Watched, Read, Reviewed: December 2023

Hey all. Going to try to catch up on the posts I fell behind on. Want to keep this blog going as it’s what my husband would have wanted. ❤️

So a quick roundup of what I watched & reviewed in December…

MOVIES WATCHED IN DECEMBER (ranked best to worst):

John Wick: Chapter 4 – 8.5/10
Saltburn – 7.5/10
Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse – 7.5/10
Indiana Jones And The Dial Of Destiny – 7/10
Violent Night – 7/10
Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret. – 7/10
The Covenant – 7/10
Leave The World Behind – 6.5/10
The Family Plan – 6.5/10
Vesper – 6/10
Theater Camp – 6/10
May December – 6/10
Candy Cane Lane – 6/10
Family Switch – 5.5/10
Spirited – 5.5/10

Movies Rewatched In December:

Gremlins – 9/10
Scrooged – 8.5/10
National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation – 8.5/10
Miracle On 34th Street (1947) – 8/10
The Muppet Christmas Carol – 8/10
Elf – 8/10
Home Alone – 8/10
Die Hard – 7.5/10

Watched some of the Peanuts shorts on Apple TV in December – Gonna spend a day binging all the Peanuts stuff someday soon & will post about them then. Adore Peanuts. Especially Snoopy!

Don’t think we watched any TV shows in December…

BOOKS READ

Only You Can Save Mankind by Terry Pratchett – Don’t have many books left in the house that I’ve not read so grabbed this book of hubby’s from years ago. It was fine but very much aimed at pre-teen boys (especially those who loved video games in the 80s, which hubby certainly did). Very unlike the one other Pratchett book I’ve read (The Colour Of Magic, which was much better). But a fun read for old Gen X farts who grew up on stuff like The Last Starfighter. – 2.5/5

BLOG PLANS FOR THE COMING MONTH

Catching up on posting the roundups of what I watched in January & February. I’ve logged them on Letterboxd but reviewed none of them yet. Will probably only do very short reviews of those on Letterboxd so will post those links in the roundup posts.

Will also post my 2023 ranked movie lists even though that seems a bit pointless now.

And will try to do an Oscars post as have watched a lot of the lesser nominees (once again have missed out on a lot of the Best Picture nominees where I was unable to go to the cinema).

I currently have Napoleon on in the background while preparing this post, just because it’s up for a few Oscars. Why do I do this to myself?! It’s not my type of thing at all. Bloody boring.

Upcoming Movies I Want To See:

I do plan to go to Dune: Part Two. Going to be very difficult – The hubby was a big Dune fan & was very much looking forward to seeing Part Two. 💔

Just need to add that I’m very annoyed that my closest cinema doesn’t do an annual pass for those under 18?! Was planning to do annual passes for me & the daughter on her 15th birthday as we’d like to start going to movies regularly again. Not very family friendly! So I’d have to pay full price for her to join me every time?? Rubbish. Pissed off at myself for not driving in this country, so I’m limited by where I can get to via bus. Grrr.

One thought on “Watched, Read, Reviewed: December 2023

Leave a comment