David Bowie 

I don’t normally do any kind of tribute post when a celebrity dies. I mean, it’s not like I’ve ever met these people. But, damn – this one upset me.

No one feels like a true original anymore. David Bowie was truly one of a kind & I’ll miss him. I know a lot of people will, including my husband and even our six-year-old daughter. She hears the music her crazy mother plays all the time and has grown to love Bowie too. I love having that connection with her. To her, that’s DAVID BOWIE in Labyrinth, not just Jareth or the “Goblin King”. David Bowie was far cooler than just some movie character. David Bowie was the best.

R.I.P. David Bowie

29 thoughts on “David Bowie 

  1. I loved him, he was always ahead of the trend, always effortlessly cool, and seemed like such a nice down to earth guy. I can’t think of anyone who measures up to his talent and art. I’ll definitely miss him 😦

  2. That Lightning Bolt thoughtful face!! An image that will stay with me always!! A STAR!!
    He battled Cancer for 18 months and kept it all to himself! Rest assured everybody…………
    “There’s a Starman……………..Waiting In the Sky!”
    RIP…………….Legend!

    • Great comment. 🙂 You said it better than I could – I’m still too upset by this one! What an amazing artist. I’m so glad I was around to experience all that he gave to this world.

    • I believe he played “The Elephant Man” on stage in London back in the late ’70s…………without make up! He did it with facial and body contortions. This man was an artist of the highest order!
      I have had Bowie songs stuck in my head for the last 2 days! Not a bad thing!

      • Yes he did! It would’ve been awesome to see that. For some reason, Starman has been the one stuck in my head since hearing the news. No, not a bad thing to have Bowie stuck in your head. 🙂

    • Aww – that’s pretty awesome that I was the first person you thought of! I guess I’ve mentioned him quite a lot on the blog. 😉 I’m still very upset. There are just no other artists with that level of talent anymore. Such a huge loss for the world. 😦

  3. I know what you mean. When Mr O and I found out we sat together in stunned silence for what must have been minutes. What an icon.

    • I still don’t really like talking about it! 😦 Which is strange, I suppose. My daughter was still very sad & talking about it this morning – she’s lost her first “hero”.

  4. You are so right about he being one of the last of the originals. Very few could pull off rock theatre and even those who weren’t big fans of his had to admit he was a huge talent. His song Lazarus shows he was dealing with his illness. It reminded me of when Warren Zevon found out he was dying he recorded Dylan’s Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door.

  5. Pingback: My Blog’s January 2016 Stats | Cinema Parrot Disco

  6. Pingback: Music Video Friday: Chaka Khan – I Feel For You | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a Reply

