Dream House

20130309-041645 AM.jpg
Meh.

Okay – I’ll say a little more than that but there’s not much else to say.

I’m not a big fan of current horror movies, especially ones that are excessive on the gore (Saw type films). The Dream House type of “horror” has always been more my type of thing. Once upon a time (when I had far too MUCH time on my hands), I loved made-for-TV “horrors”, thrillers, and suspenseful dramas (usually starring the likes of Melissa Gilbert & Nancy McKeon – Oh yeah! Showing my age again!). Years ago. When I had time to waste on stuff like that. Now I want to spend time on movies a BIT better than those. But Dream House isn’t really better than any of those Lifetime types of TV movies. It felt just like one of those, only with much bigger stars.

Dream House stars Daniel Craig, Rachel Weisz & Naomi Watts. (See what I mean?! Big stars!). I guess even big stars have to pay the bills, eh? I won’t go into the details of the plot because it really doesn’t matter. You’ve seen it before. Okay – a family moves into a new house with a secret & disturbing history. See? Told you you’ve seen it before! 😉

If you’re bored and have nothing better to do and it’s your type of thing – go for it! It’s short. Or you can just look at the above movie poster. It’s quite a good poster. It’s better than the movie.

To sum up…

Meh.

My Rating: 5/10

20130309-041721 AM.jpg

9 thoughts on “Dream House

  1. This never happens to me, but do you know that I cannot for the life of me remember if I saw this film or not? Wow. That certainly says something about the caliber of the movie…

    Agree about current horror movies. Even the well-received Sinister had me yawning…

    • Yeah- I really didn’t get the Sinister hype. It started out fairly promising then just turned, as you said, YAWN.

      I hate movies that I can’t remember at all a couple years or so after seeing them. The “meh” movies. Worse than ones that are really BAD. At least you remember the really bad ones! Yes, I can tell that Dream House is one I won’t remember in a couple years (or less). 😉

  2. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – March 2022 – Rachel Weisz

Leave a comment