Music Video Friday: The Chemical Brothers (Featuring Beck) – Wide Open

Today’s video is Wide Open by The Chemical Brothers & featuring Beck.

I’m a big fan of The Chemical Brothers and this is the first time I’m posting one of their videos (but it won’t be the last as they’ve had loads of great ones over the years!).

As for their last album, Born In The Echoes, the song I truly love is Go (featuring Q-Tip). Go is easily one of my favorite songs of the past decade but it did hardly anything chartwise in the UK and appears to have not done a thing in America. Excellent – I take that as proof that it’s a good song since people have horrible taste these days & the radio plays nothing but shit anyway. Damn… I sound old. 😉

Well, the video for Go is also a good one so I figured I’d post that one as well. Like the video for Let Forever Be, this one was also directed by music video genius Michel Gondry:

Man I love that song… But the video isn’t as cool as the one for Wide Open! The special effects involved in this video are amazing. The Mill London created the video along with directors Dom & Nic. You can read an excellent & detailed article HERE at fxguide that explains exactly how they managed to shoot a video involving a dancer who gradually transforms into see-through 3D-printed material. It’s great to know that creative videos such as these are still being made. Check it out: 🙂

9 thoughts on “Music Video Friday: The Chemical Brothers (Featuring Beck) – Wide Open

  1. Damn this track is pretty groovy. I have never listened to Beck. Because I do indeed have terrible taste in music. Like, I still like the Spiec Girls.

    • also, I’d like to point out that THAT IS SOMEONE’S DAUGHTER AND SHE’S REALLY SCANTILY CLAD! WHAT IS THIS WORLD COMING TO

    • Tom!!! I’ve been neglecting you (and all the blogs) lately. 😦 Aww… At least you like Dream Theater. 😉 I’ve never been a big Beck fan, although I’ve liked a few of his songs. I do really like his cover of Everybody’s Gotta Learn Sometime from Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. But I LOVE all The Chemical Brothers stuff. 🙂

      • Yeah, honestly I have not been able to stop listening to “Wide Open” since coming across your post the other day haha. Great. That means I guess this song will get old fast, too. (I Have this terrible habit of playing songs to death before I tire of them. Which I guess we all do, but I do it in the span of like a week, haha!)

        No apologies necessary! I’ve been bumming around a lot and not really reading much of anything lately. I have lost my mojo for writing right now I’ll say that much. The struggle right now is very, very real. :\ Hope it’s just post-Awards ceremony blaahhh-ness. Happens almost every year, I think.

      • Ha! Yeah, I totally do that too. I play a favorite song to the point where the hubby is ready to kill me for playing it too much. 😉 I’ve not felt like writing lately either – that’s why I do posts like this music video thing because they’re easy to throw together. When I actually manage a movie review lately I’m like “Yes! It sucks but I actually finished one!” :-/ It’s easier to just watch movies instead… I’ve watched loads lately!

  2. HAha pretty cool! I’ve never heard of them before, and that’s why I love checkin out your posts on music, there’s always something new to listen! Great effects in the second one, reminds me of ex machina 😉

Leave a Reply

