The Boy (2016) Review

Welcome to the start of CREEPY DOLLS WEEK! I’ll be doing new reviews starting tomorrow with 1978’s Magic, starring Anthony Hopkins & a creepy ventriloquist’s dummy. Today I’m reblogging my review of this year’s The Boy, which I must admit that I really enjoyed. The story was predictable but that porcelain doll face gave me the heebie jeebies & the film had a great 70s/80s vibe & would have fit in perfectly in those decades. It was a bit of simple “creepy doll” fun & I’d happily watch this movie again someday. 🙂

Cinema Parrot Disco

The Boy (2016)

Directed by William Brent Bell

Starring: Lauren Cohan, Rupert Evans, Jim Norton, Diana Hardcastle

Plot Synopsis: (via IMDB)
An American nanny is shocked that her new English family’s boy is actually a life-sized doll. After she violates a list of strict rules, disturbing events make her believe that the doll is really alive.

My Opinion:

I was very much in the mood for a “light & predictable psychological horror movie without lots of gore” this weekend. Yay! That’s exactly what I got with The Boy! Is it some groundbreaking horror film? No. Did I know exactly where the story was going? Yes. Is it full of all the usual horror tropes? Oh god yes. Did I enjoy it, though? Yes – I thought it was perfectly fine for its genre.

I admit that I’m a sucker for any “creepy doll” horror movie and…

View original post 617 more words

6 thoughts on “The Boy (2016) Review

  1. I started to watch this and have no idea why I didn’t finish it. Was is a slow start? I might have gotten bored. I just don’t recall. This movie is right up my alley, so I wonder what happened? Oh, I think it had something to do with the nanny’s acting. I vaguely remember being annoyed with her. So what if the employers were crazy and wanted a nanny for a doll. The list wasn’t that hard. It would still be the easiest nanny job ever. Why not play along? I think the creepy scenes were filmed before the beginning scenes because she seemed to have a spitefulness towards the doll right from the start seemed to be more than just thinking this was a silly job.

  2. Ugh, this movie was such a mess! It had no idea what it wanted to be, and so it was like two totally different movies each half of the film. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

