Dead Of Night (1945) Review

To finish Creepy Dolls Week I’m reblogging my review of Dead Of Night, a great 1945 British horror anthology with a disturbing ventriloquist’s dummy. Man, I hate those things!

Here’s a recap of what I posted this week:

My Top Ten Creepy Dolls In Movies & Television

Reviews of:
The Boy (2016)
Magic (1978)
Dolls (1987)
Annabelle (2014)
Finders Keepers (2014)
Goosebumps (2015)
Dead Of Night (1945)

Starting tomorrow I’ll be doing four days of reviews of films directed by Mike Flanagan…. 🙂

Cinema Parrot Disco

Dead Of Night (1945)

Directed by Cavalcanti, Charles Crichton, Basil Dearden & Robert Hamer

Written by H.G. Wells, E.F. Benson, John Baines & Angus MacPhail

Starring: Michael Redgrave, Mervyn Johns, Frederick Valk, Roland Culver

Plot Synopsis: (via IMDB)
An architect senses impending doom as his half-remembered recurring dream turns into reality. The guests at the country house encourage him to stay as they take turns telling supernatural tales.

My Opinion:

I’d been wanting to see this for a long time as I knew there was a creepy ventriloquist’s dummy in it. Not many things actually give me the creeps in horror movies but those things do!!! *shiver* So I’m happy that I finally saw this but I had no idea beforehand that it was actually a collection of several strange & eerie stories and that the dummy was only one part of those. That was…

View original post 545 more words

7 thoughts on “Dead Of Night (1945) Review

  1. I remember a few years back when I was in college in film class, our teacher put this on as we were studying the horror genre. We were all so freaked out by the dummy.

    • Emma! I’m soooo behind on replying to comments. Working my way forward from October 13th! Sheesh! Yeah, I’m glad I saw this. I’ll seek out The Vault of Horror! Classic British horror is something I have ZERO knowledge of. But I’d love to. Never even seen any Hammer Horror stuff. 😦

Leave a Reply

