Gone Girl (2014) Review

IMG_6997.JPG

****SPOILER-FREE REVIEW****

Gone Girl (2014)

Directed by David Fincher

Based on Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Starring:
Ben Affleck
Rosamund Pike
Neil Patrick Harris
Tyler Perry
Carrie Coon
Kim Dickens

Running time: 149 minutes

Plot Synopsis: (via IMDB)
With his wife’s disappearance having become the focus of an intense media circus, a man sees the spotlight turned on him when it’s suspected that he may not be innocent.

IMG_6998.JPG

My Opinion:

Yes, I’ve read Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (you can read my review of the book HERE – also spoiler-free). I really will keep this short as it’s a hard movie to discuss without spoilers and, for those who haven’t read the book, I hate the thought of anyone spoiling the story for you. It’s a GREAT story and it’s what I loved the most about the book. I’ll say now that, if you’ve read the book, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed with the film. If you haven’t read the book, I think you’ll enjoy the film even more as you’ll be getting to watch the story unfold without any knowledge of what’s going to happen next. You’ll be getting to experience the same feeling I had reading the book, which I read very quickly as I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen next.

IMG_6999.JPG

I had my doubts about Ben Affleck being in this as he wasn’t at all what I pictured and seemed a bit too old. Well, you know what? He’s great in this! I was happier with Rosamund Pike being cast as she did fit my picture of the character. She’s absolutely amazing as Amy! I’m very happy with all the performances but especially Affleck, Pike, and Kim Dickens who does a fantastic job playing the main detective. Carrie Coon is also good as Affleck’s twin sister but her character felt a little less explored than in the book where she was one of my favorite characters.

IMG_7002.JPG

As far as movie adaptations of books go, I’m happy to say they’ve done an excellent job with this one. As always, things had to be left out to keep the running time down but I don’t think it was anything that hurt the story in any way. You of course aren’t going to get quite as much character development as you will in a book but they came very close to achieving as much as possible, especially with the main and most important characters. I’d have liked to see more of Rosamund Pike as I didn’t feel they captured her character as well as in the book (through no fault of Pike’s, though – again, this will just be down to time restraints).

IMG_7005.JPG

Summary:

This movie is very good. I don’t think many people will find it better than Fincher’s Fight Club or Seven but I think it comes fairly close in some ways. I know some people have been a little disappointed with his more recent efforts but I can’t see many people coming out of Gone Girl and saying they didn’t at least enjoy the story and the performances. In a way, I’m jealous of those who get to watch this without having read the book as I never enjoy a film as much if I’ve read the book (especially this sort of genre) as it loses its impact when you know the outcome. I’m very happy with the adaptation, though. Seriously – I have no complaints there and think they’ve done a pretty damn good job achieving all they did in 149 minutes as it’s a very complex story and set of characters. Well done to all involved! I definitely recommend this one and, if you’ve not read the book, I’d almost say to watch the movie first and then read the book to further flesh out the characters. This is probably the first time I’d EVER say to do things in that order! I just think you’ll have a great time with this movie if you go into it knowing as little as possible.

My Rating: 8/10

IMG_7004.JPG

42 thoughts on “Gone Girl (2014) Review

  1. WHOA you really liked this! Excellent review lady. It would be nice to see a return to form for Fincher, so crossing my fingers!

    The one thing I had faith in for this film from the off was Affleck as Nick, so I am looking forward to seeing how he does.

    We get it next week (hopefully).

    • Next week?? That sucks. I hate how films can’t just open at the same time everywhere. I’m still waiting to see Snowpiercer, dammit!! 😉

      Yes – I did think this was a great adaptation. I THINK you’ll like it okay. Am really looking forward to seeing what you think as I think you especially hate it when they don’t get book adaptations right. Can’t say any changes here really bothered me too much. I think you’ll be especially impressed with Affleck, then, if you were already happy about him being cast. He’s very good. They both are! 🙂

      • Yeah jeesh, sometimes they are just waaaaay too slow out here. Ridiculous. I seriously hope you get Snowpiercer sometime soon, it was awesome! One of my favourites for the year.

        I know, I am terrible like that haha. I don’t mind if some things get changed a little or left out, but you need to get specific about its relevancy. Also, I am so finicky about the underlying things that get left out and stuff. Well, hopefully after next weekend you will know what I think, I am really hoping for something good. The reviews coming back so far have been really positive! Ah, hope he rocks it!

      • I can’t believe Eric is going to see this before you will! That sucks. lol. I really need to know your opinion on it. ASAP! 😉 I know you’ll be looking more closely at what’s been left out. 🙂

  2. wow. cant wait to see this especially because of this stunning review.

    Think I’ll take your advice and read the book afterwards.

    I just finished reading Hunger Games and Catching Fire and upon rewatching the movies, I’m glad I didn’t read them earlier because I think the movies take so much from the story

  3. Haven’t read the book, but do want to see this movie. As a person who typically likes to read the book first, do you think it’s better to read then watch? Or can I skip the reading and just go to the movie and it will still be good?

    P.S. loving your choice of theme! This theme has a special place in my heart.

    • Hmm. It’s funny – I HATE reading the book after seeing the movie and rarely ever do it that way. But I think, with this one, the movie will definitely lose its impact if you already know the story, so… Hard to say. It’s a very good book. I guess it depends if books or movies are more precious to you (it’s movies for me). I don’t think it would hurt to do movie first with this one & book after to get a more in depth look at the characters. 🙂
      And…. Thanks! I had the same old crappy theme for ages and it was no longer working right so I grabbed this temporarily but like it. Is it yours?? It’s funny – I do at least 90% of WordPress on my phone so hardly see anyone’s themes anyway! They all look the same in “mobile view”. 🙂

    • It is! 🙂 I’ll be honest, though – I never know if you’ll like a movie or not so really have no clue what you’ll think of this one. Am looking forward to you seeing it! I’m going to figure out your taste in movies one of these days, dammit. 😉

      • I liked it ALTHOUGH they probably could have cut about 40 minutes out of it. I have to admit I was surprised how gruesome that one scene was considering how mainstream this is….. : )

        Plus:

        #TwoDongsTooMany

      • I figured that would be your favorite scene!! 🙂 Nooo – I’m glad they didn’t cut anything out. It’s already missing a bit too much from the book (although they did a good job adapting it)

        I totally missed those dongs. I know which scenes but you only got a tiny glimpse! #unfair

    • Thanks! I do try my best to stay spoiler free, especially with stuff like this. I hope you like it! 🙂 Hey – I don’t know if you got my messages on Twitter but your imdb review is on Tuesday. Sorry for the huge delay! I think it got lost in the cut & paste shuffle when I was planning the schedule for them all. Perfect for my semi horror/scary movie month now! 🙂

  4. I can live with an 8…;). Fincher near the top of his game is better than…I’d say…85% of what’s released into theatres, which is still astounding. It might not be his best, but it’s another triumph, without question. Excellent review :).

    • Thank you! I agree – he’s done some good shit! People have been a bit harsh on his films lately & I’m not sure why (I’ve not seen his version of Dragon Tattoo…). This isn’t his very best but it’s very very good. 🙂

  5. I am finding it so hard to separate my experience of the film from the book but I thought Pike and Affleck were brilliant.

  6. Pingback: HONEYMOON (2014) FOUR TOP HATS | Isaacs Picture Conclusions

  7. Speaking as someone who hasn’t read the books, the experience of the movie was phenomenal. I couldn’t predict what was going to happen next throughout this entire thing — which is a considerable accomplishment when your running time is 2 and a half hours and you have this much information to deal with. Definitely will be going to the book after this and reading more about it. I think you put it perfectly: read the book after to flesh the characters out more. This is something I’ll enjoy doing, esp if Amy is developed more. Rosamund Pike was positively crazy in this movie!

    • Glad you liked this one so much, Tom! I’m almost jealous you got to experience the movie in this way. How exciting. 🙂 I hope you enjoy the book as well! I’m sure you will. I can guarantee that Pike’s character is even more complex in the book. 🙂

      • my friend just agreed to let me borrow it, so I’m gonna get started on it ASAP. (Which for me, means probably next spring.) Goddamn it Tom, stop procrastinating.

  8. Repeating at least one of the comments above I haven’t read the book so didn’t know how the film was going to turn out. This is my favourite film of the year and it’s great to see it has crushed the box office in the UK. I think the biggest surprise was the ending … not the usual Hollywood tidying everything up. If you were anything like me I was biting the back of my hand to stop myself from writing about all the great things that happen in the second half of the film.

    • Lol – I know what you mean – it was SO hard to write about this one and remain totally spoiler free. I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂 I do think it must have been even more exciting than for those of us who had read the book first. You might want to read the book now if you liked it that much – you get a lot more character development (especially when it comes to Pike’s character). 🙂

  9. I took your advice before I even read this! I saw the movie without reading the book. Now because of that I want to read the book! I really, really liked this one, and I’m glad to see you did, too! Is it outrageous to want Rosamund Pike to win an Oscar for this? Because I really want that. Lol.

  10. Pingback: My Oscars Picks For The 87th Annual Academy Awards | Cinema Parrot Disco

  11. Pingback: My Top Ten Crazy Ladies In Movies | Cinema Parrot Disco

  12. Pingback: Watched, Read, Reviewed: May 2020 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  13. Pingback: Ten Horror Movie Mini-Reviews | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a comment