My Top Ten Crazy Ladies In Movies

I love crazy ladies in movies! I was going to call this “Crazy Bitches” but didn’t want to get in trouble as people are so on edge about these sort of things nowadays. Actually, I could also be in trouble for using the word “crazy”, I suppose. I’m female so am I allowed to say “crazy bitch”?!

I feel like I should be offended when movies portray women as mentally unstable, especially when it’s over a “man”. But I’m not (well, okay – I’m a little offended by the “crazy ex-girlfriend” thing – the majority of us aren’t obsessed with men, believe it or not!). There are plenty of psychotic men in movies & no one seems to have any issues with that. Is it only okay for men to be psychos?

I have no issues with psychotic male or female characters – as long as the actor has fun with the role. The more over-the-top the better! I love when an actor clearly enjoys playing crazy & goes all out, like Jack Nicholson in The Shining or Kathy Bates in Misery. I have to say that I think it’s kind of funny that the term “bunny boiler” is so commonly used now, though. It just goes to show how great Glenn Close was in Fatal Attraction (written & directed by men). Women rarely get that crazy over men as far as I’m aware but it’s interesting that some guys think we might! šŸ˜‰

Here are My Top Ten Crazy Ladies In Movies, counting down to my favorite:

10. Betsy Palmer as Mrs. Voorhees in Friday The 13th

9. Gloria Swanson as Norma Desmond in Sunset Boulevard

8. Samantha Eggar as Nola Carveth in The Brood

7. Jessica Walter as Evelyn in Play Misty For Me

6. Lara Flynn Boyle as Stacy in Wayne’s World

5. The Xenomorph Queen in Aliens

4. Kathy Bates as Annie Wilkes in Misery

3. Betty Lou Gerson as the voice of Cruella De Vil in 101 Dalmatians

2. Glenn Close as Alex Forrest in Fatal Attraction

1. Piper Laurie as Margaret White in Carrie

I’ve left SO many out. It was hard to choose only ten! So here’s a long list of honorable mentions (and I’ve still left a lot out):

Honorable Mentions:

All the kick-ass ladies in Kill Bill
– Billie Whitelaw as Mrs. Baylock in The Omen
– Betty Davis as Baby Jane Hudson in What Ever Happened To Baby Jane?
– Marcia Gay Harden as Mrs. Carmody in The Mist
– Natalie Portman as Nina Sayers in Black Swan
– Fairuza Balk as Nancy Downs in The Craft
– Eleanor Audley as the voice of Maleficent in Sleeping Beauty
– Rosamund Pike as Amy Dunne in Gone Girl
– Essie Davis as Amelia in The Babadook
– Nicole Kidman as Grace Stewart in The Others
– Sharon Stone as Catherine Tramell in Basic Instinct
– Juliette Lewis as Mallory Knox in Natural Born Killers
– Jennifer Jason Leigh as Hedra Carlson in Single White Female
– Rebecca De Mornay as Peyton Flanders in The Hand That Rocks The Cradle
– Drew Barrymore as Ivy in Poison Ivy
– Elizabeth Taylor as Martha in Who’s Afraid Of Virginia Woolf?
– Kate Winslet as Juliet Hulme & Melanie Lynskey as Pauline Parker in Heavenly Creatures
– Margot Kidder as Danielle in Sisters
– Deanna Dunagan as Nana in The Visit
– Anthony Perkins in Psycho…

A Few I’ve Not Seen:
Audition
Mommie Dearest
Switchblade Romance
Suicide Squad

And here’s a shoutout to Crazy TV Ladies, including most of the females in Game Of Thrones! Love those Game Of Thrones gals.

Let’s end this with Taylor Swift’s video for Blank Space… šŸ˜‰

I bet no one who knows my taste in music ever thought they’d see a Taylor Swift video on my blog! It just felt like the right video to end this post. To be fair to Swift, it’s cool that she had fun with the media’s unfair image of her.

You can read a great article about the portrayal of women as “crazy” & the sexist double standards that still exist in Hollywood (and in real life) HERE at dailydot.com. It starts out about Swift but then gets into detail about the history of the sexist treatment of famous women.

56 thoughts on “My Top Ten Crazy Ladies In Movies

  1. This is an excellent list, some good choices on here. Glenn Close in Fatal Attraction is truly frightening. When she’s sitting there switching the light on and off, it’s chilling. And Kathy Bates in Misery is one amazing performance.

  2. Hah! I’ve never thought how many crazy ladies there are. šŸ˜€ No wonder guys think that we’re nuts. Great post! I would probably pick Amy Dunne as my number one but that’s only because she’s so calm and gathered and that’s so cool.

  3. Great list! I’m happy to see the queen of crazy, Annie Wilkes on it.

    I have to say, Taylor Swift deserves to be called crazy sometimes. She slut shames women in her songs, then complains when women make jokes at her expense.

    • Thanks! : ) Yeah, Kathy Bates was great in that role. Lol – poor Taylor Swift. ; ) People seem to love her or hate her! Must admit I try to avoid most of that celebrity drama. So annoying! But impossible to avoid completely on Twitter. Ugh.

  4. Shame you’ve not seen Audition otherwise that list would be very different. In fact there are quit a few Asian movie female characters that could be included – and a few French ones too! šŸ˜‰

    • I don’t think I could stomach Audition. I’m a wuss. ; ) It sounds like Audition was all a dream or, like, in the dude’s head. Or something. (Yeah, I’ve read all about it because I think it’s probably too gross for me to watch!) : )

  5. Great list, especially Misery, though I’m not sure the alien queen should count (crazy or evil…?) How about Carrie Fisher in Blues Brothers, or Ingrid Bergman in Gaslight, or that quiet girl in Pitch Perfect?
    There’s an anime series called Death Note that’s getting its own movie next year about a notebook that can kill whoever’s name is written in it. Since I saw it, that Taylor Swift song has taken on a whole new meaning.

    • The Alien Queen is the ultimate “bitch”! Just ask Ripley. ; ) Ohhh…. Good call on the quiet girl in Pitch Perfect! Loved that character – she was hilarious. Lol – I like the sound of that Death Note thing! Sounds like a great concept.

      • True, you’ve got to watch out for the quiet ones (and the giant xenomorph ones)!
        Death Note was a great series, and it sounds like they’ll be leaning it more on the horror side for the movie. Could be really good or really bad. Keep an eye out for it next year.

  6. Very cool list! Glad The Hand That Rocks The Cradle is in the honorable mentions.. she’s creepy af! ‘Audition’ is one gruesome but great movie.

  7. Great post, and lots of legit crazies on here! I think Glenn Close is my ultimate go-to gal when I’m thinking of crazy bitches. Also, I’m surprised Lisa Rowe, Angelina Jolie in Girl Interrupted, didn’t make your list! That whole movie is loaded with crazies!!

    • Yeah, Glenn Close is one I always think of when I think of crazy ladies in movies. She was originally my number one. She’s so great in Fatal Attraction! I did have Jolie as an honorable mention at first. I think I just have never really liked her (as a person) so I took her off. lol : )

  8. Love the list! I’m okay with the whole “crazy bitches” thing – it’s quite hilarious! I just hate when people call women sluts or whores – that is just so wrong!

    Amy Dunne, especially. That bitch be cray!

    • Thanks! I do prefer the title of “Crazy Bitches”. Hubby convinced me people might be offended. ; ) Slut or whore pisses me off, though. Although I’ve never been called one (I’m a prude anyway. Lol). Amy Dunne is indeed a crazy BITCH. : )

  9. Pauline from Excision is a worthy contestant for this list, she licked a dead bird and performed home surgery. I would highly recommend!

  10. Great listing and defense of each choice, Table 9!

    I’d add Shelly Winters as Ma Barker in ‘Bloody Mama’ from 1970. Just for her ability to get so much creepiness out of her three warped sons.

    Though, more driven and evil than crazy. Billlie Whitelaw as Ronnie and Reggie Kray’s Mum in ‘The Krays’ from 1990.

    Excellent catch for Samantha Eggar in Cronenberg’s ‘The Brood’!

    • Thank you! : ) I’ve not heard of Bloody Mama but I like the sound of that. I’ll have to look into it. And I’ve not seen The Krays but I really should now that I live in England… Love Whitelaw in The Omen. And I love Cronenberg so had to include The Brood. That film is nuts. : )

  11. Pingback: My Blog’s October 2016 Horror Month Recap | Cinema Parrot Disco

  12. Pingback: The Hustler (1961) Blind Spot Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  13. Pingback: The Witch (2015) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  14. Pingback: Ma (2019) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  15. Pingback: Watched, Read, Reviewed: April 2021 hi | Cinema Parrot Disco

  16. Pingback: Ten Horror Movie Mini-Reviews | Cinema Parrot Disco

  17. Pingback: Turning Red (2022) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  18. Pingback: Deadly Blessing (1981) & Carrie (1976) Reviews | Cinema Parrot Disco

  19. Pingback: Pearl (2022) & The Popeā€™s Exorcist (2023) Reviews | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a comment