The Host (2006) Review

Today I’m reblogging a couple of reviews I did for two good South Korean horror films. I realized I’ve not watched any foreign language horrors this year but I’ve found that many of them have been much better than a lot of English language horrors in recent years. I really like the sound of a South Korean zombie film called Train To Busan, which is currently showing in parts of England (but not near me, unfortunately). Has anyone seen this?

Here’s my review of South Korean horror/comedy/drama/monster movie The Host, which will be followed by three New Zealand horror comedies over the next three days…

Cinema Parrot Disco

IMG_6907.JPG

The Host (2006) (Goemul)

Directed by Bong Joon-ho

Starring:
Song Kang-ho
Byun Hee-bong
Park Hae-il
Bae Doona
Go Ah-sung

Running time: 119 minutes

Plot Synopsis: (via Wikipedia)
The Host is a 2006 South Korean monster film. The movie concerns a monster kidnapping a man’s daughter, and his attempts to rescue her. According to the director, his inspiration came from a local article about a deformed fish with an S-shaped spine caught in Han River.

IMG_7137.JPG

My Opinion:

I watched this a while back but hadn’t reviewed it as I wasn’t sure what to say about it. I’d been wanting to see it for ages as I thought it looked really good and it’s had a lot of positive reviews. Unfortunately, I didn’t love it although I know it’s quite a “good” film. I definitely preferred A Tale Of Two Sisters, another South Korean horror movie I…

View original post 517 more words

13 thoughts on “The Host (2006) Review

    • Glad to hear from a fan! I wanted to like it a bit more but it’s one that’s gone up in my estimation since seeing it. I think it’s one I’d re-visit someday. Think I just wanted a slightly different ending…. : (

      • The ending was quite sad actually. Or bittersweet, maybe that’s better. I mainly just remember the crazy family, all their crying and arguing lol. Stands out more than the actual monster (not sure if that’s good or bad!) 😀

  1. Train to Busan is soooooo good. One of my top two or three films for the year and probably my favourite zombie film of all time. Definitely track it down when you can.

  2. Great film! 🙂

    If you want a Korean horror film that has a bit of everything then The Wailing (which I’ve just reviewed 😉 ) is just the ticket! 🙂

Leave a Reply

