My Top Ten Sam Rockwell Movies

Happy Birthday to Sam Rockwell, who turns 47 today!

I know there are quite a few Sam Rockwell fans but I never really paid much attention to him until The Way Way Back. I thought he was fantastic in that movie & his character is probably one of my very favorites of the last few years. He’s made some odd choices when it comes to some of his movie roles and I’ll admit now that I only really like the top four on this list. Now that Sam Rockwell has finally grown on me, I should re-watch some of his older films (like Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind, which I know I liked at the time but sure as shit can’t remember now). It feels like he still needs that one perfect movie & role to finally get him the recognition I think he probably deserves by now.

But he’s really screwed me over this year for Luke’s Fantasy Acting League over at Oracle Of Film as he had several movies listed as 2015 on IMDB that never got full releases! What gives, Sam Rockwell?! You’ve lost me loads of points! šŸ˜‰

Here are My Top Ten Sam Rockwell Movies counting down to the four I actually really like as he’s had some dodgy films that have squeaked into this list to make it to ten (FYI – I always rank these lists according to how much I like the movie, not the actor’s individual role):

10. Charlie’s Angels

9. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

8. Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind

7. Choke

6. Matchstick Men

5. Galaxy Quest

4. Seven Psychopaths

3. Moon

2. The Green Mile

1. The Way Way Back

FYI – these are the only two other Sam Rockwell movies that I’ve seen & they really could be interchangeable with 9th & 10th place:

– Iron Man 2
– The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy

38 thoughts on “My Top Ten Sam Rockwell Movies

  1. Nice list! Rockwell is a fabulous actor and no mistake. The first time I came across him was in 1998 with Lawn Dogs. A great little Indy flick that deserves much more attention.

  2. I love this list. This man deserves more recognition. I also enjoyed his performance in The Way Way Back, he plays that line between comedy and drama very well. As a film, though, I prefer Moon and would hold that up as a shining example of his ability. šŸ™‚

    • Thanks! šŸ™‚ Oh, I love Moon. I originally had that at number two – it’s the most “me” on this list as I love sci-fi. At the time, though, I wasn’t really yet a Rockwell fan. I should watch it again. šŸ™‚

  3. Great list! Moon is definitely my favorite performance of his. I also liked him in Choke, Snow Angels, Joshua, Lawn Dogs, and Seven Psychopaths.

    • Thanks! šŸ™‚ I adore Moon. I like the top three on this list far more than the rest. You’ve seen much more of his films than I have – I’ve not seen Snow Angels, Joshua, or Lawn Dogs… WAIT! I’ve seen Joshua! Oh, damn – IMDB screwed me over! It’s listed as The Devil’s Child so I skipped over it as I’ve never heard that title. Hmm… Joshua was pretty good. I may have to rearrange my list to add it. Thanks! šŸ˜‰

  4. I love your affection for The Way, Way Back. It was one of my favorite films of last year. Rockwell literally stole the show. He really grabbed my attention with that film as well.

    • Glad to hear from another fan of that movie & performance! Yes, it’s definitely the one that made me a Rockwell fan, even though I did love the movie Moon. But I adored his character in The Way Way Back. šŸ™‚

  5. I love this list! May have to work on watching all the ones i haven’t seen. I absolutely LOVED The Way Way Back and I am always re-watching Galaxy Quest when it’s on TV! Great post! – Jenna

    • Thanks! Well, if you haven’t seen the bottom five, you’re not really missing much. He’s not been in a lot of great films, unfortunately. Here’s hoping he’ll be in better ones from now on. šŸ™‚

    • Lol! Yeah… You should try a few modern films! šŸ˜‰ Honestly – of these, you should REALLY watch Moon. It has a great old-fashioned sci-fi feel. And David Bowie’s son made it. I highly recommend it!

  6. Gosh I’d forgotten he was in The Green Mile and the world’s biggest creepy-ass ever in there! Such a good performance though. Also, loved the Way Way Back. I was so surprised by it!

    • I so wanted to love Hitchhiker’s as it’s my favorite book but I really didn’t like that adaptation. I know a lot of people love Galaxy Quest. šŸ™‚ I really love Moon. I hope Rockwell gets the opportunity to be in better movies again soon!

Leave a comment