IMDB Top 250 Update – Guest Reviews Still Needed – Are You Still In?

20140614-044425 pm-60265540.jpg

Hello everyone! Thanks again for all the wonderful guest reviews you’ve sent me for my IMDB Top 250 Challenge. Several people have asked me to remind them which movies they chose. I’ve been meaning for some time now to go through all the comments & get a proper list together of who chose what as it was hard to keep track & I may have missed some replies. (I had to make a spreadsheet, people! I felt like I was at work). 😉 First of all: DID SOMEONE CHOOSE SCARFACE?!

20140614-044850 pm-60530116.jpg
(That’s me after working on the spreadsheet) 😉

I took Scarface off the list but can’t find a comment from anyone choosing it. This is what I currently show as having not yet been chosen:

– Life Is Beautiful 1997
– Mystic River 2003
– Goodfellas 1990
– Vertigo 1958
– The Graduate 1967
– Beauty And The Beast 1991
– Taxi Driver 1976
– Into the Wild 2007
– American Beauty 1999

Now, I’ve put together this list of reviews I’m waiting for & who chose them. Don’t worry – I’m not chasing any of you for these! I myself have to do about 100 reviews from the 250 – that’ll take me AGES. Ugh! I just wanted a list in one place so I can keep my head straight on this plus I know a lot of you weren’t sure which ones you chose. Can I just ask each of you to confirm in the comments if you definitely still want to review these?

I’ve never heard again from a few of the below volunteers. I know I talk to a lot of you quite often & know the reviews are coming. But if anyone has changed their mind on doing any of these reviews, please let me know as I’ve had several new people express interest in joining in. I promise it’s okay if you’ve changed your mind! I’ll give it a few weeks (until July 6th) and if I’ve not received a reply on some of the movies below, I’ll add them back onto the list for other bloggers to be able to review. (Don’t worry if we’ve been in contact since you chose these – I know most of you are still planning on doing these. ZOEDo not freak out! I know yours are coming! Lol). 😉

Here’s the list (I’ve tried to link to all your blogs so you hopefully get a WordPress notification):

Niall:
The Bourne Ultimatum

Terry Malloy’s Pigeon Coop:
The Seventh Seal

Melissa:
Scarface

Abbi:
34 American History X 1998
234 Rain Man 1988

Beer Movie:
The Avengers 2012
The Truman Show 1998

Brian:
98 The Sting 1973
101 Die Hard 1988

Cameron:
177 Black Swan 2010

Cara:
67 To Kill a Mockingbird 1962

Eric:
Léon
Lock Stock And Two Smoking Barrels

Flashback/Backslide:
33 Memento 2000
72 The Third Man 1949
78 Chinatown 1974
121 The Maltese Falcon 1941

Confessions From A Geek Mind:
37 Dr. Strangelove 1964
75 Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind 2004

John Link Movies:
9 The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King 2003
13 The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring 2001
21 The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers 2002

John:
8 Schindler’s List 1993
83 Braveheart 1995
198 A Beautiful Mind 2001

Karen:
157 Good Will Hunting 1997

Kieron:
135 Cool Hand Luke 1967

Kim:
79 The Lion King 1994
122 De Hobbit: Een onverwachte reis 2012 (The Hobbit)

Rob:
70 Reservoir Dogs 1992
138 Strangers on a Train 1951

Elemental Reviews:
49 The Pianist 2002
64 Intouchables 2011

Popcorn Scorn:
233 The Wrestler 2008

Satua:
73 Requiem for a Dream 2000
171 Network 1976

Scott:
36 Terminator 2: Judgment Day 1991

Thomas J Ford:
134 The Deer Hunter 1978

Tom:
116 The Elephant Man 1980
158 Gone with the Wind 1939

Verbal Spew:
92 2001: A Space Odyssey 1968

Zoe:
235 Shutter Island 2010

Girls Do Film:
All About Eve

Kerry:
Groundhog Day

20140614-053956 pm-63596643.jpg

FYI: There’s currently about a 2 month wait from when you send me your review to when it’ll post – I’ve received enough reviews already to have them scheduled up to August right now. If you send me more than one at once, I’ll space them out a bit.

SPOILERS: Also, I’m not telling you what to write (I’m a laid back & easygoing person!) 😉 but I’m just letting you all know I’ll have to include a Spoiler Warning on any reviews I think contain a little too much information. You can discuss the movies as much as you like in the reviews – I just like to put a big warning before a major spoiler as I know some people haven’t seen these films but want to read the reviews. I apologize for not always remembering to put that warning on some of the guest reviews. I’ve tried to make the big spoiler parts of reviews “invisible” but it doesn’t seem to work with my theme – Sorry :-/

Hope that didn’t sound bossy! Thanks again to all you wonderful volunteers! I may have to give up some of my 100 at some point if I actually want all 250 movies reviewed… 🙂

100 thoughts on “IMDB Top 250 Update – Guest Reviews Still Needed – Are You Still In?

  1. I’ll be getting them to you since I just got back from vacation. I can get Lion King to you this coming week if you’d like 🙂 As for The Hobbit, since I’m in between moving houses, my boyfriend misplaced it and as we get those up, it should reappear probably by July. Hope thats okay for you.

    • That’s great, Kim! Seriously, I don’t actually have any sort of deadline so you really can send them anytime. I just had some new people wanting to join so wanted to double check who was still in for sure. Plus a lot of people forgot they signed up. Lol : )

  2. 😀 I’m actually going to watch one of my last remaining two tonight!

    Plus two my exams are almost over. Then I am back in full swing!

    • Lol. Anytime is fine, Zoe. ; ) You know I’m really just chasing those I’d not heard from at all plus it’s also easier to now have a proper list on here for me to look at. And… Lots of people actually forgot what movies they signed up for and it was difficult always having to dig through their comments. ; )

      • 😀 It is nice hey! At least you will then know what’s outstanding. Phew that must have taken time. I do not envy you!

  3. I’m in as well, need to rewatch the Pianist though & the review for The Intouchables is already done. 🙂 This is such an amazing project!

    • That’s okay – lol – Silence of the Lambs got snatched up immediately after your reply. ; ) Looking forward to reading Black Swan! (Honestly – there’s no rush on doing it – just wanted to check in with people). Btw – your double review is scheduled for Thursday next week (26th) at 11am. : )

  4. YES, CUP. I am IN. Just catching up on life. Married last Saturday. Closing on the house soon. Celebrating my first Father’s Day with the little terrorist I call my daughter. And looking into reconstructing the hand/wrist I mangled back in April. But yes, I’m still in.

      • I also have explosive diarrhea. Forgot to mention that. Every time I hit the “V” key, I shit my pants. That’s four times in this very short reply already. Five. Six.

    • Excuses excuses! ; ) (Don’t worry, dude – you know we’ve talked & I really just wanted to check in with those I’ve not heard from since February). ; ) Seriously – NO rush at all! You know I’ve still not done that Muppets review I said I’d be doing (and still will. eventually). Just hard to find any time at the moment (especially to look at other blogs – love that Elsa!). : ) Besides, when you do it I’ll kind of be forced to do one I kept for myself (the first one) that same week.

    • That’s okay – no problem at all! I totally understand – I’ve signed up for some guest things and am now a little stressed about finishing them. :-/ I’ve left you on the list for Good Will Hunting – I’m sure the others will be grabbed soon. Thanks for joining in! : )

    • Hi. : ) I was just wondering if you’d like to review Good Will Hunting now as part of a tribute to Robin Williams? I’ll probably post some kind of tribute to him soon so wondered if you’d like your review for that posted the same week? : )

    • That’s okay, Alex! I know how you feel – I’ve signed up for too much guest stuff. :-/ Someone has already grabbed All About Eve! Thanks again for the great 12 Angry Men review. : )

    • No – you’re not too late! All About Eve is all yours. : ) Send it anytime – I don’t really have a deadline. My email address is tableninemutant at hotmail dot com – Thanks for joining in! : )

      • Just waiting for LoveFilm to send me this and then I’ll write the review – fingers crossed by the middle of July, I see you have plenty scheduled to last until then 😉

  5. Yes, ma’am I’m still in!!! I will try to get you HTTYD ASAP. To Kill a Mockingbird might take a little while longer…Lol. But it WILL happen. 🙂

  6. Still in. I will send Platoon by the end of the week.
    I’ve reviewed Silence of the Lambs, Forrest Gump, and Groundhog Day, you’re more than welcome to use them.

    • No problem – anytime is fine! : ) Thank you so much for joining in. Someone actually just sent me Silence of the Lambs. Thanks for the offer on the others! I’ll check with the people who said they’d like to join in & see if they want those first if that’s okay? I’ll leave them on the list for a little longer and see if they want to do them otherwise I’ll come back to you on them! : )

  7. Hi!

    I’m not actually officially involved in this project BUT I do have reviews for All About Eve and It’s A Wonderful Life on my blog. You are welcome to use them if its helps (with credit to me of course). 🙂

  8. Haha!! Oh crap, I completely completely forgot I had signed up also for The Elephant Man! (This makes more sense why it’s been in my Netflix queue for the last six or so months! 😉 ). I’ll try to get to that one as soon as possible, but I’d really like to do Gone with the Wind first. But it might be a little bit before I get around to that as well as I’m pretty backed up myself and summer has been really sapping my energy as of late! lol

    I’m so full of excuses. . . . .

    • Lol! Silly boy. ; ) that’s why I finally had to do a spreadsheet – I had no clue who had signed up for what! I hadn’t kept track. : ) Honestly – ANY time you can do them is fine. There’s seriously no rush. Just wanted to get a list together & check in with people. Have you not yet seen The Elephant Man at all? It’s a wonderful film. : )

  9. Yo. I am still definitely keen to review The Avengers. I am taking off for three weeks of holidays to England-Ireland-Scotland in a little bit though, so it will be a while coming. Sounds like you have a bunch to line up in any case though. Has someone called dibs on The Truman Show yet? I will take that on if not.

    P.s. you linked to some other beer and movie blog above. I am at beermovie.net.

    • That’s great! Oh, sorry – I was looking them all up so quickly & guess I grabbed the wrong link! That person may be confused now. ; ) Yeah – there’s no rush – was just making sure people were still in. : ) I can mark you down for The Truman Show as well – I’d kept that for myself but had to give some up as kept too many!! Have a nice holiday. I’m sure the weather will suck as usual in England but Scotland & Ireland are lovely… Lol

      • Sweet, all good. Will get on the reviews after my trip. Looking forward to escaping the winter (even if it is only an Australian winter) for some nicer temperatures.

    • By the way – I’d not have actually taken your movie from you – I’d have put a message on your blog if I’d not heard from you. I sound mean in my post! Lol! I should re-word it. ; )

  10. I’m still in! Sorry it’s taking so long. I’ve had a hard time tracking some of the films down. Apparently having fun is still hard even with a library card.

    • Hi. : ) Just checking – with the Sin City sequel coming out, I’d like to post the Sin City IMDB review now. Would you still like to do this one? Otherwise I could as I’ve seen it. But I’d rather not as I HATE it. Lol! : )

      • Yes! I can have it to you tomorrow morning? If not I can finish it tonight after work. I also plan to get Chinatown and Memento to you in the next week or so.

      • Lol. Wow! That IS quick! ; ) I only post them Tuesdays & Thursdays anyway so it doesn’t need to be in 12 hours. ; ) I could post it Tuesday? Just thought it would be the perfect time with the sequel out next week. : ) you can email it to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com. In Word or whatever is fine. And you can include pics as attachments if you want some included in the review. : )

      • Haha phew that will be easier. For some reason I thought the movie was coming out this week (I think it was guilt-induced panic for taking so long). I just rewatched it this week to email it to you. I transitioned recently to Tuesday and Thursday posting as well so I had planned to get the review to you by Tuesday. I’ll email you in the next day or two and hopefully at least one of the other reviews in the middle of next week.

      • No problem! Didn’t mean to panic you & don’t normally chase people. Just suddenly realized the sequel was out soon & that it would make sense to post it now. : ) No rush on the others – in September I’ll be slowing it down & only posting one imdb review a week. : )

  11. I cant believe no one has taken some of these. Is the list really updated?

    I’ll take Goodfella’s, Dial M for Murder, Forrest Gump, Vertigo and Taxi Driver if you want (at least) (unless you want to spread the wealth around a bit) 🙂

    Still wanna go with the same schedule for me? if you have open spots that you want me to fill up, just let me know

    • Still the same schedule for now. : ) Think Sept 11th is your next one? Do you know which one you’d like to do next? I can get the logo ready. A few of those have been taken so I need to update the list. I’ll leave the rest on there a LITTLE longer just in case anyone new comes along who’d like to join in. : ) But I’ll let you know if they never get grabbed!

      As of October, I’m going to slow down & only post one IMDB review a week. Not sure yet which day but we can still go with the 2nd week of the month. : ) I might skip October completely as well because I may have something else planned for that month. Will let you know…

    • Yes! That would be great. 🙂 I get out of having to do that one since, technically, I saw it since we watched it at school. Can’t say I remember it, though. 😉 Your Gran Torino will post fairly soon – I’ll let you know the date!

      • Hi! That’s okay. I should have said there’s quite a backlog, actually, as I have guest reviews scheduled through the end of February. However, I did keep December 30th free as I wasn’t sure if anyone would want theirs posted that week (I post them Tuesdays). Would you want it posted then? You can send it to me in Word if you’re able to, indicating where you’d want pictures placed if you want to include any. You can e-mail it to tableninemutant at hotmail dot com 🙂

  12. Wow. This is brillilant! So, I’ve just stumbled upon your lovely blog, and I’m already loving what I’m seeing and reading. I’ve also spent a lot of time on it thus far, and envision even more time spent persuing the archives and new posts. I noticed in this post, from back in early Summer, that you did not have a review for “American Beauty”, which strangely enough, I wrote on Sept. 30, but I feel it could fit nicely in thiss challenge of yours. If it’s still available, I’d love to share it, assuming, of course, that it’s fine this post is not entirely “recent”.

    • Would love to have another person join this project! There are a couple I posted that had been previously posted on other blogs so that’s fine as long as I can post it in full here as well (and of course link back to your blog in the introduction I always do)? I try to keep this old post up to date as I always link back to it but I just need to double check with someone on American Beauty as they’d suggested doing it but then I think decided against it. I’ll get back to you and let you know! 🙂

  13. Pingback: Saving Private Ryan (1998) IMDB Top 250 Guest Review |

  14. Pingback: Pulp Fiction (1994) IMDB Top 250 Guest Review |

Leave a comment