Deadpool (2016) Review

Deadpool (2016)

Directed by Tim Miller

Based on Deadpool by Fabian Nicieza & Rob Liefeld

Starring: Ryan Reynolds, Morena Baccarin, Ed Skrein, T. J. Miller, Gina Carano, Brianna Hildebrand, Stefan Kapičić

Music by Junkie XL

Plot Synopsis: (via IMDB)
A former Special Forces operative turned mercenary is subjected to a rogue experiment that leaves him with accelerated healing powers, adopting the alter ego Deadpool.

My Opinion:

Another superhero movie! YAY!!! (I’m saying that sarcastically in my head – I suppose that doesn’t come across in text). Okay – I begin every one of these superhero movie reviews lately by saying “I’m getting a bit superheroed-out“. And I really really am. Deadpool is fun, though. I did a list of My Top Ten Superhero Movies ages ago, which I really should update as I’d most definitely move stuff around (I was too nice to Nolan’s Batman trilogy). I know, however, that since making that list, Guardians Of The Galaxy is now the firm number one for me. Deadpool doesn’t change that but I’d have to say it would probably make the top five. It’s a welcome break from the superhero films that take themselves far too seriously.

I’m not a huge fan of Ryan Reynolds (I had a really hard time choosing his best role for the Movie Reviews 101 Opinion Battle). Well, I can confirm that Deadpool is now by far his best role. His wisecracking smart ass thing worked perfectly. I loved the very adult humor and the dick jokes that were actually pretty funny (as far as dick jokes go). His girlfriend (Morena Baccarin) is a saucy minx making some great dirty jokes right along with him. Plus there are loads of movie references for all us geeky cinephiles and even a JUDY F*%KING BLUME joke especially for ME!!! (Pretty sure I was the only one there who got that one….)

I think the only downside to this film, for me, is that I don’t really see it as a “multiple-watcher”. Once you’ve seen it, you’ve seen it. You’ve heard all the jokes. I’d maybe watch it a second time as there are so many jokes that there’s no way you’d catch them all the first time but beyond that I’d rather just watch a Deadpool sequel with all new wisecracks I haven’t yet heard. I think that’s the nature of comedy, though. Or maybe that’s just me but, personally, very few of my all-time multiple-watcher favorites are comedies. I got a lot of laughs from this one viewing, though.

Sorry this is a short review but I don’t have much to say about this one. I really enjoyed it as far as this genre of movies goes but very few of these movies end up as all-time favorites of mine. This is a movie that’s definitely not for everyone – you’ll either like the humor & violence or you’ll hate it. I just really enjoyed watching a “superhero” movie that has some balls for a change.

My Rating: 7.5/10

Is There A Scene After The Credits? Obviously! At the very end after all the credits. The question is: Is it worth staying for? Well, it certainly was for me! But I’m old so I get and appreciate the reference. However, since starting this blog I have discovered that the younger generation sadly does NOT appreciate what the end credit scene references. So…. It’s up to you if you want to stay but you’ll probably only appreciate it if you’re over 35. I bet you’re curious now… 😉

34 thoughts on “Deadpool (2016) Review

  1. Good post! 🙂

    I saw the trailer for this at Star Wars TFA and all I could think of was how Ryan Reynolds sucked as Green Lantern. I don’t know the character so I have no prior reference point or high expectations so this is a Blu-ray rental for me at best.

  2. I’m not the biggest Reynolds fan either, but he’s not bad. I’m looking forward to this. I’m not super hero movied out, so an R rated one is welcomed. Great review!

    • Thanks! I hope you enjoy it (or possibly enjoyed it – I’m a little behind on comments). It was a nice change having one of these be rated R! I liked the humor. It was a lot of fun. 🙂

    • Ohhh. Was it?? 🙂 I think it’s the perfect date movie! There have been these jokes online about how guys would have to trick their girlfriends into seeing this. Bullshit! This is the type of movie I’d much rather go to than some chick flick. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Betty White Reviews Deadpool  | Cinema Parrot Disco

  4. I’m quite excited to see this… not enough to actually rush out and see it, but, y’know, relatively. I’ve seen some mixed reviews and there’s a chance I’ll hate it if I find it crude-crude rather than clever-crude (like, say, Ted (which I really enjoyed) vs A Million Ways to Die in the West (which I didn’t)), but it’s gotta be worth a look.

  5. Great stuff as always! I enjoyed this too. I actually thought I would end up thinking that they are trying too hard for it to be original, but in the end it worked out really well. I love Ryan Reynolds though… for very superficial reasons. I can’t really recall many of his roles haha.

  6. Excellent write up! I cannot freaking wait for this! I have been waiting years, and it is finally here! Hopefully I get to go this upcoming weekend. I must see it in cinema! I like Ryan Reynolds, I usually enjoy him all round – and not just for science, although that is enough reason for me, usually.

    • Thanks! Haha – sounds like you’re rather looking forward to this. 😉 Since you like Reynolds, I think you’ll like this one a lot. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on it!

  7. Good review! This was an entertaining film, and I almost enjoyed the hilarious marketing campaign promoting this move even more than the movie itself. I don’t think I ultimately loved this movie *quite* as much as many others seemed to, but it’s a good direction for the character and Reynolds is good in this role. I think the sequel will be even better, now that the origin story is out of the way.

  8. Pingback: Music Video Friday: Survivor – Eye Of The Tiger (1982 Oscar Nominee) | Cinema Parrot Disco

  9. Pingback: My Top Ten Period Dramas  | Cinema Parrot Disco

  10. Pingback: Captain America: Civil War (2016) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  11. Pingback: My Top Ten Songs That Are Actually About Sex | Cinema Parrot Disco

  12. Pingback: The Dead Pool (1988) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  13. Pingback: My Top Ten Movies Of 2016 | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a Reply

