I’m halfway through & enjoying it so far. But I keep eyeing up Stephen King’s The Bazaar Of Bad Dreams, which is sat next to my bed…

36 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

    • I love the cover! But I do like macabre. 😉 I read The Giver last year before the film came out. Thought it was pretty great. I’m a huge fan of the YA dystopian stuff & The Giver was better than a lot of all the more current books in that genre. The movie really didn’t do it justice at all.

  1. I love this idea although I’m listening to an audiobook right now. I’m not sure how you can know if something is a spoiler if you havent read the book but I may just participate in this.

    By the way The Book Thief is my favorite book! The movie didnt do it justice sadly. Not a terrible movie but the book is perfection IMO

  2. Loved the book; liked the movie. Your book cover is way different from mine. I’m not sure I’d have read the book if I’d seen it only with that cover. Your quote is intriguing. Here’s my teaser from an historical fiction novel by Philippa Gregory: http://wp.me/p4DMf0-12O

    • I’ve not seen the movie – will watch it when I’m done. And I’m almost done now. 🙂 I really like the UK cover of The Book Thief. I’m a sucker for a good cover. Your first two paragraphs do sound interesting! The Book Thief is probably the “heaviest” I go when it comes to reading, though. I’ll probably read a Stephen King after this. 😉

    • It’s very good so far. I’m almost finished now. 🙂 Yours is intriguing! I’m not a romance person but I love short stories. Prefer mine to be more of the horror or supernatural kind, though. 😉

  3. Pingback: Teaser Tuesdays: The Jungle Books | Smilingldsgirl's Weblog

    • I’m really liking it. I’m three quarters of the way through so should finish soon. Guess it depends how it ends but I don’t think it’ll be too “happy”! I’ll watch the movie afterwards but, yeah – the movies are rarely as good as the books so I won’t have really high expectations. 🙂

  4. Happy Bit-of-a-Dick Tuesday Mutey! I’m actually feeling quite dandy today! And I’m off to see The Good Dinosaur later! Yay!

    #farts

      • Working on the review atm actually. Well, poop all over the negative reviews. I loved it. Absolutely loved it. Definitely not among Pixar’s best story-wise, but holy cow if you want a visually gorgeous movie you’re going to get it. And it does do the job of being all heart-warming and stuff. I approve. 😀

      • Aw, I love heart-warming! 🙂 Happy to hear that you approve. Sometimes people are so negative! I do have VERY high expectations for Pixar stuff, though. I should probably lower them a little! Not sure when we’ll get to it, though. Man December is a busy month. 😦

    • A lot of people have said how much they love this book – I’m glad I’ve finally started reading it. 🙂 I’ve not yet seen the movie either but will watch it once I’ve finished the book.

Leave a Reply

