My Top Ten Kurt Russell Movies

Happy Birthday (soon) to Kurt Russell, who turns 66 tomorrow.

People probably first think of Russell’s collaborations with John Carpenter when they hear his name. Looking at his filmography, those are indeed his best films (I do have Big Trouble In Little China a bit low but I could do with re-watching it).

You have to admit he did some truly dodgy movies in the 80s & 90s but I’d be a liar if I said I didn’t find him kind of hot as Captain Ron. 😉 I’ve always liked Russell just fine – I won’t go out of my way to watch his movies but I certainly won’t avoid them. I’m happy that Tarantino has managed to sort of revive his career (or, at least, save him from the really dodgy movies). There are quite a few Russell films I have yet to see but I’ve just watched The Hateful Eight as I felt it was one I better see before making this list. I have to say it was a massive disappointment! Not Russell’s worst but certainly Tarantino’s. Damn.

Okay – enough rambling. Here are My Top Ten Kurt Russell Movies, counting down to my favorite (and including all 18 I’ve seen). I gotta say that numbers 1 & 2 are leagues ahead of the rest…

Top 18 (11-18 are fairly interchangeable):

18. Used Cars
17. Executive Decision
16. Unlawful Entry
15. Sky High
14. The Hateful Eight
13. Captain Ron
12. Escape From L.A.
11. Overboard

TOP TEN:

10. Backdraft

9. Breakdown

8. Vanilla Sky

7. Stargate

6. Silkwood

5. Big Trouble In Little China

4. Death Proof

3. The Fox And The Hound

2. Escape From New York

1. The Thing

Seen But Don’t Remember Well Enough To Add To List:
Tango & Cash
Tequila Sunrise

Not Seen:
Too many to list. I’m happy to take recommendations if you think I’ve missed one of Russell’s best movies.

24 thoughts on “My Top Ten Kurt Russell Movies

    • Hehe. I did like Overboard. To be fair, I don’t remember a lot of these that well now & Overboard may be higher if I were to re-watch them all. ; ) I do remember liking Breakdown far more than I expected to! Not normally my sort of movie.

    • Agreed from what I remember. I must admit that my memory is hazy on quite a few of these as they were watched sooo long ago. Silkwood is one I could do with re-watching someday. Good film that seems somewhat forgotten. : )

    • He was! It’s funny – he’s at that sort of age where both a teenage me and my mom had a crush on him in movies in the late 80s/early 90s (especially Captain Ron. lol!). 😉 I loooove The Thing. Quite a few on this list were watched so long ago that my memory is hazy, though, and I could do with re-watching both Silkwood & Backdraft…

    • I really could do with re-watching Big Trouble. : ) But I LOVE The Thing! Hmm… Not sure about Westerns (other than spaghetti Westerns) and hockey, though. 😉 I may check out Tombstone someday. Loads of big stars in that! I didn’t realize just how many until looking it up just now. And decent IMDb rating. And that stud Sam Elliott. Okay – you’ve talked me into watching Tombstone! Lol 🙂

  1. Great list! Kurt (or should I say, Captain Ron 😉 ) always gives a fine performance. Never have seen this man mail-in or auto-pilot a performance for movies or TV. Glad to his rare villain role from Death Proof and his excellent support for Vanilla Sky on your tab. So many great stints, and yes, I claim his roles in Tequila Sunrise and Tango & Cash as favorites. I’ll highly recommend his Deepwater Horizon along with the awesome, but kick in the gut, Bone Tomahawk work, as well.

    • Hehe. Captain Kurt. 😉 I liked Death Proof quite a bit more than most people seemed to & he was great in it. Also thought Vanilla Sky was very strong. Yep – I do need to re-watch Tango & Cash and Tequila Sunrise! May watch Deepwater Horizon at some point and possibly Bone Tomahawk just because it sounds a bit bizarre. : )

  2. I have a funny story about The Thing. When I was in school I read a story in my text book about people working in Antarctica and releasing some kind of monster. I also saw a movie that was the exact same story. I spent years talking to people and no know knew what I was talking about until I moved to Omaha and I joined a stitching group made up of mostly older ladies who turned out to be big science fiction fans. Someone finally told me that the movie I was looking for was The Thing. One day I saw the Netflix had it so I went to watch it and was VERY shocked. It was and was not the same movie I saw on T.V. In fact, the turns out that the movie was so heavily edited for t.v. that it felt like the full version was a different film. I couldn’t finish watching it.

    What about his line of Disney movies he did as a teenager and a child actor?

    • Lol. That’s American TV for you! 😉 My UK hubby always finds it bizarre that I only saw heavily edited versions of lots of films for years. They don’t do that in the UK – they show the unedited films but late at night. A favorite of mine was Cronenberg’s The Fly. I had it recorded off TV & watched it so many times that that’s the version I still know best despite being a big fan of the unedited film as well. Hubby still mentions scenes from it and I’m like “Whaaaaat? Oh yeah – that wasn’t in the TV version I know best”. 😉 Some American TV versions actually have added scenes not in the theater version. The Breakfast Club is one. And I remember seeing the unedited Fast Times At Ridgemont High after years of the TV version & there were completely different scenes as well as scenes missing entirely as they were only in the TV version. So weird. Anyway…. The Thing is awesome! 😉

Leave a Reply

