The Fault In Our Stars (2014) Review

20140708-035746 pm-57466236.jpg

The Fault In Our Stars (2014)

Directed by Josh Boone

Based on The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Starring:
Shailene Woodley
Ansel Elgort
Nat Wolff
Laura Dern
Sam Trammell
Willem Dafoe

Running time: 125 minutes

Plot Synopsis:
Shailene Woodley plays Hazel Grace Lancaster, a sixteen-years-old cancer patient who is forced by her parents to attend a support group, where she subsequently meets and falls in love with Augustus Waters, portrayed by Ansel Elgort.

20140708-040953 pm-58193885.jpg

My Opinion:

I read this book last year (you can see my review HERE) and I liked it a lot. It was my first John Green book and I thought he did an excellent job bringing these characters to life and making us care about them (I’ve just finished my second John Green book, Paper Towns. Hmm… Not as much of a fan of that one. He’s a very talented writer, though – I’ll certainly read more from him).

20140708-041038 pm-58238249.jpg

It’s annoying when they don’t do a good job adapting books into films but, at least as far as YA books go, they’ve been doing a damn good job with some of them lately. I think The Hunger Games films have been great so far (especially Catching Fire) and The Perks Of Being A Wallflower is still one of my favorite films of the past few years and was an extremely faithful adaption (helps that the author made the film himself – I also reviewed the book HERE). Well, I’m very happy to say they did an amazing job with the adaptation of The Fault In Our Stars and I really have no complaints. Some things were left out as usual due to length, such as a bit about Augustus’ life prior to meeting Hazel, but I don’t think it was necessary for the film anyway.

20140708-041607 pm-58567978.jpg

Shailene Woodley was good as Hazel (when I reviewed Divergent I wondered if maybe this movie would suit her better. I was right – The Fault In Our Stars feels more like the right kind of role for her). However, the true star here is Augustus Waters (played by Ansel Elgort). I’m an old lady reading YA fiction but can TOTALLY understand young readers falling completely in love with the character of Augustus. He’s charming, funny, cheeky, confident, handsome… the kind of boy teenage girls dream of, in other words. Luckily, I think Ansel Elgort captures this character and I’m sure he has loads of young female fans now. And there’s a great chemistry with Woodley so it’s very easy to get sucked into the story and believe that they’re a couple. I really can’t find fault with anyone cast in this film – they all played their roles well. The best friend of Augustus was made maybe a little too “funny” for the movie but that’s a very minor complaint – he was kind of the “comic relief” in the book as well.

20140708-041519 pm-58519725.jpg

Summary:

If you loved the book, you’ll love the film. It’s an extremely faithful adaptation and, having enjoyed the book, I’m very happy with what they’ve done with the film. I don’t think anyone was miscast and I’d find it very surprising if you’re a YA-aged female who doesn’t fall in love with the character of Augustus Waters after watching this movie (and/or reading the book). However, although I love reading Young Adult fiction, “teenage melodrama” isn’t normally my genre of choice for the most part (The Perks Of Being A Wallflower being an exception). So the film probably deserves a slightly higher rating than what I’m going to give it but I rate based on a combination of personal opinion as well as “worthiness” (I feel I have to explain myself after you all picked on me for my Godzilla rating). πŸ˜‰ It’s not a movie I’ll necessarily ever watch again but if I was a teenager right now I’d probably watch it over & over & over and declare it the best movie ever. It’s a very good YA film.

My Rating: 7.5/10

20140708-041854 pm-58734972.jpg

**I’ve become a member of The Stone Cold Bitch Club as I shed no tears while watching The Fault In Our Stars (I do find some movies to be tearjerkers, though – you can see my list HERE).

Here are some reviews of The Fault In Our Stars from other WordPress bloggers:

Stone Cold Bitch Club:

Me!
Zoe
Cara
Abbi
Rob

Crybaby Club:

Melissa
Tom
Box Office Buzz
Natalie
Natasha
Anna

In Between Club:

Mike

Which club do YOU belong to? Let me know! If you’ve reviewed this, I’ll add a link to your review above under the correct category. πŸ™‚

20140708-042047 pm-58847379.jpg

44 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars (2014) Review

  1. Nice review Mutant!

    I really enjoyed it and subsequently read the book immediately after seeing the movie (which I also loved)

    I think this is probably one of the best adaptations of a book to screen (notewithstanding Shawshank and The Green Mile). Great casting and I think it was ok to leave out Augustus’ history because it woulda just been a tangent in the movie where it was more important to have been in the book.

    Should I be offended that you didn’t add my review to your list?;) (or I guess you just forgot I exist because I dont post too often) πŸ™‚

  2. Nice review lady, really liked it. Fair score, I danced between that and an 8, so no complaints. I am a ridiculous Augustus fan, so I was really happy to see what Elgort did with him, I think he was fantastic for the role. Woodley was certainly far better here than Divergent (we all remember how I felt about that).

    #stonecoldbitch

  3. I think I could join the Stone Cold Bitch Club too because I didn’t shed no tears neither. I actually preferred onscreen Augustus to on the page Augustus who I found rather annoying. It’s a really good adaptation though.

    • Thanks! : ) Do you have a review you want me to add? I didn’t find this one TOO manipulative compared to other films with a similar subject. I think the book handled it a bit better, though.

  4. YAAAAASSSSS SCBs!! Hahaha. Great review, lady! Obviously, I’m right there with you–a very well done film, but teen dramas aren’t really my thing either (aside from The Perks of Being a Wallflower, yes, because that film is amazing).

    #stonecoldbitchesftw

  5. Good review. Though I was fine with Woodley, the Augustus character just annoyed the hell out of me. And it got even worse because he never, ever seemed to stop trying to be/sound witty.

  6. Great review! Yes, I will admit I cried like a baby through this one. I hadn’t read the book before but went out and bought it after watching the movie. Thought the casting was very good, as well as the story. This isn’t the type of genre I normally watch but thought it was a good movie. Enjoying the book so far, as well.

  7. Ooh! Please put me in the Crybaby Club, please. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Great review, I found this to be a solid YA romance, even without me reading the book I was hooked on Augustus. I. . .I may have even fallen in love with him a bit. . . .

      • oh nooo!!! haha I don’t know what’s causing that, it could be a WP thingy. But that’s fine! No rush! I still have plans on flooding your page with a bunch of weird comments, so. . . prepare yourself.

  8. Yes I’m with you I feel like an old lady watching this and reading YA stuff like Hunger Games. I haven’t read this yet, but it’s on my reading list. If I was a teenager I would be watching this on a loop for sure! Come on where are my cry babies out there!!! Our club actually probably just had something in their eyes, and then we put Visine in them and it made us cry more. Yeah that’s totally why, not Hazel and Gus, nope not at all. lol

  9. Pingback: This Is 40, Admission & Bad Grandpa Movie Reviews | Cinema Parrot Disco

  10. Pingback: My Top Ten Wooden Movie Actors/Characters | Cinema Parrot Disco

  11. Pingback: My Top Ten Willem Dafoe Movies | Cinema Parrot Disco

  12. Pingback: Five Feet Apart, The Knight Before Christmas & Destination Wedding Movie Reviews | Cinema Parrot Disco

  13. Pingback: Watched, Read, Reviewed: February 2020 | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a comment