Warcraft: The Beginning (2016) Review

Warcraft: The Beginning (2016)

Directed by Duncan Jones

Based on Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment

Starring: Travis Fimmel, Paula Patton, Ben Foster, Dominic Cooper, Toby Kebbell, Ben Schnetzer, Robert Kazinsky, Daniel Wu, Glenn Close?!?!

Plot Synopsis:
The peaceful realm of Azeroth stands on the brink of war as its civilization faces a fearsome race of invaders: orc warriors fleeing their dying home to colonize another. As a portal opens to connect the two worlds, one army faces destruction and the other faces extinction. From opposing sides, two heroes are set on a collision course that will decide the fate of their family, their people, and their home.

My Opinion:

I really didn’t fancy going to see this movie at all but the hubby kind of wanted to see it and, well, I never really pass up the opportunity to go to a movie… So I went! I have absolutely no knowledge whatsoever about Warcraft so I figured it would be best to just go in totally blind & see what I thought. You know what? The movie isn’t bad. I was worried as I mentioned the other day that I’ve never seen such a wide gap between public opinion at IMDB (7.9/10) & the metascore (the opinion of critics – a very low 31/100). I’m usually somewhere between the two scores but I’m closer to public opinion on this one. Critics never really rate fantasy highly anyway so screw them – if you like this sort of thing, give it a go! I enjoyed it just fine.

I’ll admit that the thing that interested me the most was watching another film from David Bowie’s son. I thought Moon was great and Source Code was entertaining but not perfect. I’d say the same of Warcraft – it definitely has its issues but I found it entertaining. I think I may have even enjoyed it a little more than Source Code. The characters were pretty strong (for a fantasy movie based on a game, anyway) and it has me interested enough to watch a sequel if one gets made. It doesn’t have me interested enough to explore the story/game at all but I do actually hope there’s a sequel.

The movie starts off with the orcs & I thought I’d find the look of them really distracting but it didn’t take long to get over that. I think the movie looks pretty good – it’s not like the orcs look any weirder/cheesier than creatures in the Lord Of The Rings movies. We got a good story involving that orc dude in the above photo & I like that – I want to give a shit about characters in movies. I think this movie did a pretty good job in developing several key characters (considering that there are quite a few to get to know) & giving us some good back stories plus loads of potential for more to come in any sequels.

Yeah, I said “that orc dude” up there because the one thing I really struggle with when it comes to fantasy are all the damn names. Here are some examples from this movie: Gul’dan, Durotan (chieftain of the Frostwolf clan!), Draka, Orgrim Doomhammer (lol! that last name kicks ass), Sir Anduin Lothar, Khadgar, Medivh, Garona, Daenerys Stormborn, Khaleesi of the Great Grass Sea, Breaker of Chains, Mother of Dragons, blah blah blah. Okay, I threw some extra shit in at the end there. I did feel like I do when watching Game Of Thrones – the hubby must get so sick of my “Who the hell is that dude?!” questions. There are orcs, there are humans, there’s a sexy half orc/human, there are these cool wizard dudes (my favorite! I love cool wizard dudes!), there are kings, queens, chieftains, cool scary beasts & birds that the orcs & humans ride, Glenn Close (!), and an adorable uglycute orc baby. And they all go to war. And use cool blue & green magic. And I was never really sure what was going on and I sure as hell still don’t have a clue what any of their names were. Meh – it doesn’t matter anyway. It’s meant to be a bit of fantasy entertainment & I think it does achieve this quite well. The very low critic ratings are unfair.



The wizard dudes were the best. Or whatever they were called as I don’t think they were called wizards…

Besides the wizard dudes, I also really liked the sexy half human/half orc (Paula Patton), the main good guy orc dude & his family (okay okay – I looked his name up! it’s Durotan played by Toby Kebbell), the human king (Dominic Cooper) & his family, plus the main good guy human (Travis Fimmel). I’ve never seen Fimmel in anything before & he’s fine but I was distracted by him being this weird cross between Val Kilmer as Jim Morrison and Richard Tyson as the bad guy in Kindergarten Cop



Summary:

Ignore the snobby critics – if you like this sort of genre, I don’t see why you wouldn’t like Warcraft. It has all the elements I expect from a fantasy film plus characters I liked & storylines I enjoyed. What more can you ask for? No, it’s obviously no Lord Of The Rings but it’s a decent movie based on a game. Hell, it’s probably one of the very best “game movies” as most of those are complete & utter shit. The one thing I’ll say is that it could’ve used slightly more comic relief – the movie has a small amount of this (mostly with the young wizard, who was probably my favorite character) but a little more would’ve helped me warm to the characters a bit more. I’m not gonna lie – this is a movie I probably won’t remember a thing about in a couple of years. But, hey, it does the job. And I do want a sequel.

My Rating: 7/10


I did like the hero’s eagle thingy. I want one.

Is There Anything After The Credits? Nope! Not at the end or even halfway through. So go have a pee!

33 thoughts on “Warcraft: The Beginning (2016) Review

  1. Great review! Hubby played Warcraft for quite a while, so he definitely wants to see this (and he NEVER wants to see anything in cinema). Fimmel is a big selling point for us because we love Vikings (and he is the main peanut there). I just want to see how this goes, because Warcraft has some phenomenally great stories and intense lore, and I would really like to see if they are able to successfully bring any of that to the big screen.

    • Thanks! : ) Oh man I’m behind on the blogs…. : ( I hope you like/liked Warcraft! I know it’s not the best movie ever but, for a video game adaptation, it really wasn’t bad. I’m not sure if I’m sold on this Fimmel guy yet or not, though…

      • Hahahaha, it happens, no sweat. Life is important, too! Fimmel in Vikings… no ways you aren’t sold then xD I don’t know how well he will fare outside of VIkings though, if we’re being honest. I didn’t watch this, hubby went with a friend last weekend (I had a movie weekend in progress with a friend that I was not leaving) and he said it was decent.

  2. I tend to go for sci-fi more than fantasy but it’s nice to know this one isn’t as bad as the critics say. Would you say it’s worth a trip to the theater or would be fine as a rental?

    • Sorry! I’m a week behind on replies. I hope you didn’t go! Lol. Just kidding… ; ) Umm… I’d say it’s one that can wait to be a rental for anyone who isn’t a huge Warcraft fan. It’s a decent video game adaptation & I liked it more than I expected to but I could’ve watched it at home. I go more for sci-fi than fantasy too! : )

    • Lol! Icky is an interesting word for it. ; ) I did feel a bit “weird” at first when looking at the orcs because it’s your usual bit of CGI weirdness. But, in the end, I enjoyed the story enough for it to not bother me. My life would be no worse off if I’d never seen this movie, though. ; )

  3. I feel like I have to be in the right kind of mood for this sort of ‘high fantasy’ (I wen through a phase a couple of years ago, when I watched Red Sonja and Dungeons & Dragons 3 and actually enjoyed them both!), so I’ll probably deign to give this a go one day.

    It’s killing it at the box office in China, doing pretty darn well in Europe too, and I think it’s doing fairly well here in the UK, but it’s predicted to open 3rd in the US this weekend and have a pretty weak run there. It’ll be interesting to see what that does for its sequel chances. They always say worldwide box office matters more nowadays, but the last Terminator was a HUGE hit globally and a massive flop in the US, and they cancelled the sequels.

    • Hmm. Any idea how it’s doing in the US, then? (I’m too lazy to look) :-p Really, this is nowhere NEAR as bad as I was kind of expecting. I suppose low expectations help. But, compared to other video game adaptations, it’s actually pretty good. I enjoyed it just fine. : )

      • It opened 2nd in the end (just), but has only made $26 million there so far. Worldwide it’s passed $280 million though, so I doubt its financiers are feeling too disheartened!

    • What?! Do you not LOVE LOTR?!?! ; ) Well, this is certainly no Lord of the Rings. But it’s decent as far as video game adaptations go. (Not that I know anything about the game…..) : )

      • Oh the LOTR films were very well made they’re just too bloody long! 😛 I don’t play video games so this holds no interest for me anyway… 😉

  4. Pingback: My Top Ten Video Game Movies | Cinema Parrot Disco

  5. I’ll watch it like you watched it – I have never even touched the cover to the box the game comes in (do games still come in boxes?) ANyway, I really think Travis Fimmel is fantastic in Vikings, so I’ll go and support as a fangirl if not a fan of the games.

    • Lol! I have no idea… I THINK they come in boxes?? I’m so not a game person. You’ll probably have a decent enough time with this one since you like Fimmel. : )

  6. Pingback: My Blog’s June 2016 Recap | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a Reply

