My Top Ten Toilet Scenes In Movies

Yep, I’m going there! Sort of. I’m not normally a fan of “toilet humor”. I find the loads of poop scenes that Hollywood squeezes out to be gross & only occasionally funny. This was originally going to be My Top Ten Poop Scenes but I didn’t know how to go about ranking that. Would I rank them by humor or by gross-out factor? I found that, in the end, there just weren’t ten poop scenes that I enjoyed enough to compile into a list. So I decided to wipe that idea & start out fresh.

As a companion piece to my most-viewed post, My Top Ten Shower & Bath Scenes In Movies, this list will contain scenes that all involve a toilet in some way. As in, that thing you sit on (or stand in front of if you’re a guy). Outhouses also count as do public toilet stalls. In some cases, poop may be involved. I guess I should move onto sinks next & then I’ll have the whole bathroom covered! 🙂 (Hmm… that came out sounding a bit like another poop joke).

Anyway! Here are My Top Ten Toilet Scenes In Movies:

Honorable Mention:

Headhunters

This deserves a mention as, although I’ve been planning this top ten list for a while, I decided it was time to finally post it after reviewing Headhunters with Laura of Filmnerdblog on Monday (our review chat is HERE). Very good Norwegian movie with an extremely disgusting outhouse scene!

10. TIE: Dead Snow & Night Of The Creeps

There are so many horror movies with bathroom scenes! I guess I prefer the ones that are more horror/comedy. These are two of the first scenes I thought of when I decided to do this list and I have to say that the Dead Snow outhouse scene was hilariously gross (mainly for the finger-sucking as he’d JUST wiped himself. NASTY!)

9. TIE: Witness & Lethal Weapon 2

These both deserve to be much higher on the list so I’ll explain why they aren’t. I immediately thought of Lethal Weapon as it’s such a famous scene. In fact, it’s the only scene I remember from any Lethal Weapon movies & I had to Google which one the scene was actually in (number 2! how appropriate). As for Witness, this is the closest I’ve come to “cheating” on one of my lists as, in doing a search for toilet scenes online, I “re-discovered” this one. I didn’t remember this scene at all from when I saw this years ago but after watching it on YouTube I couldn’t leave it off the list. The scene is intense. And, holy shit, the whole movie is based on what happens in that bathroom. Plus… Danny Glover was in the Witness scene too! What?! Okay, I seriously need to re-watch both of these movies.

8. Arachnophobia

The shower scene in this gets all the attention, of course, but I think I was more disturbed by the spider under the lid of the toilet seat while the dad was sitting on it. To this day, I sometimes check under toilet seats for spiders. Seriously. Thanks a lot, Arachnophobia!

7. Full Metal Jacket

Disturbing scene but certainly memorable. (But I still prefer Vincent D’Onofrio as Thor in Adventures In Babysitting) 😉

6. Despicable Me

I adore this movie & certain scenes still crack me up every single time. This is one of them. I love when Gru is explaining his evil plan & turns the page to find the drawing the girls did of him on the toilet. I love those girls. 🙂

5. Monsters, Inc

And… Monsters, Inc! Another movie that I adore as much as Despicable Me. It’s cute when we see them all hiding in the toilet stall as Randall kicks the door open yet doesn’t see them all hiding there.

4. Jurassic Park

Again, this scene was one of the first that I thought of. I’ve realized that most in my list don’t involve actually using the toilets for their intended purpose! They’re clearly a good place to hide. Except from dinosaurs, I guess…

3. The Goonies

I was always confused by this scene. I mean, would it actually be possible for water pressure to cause a toilet to blow up into the air like that? Plus, the guy is clearly sitting on the toilet with underwear on. How do you poop through your underwear??

2. The Godfather

When I thought of toilets in movies, I thought of their different uses. Such as… Hiding things in or behind the tank. I swear there are several scenes like this (one movie has someone hiding money in the tank – is it Pretty Woman?? Not sure). Anyway, the gun hidden behind the toilet tank in The Godfather was the best one I could think of.

1. Trainspotting

Obviously. Ewan McGregor’s toilet swim is famous. Or infamous? Well, it’s super gross but no one who has seen the scene will ever forget it.

Some That Didn’t Make The List (but I did think of them):

Fast Times At Ridgemont High (since it’s already on my list of My Top Five Movie Scenes Of Self-Pleasure, of course)
The Big Lebowski
Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist
Slumdog Millionaire
Scream 2
Pulp Fiction
Saw

Now let’s end this with some scenes actually involving poop that I did find amusing:

Harold & Kumar Go To White Castle (“You sank my battleshit!” I love the Harold & Kumar movies)
Bad Grandpa (sorry, but the shart up the wall was pretty damn funny)
American Pie (not the best poop scene EVER but a pretty funny movie overall so I’ll give it some credit)
The Help (there’s a lot involving actual toilets in this movie but I saved it for the “poop list” as the actual “shit” scene is awesome – loved it!)
Caddyshack (okay, it’s not actually poop plus I already included it in My Top Ten Swimming Pool Scenes In Movies)

By the way, I don’t believe I ever actually saw all of Ghoulies

47 thoughts on “My Top Ten Toilet Scenes In Movies

  1. I’m with you on the toilet humour! I just don’t get the world’s obsession with it. Very rare is the toilet-relate gag that makes me laugh — indeed, they’re more likely to make me gag. (Pun!)

    Good list though. I could only think of Trainspotting when I saw the title, so I’m impressed/surprised how many iconic toilet scenes there are (can’t believe I forgot Jurassic Park‘s!)

    • Yeah, I don’t get all the toilet humor in movies. It’s so immature (although the occasional one makes me laugh since I can be a little immature at times). 😉 Thanks – I knew I HAD to put Trainspotting at number one as it’s the one most people would think of. It was fun trying to keep the list “clean” for the most part with things like the Jurassic Park one. 🙂

  2. LOL There’s actually some really wonderful scenes here! This is a great idea for a list. I thought of Detroit Rock City, that was an interesting toilet moment too.

    • Yeah – I tried to keep it pretty clean. 🙂 I’m glad I thought of quite a few that didn’t actually involve, um, “using” the toilet. Lol. Yeah, I kind of remember that Detroit Rock City one – it was such a long time ago that I saw that. That and the Not Another Teen Movie one, which was similar. That was pretty nasty! 🙂

  3. Lol love this list!!!! I think Trainspotting and Jurassic Park are brilliant picks and very iconic 🙂

    My favourite is Arachnophobia and that picture of Danny Glover made my day!!!! 😀

  4. I loved the one in Austin Powers “Who does number two work for?” so funny. I know you were just concentrating on toilets but while reading your list I realized that a bunch of my favorite fight scenes happen in bathrooms.

    • Yeah – hubby mentioned the Austin Powers one but I don’t really remember it. 🙂 There ARE a lot of fight scenes in bathrooms! There are lots of public bathroom scenes as well as A LOT of horror movie scenes in bathrooms. I might do a “full bathroom” list at some point. 😉

  5. I’m also a Harold and Kumar fan. The Godfather was the best toilet scene although Lethal Weapon 2 was also pretty good. One of the best scenes has to be in 1984’s Bloodbath At The House Of Death. Got to love the scene where a pair of blood covered hands pulls an unfortunate into the toilet.

  6. what a really shitty list 🙂

    I HATED trainspotting, but all the others are great choices. Liked seeing Night of the Creeps getting some love here.

    I also wondered the same thing abt the Goonies scene.

    How could u forget –

    There’s Something About Mary (Frank and Beans)
    The Naked Gun (with the Microphone)
    Bridesmaids (food poisoning)

  7. That Despicable Me scene always cracks me up. And then it’s followed up by Despicable Me 2 when he’s trying to gesture to the girls his excuses for not coming to the door and they end with, “he’s pooping?”

    • Hehe! I know! Toilet humor is funny when it’s totally adorable. 🙂 There’s also the scene in Despicable Me where the toilet gets shrunk by the shrink ray. Those crazy Despicable Me writers! 🙂

  8. Another, um, fascinating list you’ve delivered. Jurassic Park and Witness are my favorites. I’m pretty sure Monsters, Inc. was copying Witness in that scene. Also, look up My Favorite Martian and toilet. I think that at least deserves an honorable mention. 😉

  9. Pingback: My Blog’s September 2015 Stats  | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a comment