The First Omen, The Blackening & Bones And All Reviews

The First Omen (2024) – There’s no way to ever top the 1976 The Omen, an absolute classic & one of the only horror movies to truly give me the creeps. So, compared to the original, this prequel doesn’t seem so great but I thought it was a very solid horror compared to other current ones. I liked it in that context & don’t think it hurts the original’s legacy. Nell Tiger Free was very good & the film had some Possession (1981) vibes.

Decent modern horror film but, like most current movies in this genre, I think it’ll still be a bit forgettable. – 7/10

The Blackening (2022) – This started out really strong. I liked the humor & the creepy board game they played. Really thought it was going to be a great horror comedy but it sadly lost its way & became a bit of a mess by the end. Lacking in character development too. Certainly had potential & a good idea, though. An enjoyable enough watch but sad that it was ultimately a bit disappointing. – 6/10

Bones And All (2022) – Didn’t expect a movie about cannibals to be so boring? I can’t even think of anything to say about it? Taylor Russell was good. Timothée Chalamet was meh. Mark Rylance was creepy. Maybe I just prefer a teenage zombie romance comedy (Warm Bodies) to a serious & dreary cannibal romance that doesn’t seem to have anything to say about their situation anyway? Maybe the book was better? – 5/10

One thought on “The First Omen, The Blackening & Bones And All Reviews

  1. Nothing spectacular to see here? Did you know I’ve only ever seen one of those Omen movies? Oh wait wasn’t there a remake with Liev Schrieber? If there was I did see that but I guess I’ve already forgotten about it other than it may or may not exist at all.

    Hope things are going ok for you. It’s hotter than shit here where I live.

    #hotterthanshit

Leave a comment