Music Video Friday: De La Soul – Me Myself And I

Today’s video is De La Soul’s Me Myself And I. Great song from a classic album. I miss music like this! Why does music suck so much nowadays? I suppose I’m just making myself sound old… Oh well. I am! But at least I got to grow up with awesome music. πŸ™‚

Me Myself And I is from De La Soul’s 1989 album 3 Feet High And Rising. Their use of samples throughout this album is absolutely brilliant. Not sure which song is my favorite… Probably Eye Know, which uses Steely Dan’s Peg & Otis Redding’s (Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay. And you know I adore The Magic Number since I grew up on Schoolhouse Rock! πŸ™‚ Here’s a list of the samples used for Me Myself And I (thank you, Wikipedia):

“(Not Just) Knee Deep” by Funkadelic
“Funky Worm” by Ohio Players
“Rapper Dapper Snapper” by Edwin Birdsong
“Gonna Make You Mine” by Loose Ends

De La Soul actually just released and the Anonymous Nobody…, their 9th album, last Friday. It features some great guest artists such as David Byrne & Damon Albarn. You should check it out but, if you don’t know anything from 3 Feet High And Rising, start with that! I’ve gone with the video for Me Myself And I today simply because it was the biggest hit but the entire album is fantastic.

Have a great weekend, everyone! πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Music Video Friday: De La Soul – Me Myself And I

  1. Pingback: Monthly Roundup: 10 Great Posts, Part 2 – Tangled Up In Music

Leave a Reply

