My Top Ten Ryan Gosling Movies

Happy Birthday to Ryan Gosling, who turns 35 today! πŸ™‚

Sorry, Ryan Gosling – I’ve totally gone off you. Wait… That sounded rude. It was a bit like “Happy Birthday! I hate you.” πŸ˜‰

No, I don’t hate Ryan Gosling – I was a big fan of his for a little while back in his Drive days (waaaay back in 2011). I even started a little Ryan Gosling Project where I was going to attempt to watch every film he’s been in. Well, I didn’t get very far with that. I got bored and, after the horrible reviews for Only God Forgives (which I still haven’t seen), I kind of abandoned the project before I’d even started it.

I do think Gosling has displayed some pretty good acting skills in some of the lesser known films below, such as Half Nelson, so it’s a shame that not many people will have seen him in things beyond The Notebook & Drive. I’d really like to see him in a good movie again soon because, when a role is right for him, I think he does a good job & has a charisma about him that not all actors have.

So here are My Top Ten Ryan Gosling Movies (ranked by movie, not performance) counting down to my favorite:

10. Murder By Numbers

9. The Ides Of March

8. Crazy, Stupid, Love.

7. The Notebook

6. All Good Things

5. Half Nelson

4. The Place Beyond The Pines

3. Blue Valentine

2. Drive

1. Lars And The Real Girl

**FYI – I don’t even remember Murder By Numbers so maybe that would rank higher on a re-watch. As for The Notebook, it’s an extremely flawed film that makes me want to gag half the time. But, screw it – kissing in the rain is sexy.

The Films I’ve Not Seen (there aren’t a lot – maybe I should attempt my Ryan Gosling Project again):

Frankenstein And Me
The Unbelievables
Remember The Titans
The Believer
The Slaughter Rule
The United States Of Leland
Stay
Fracture
Gangster Squad
Only God Forgives

63 thoughts on “My Top Ten Ryan Gosling Movies

  1. Great list! I was never CRAZY about Ryan Gosling like everyone else seemed to be but then again, I think that Kevin Costner is just the hunkiest so maybe my opinion is a little unpopular. Haha! I really liked the Ides of March (and I generally don’t like political movies either) and you NEED to watch Fracture. I loved that one.

  2. Nice list! He’s really good in The Believer, you should check that out. I think my favorite performance of his would be Half Nelson, then Blue Valentine, then Drive. I’m not a huge Gosling fangirl, but the guy can act, and I usually

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ The Believer does sound interesting & seems to have pretty good reviews. It’s weird that it’s not more well known. Agreed – I’m not a fangirl either (although I suppose I was for a little while) but he’s had some great performances. πŸ™‚

  3. Wasn’t a fan and then………….BANG!!……………”Drive” knocked me out of my seat! The next Brando, the next De Niro……….now I don’t want to put him on a pedestal here, but he is really good in this film! Outstanding in fact!
    Loved him in “The Place Beyond the Pines” (a brutally underrated film – even Brad Cooper stands up here) and……..dare I say it, “Only God Forgives”! A shocking film (and not in a good way), but fabulous to look at and he was at his brooding best!
    You have to see “Fracture”……Outstanding performance by Gosling and Hopkins!

    • Glad to hear from a fan! πŸ™‚ I’d LIKE to get on the Gosling bandwagon again – he just really needs to be in another good film soon. I know I’ll watch Only God Forgives at some point to see if it’s as bad as people say. I saw part of Fracture on a plane – I really need to watch the whole thing. I agree that The Place Beyond The Pines is underrated. πŸ™‚

  4. I don’t remember him in it, but Remember the Titans should definitely be on this list. Can’t say I’ve seen many of these, but I’m thrilled to see Lars at the top of the class!

  5. Good #1 pick, I didn’t actually like that movie very much but his performance was incredible.

    Couple other notes: 1) i love how awkward his hair is in both Murder by Numbers and in Blue Valentine. 2) Crazy Stupid Love was a suprrisiglngy good little rib-tickler. πŸ˜‰ and 3) elves.

    • Thanks, Tom! Yeah, he was great in Lars but I also really liked the movie a lot. πŸ™‚ Also: 1) he does have some crazy-ass hair issues sometimes! 2) It was a fun little film & he looked quite good shirtless πŸ˜‰ and 3) I prefer Gnomes. Gnomes rule! πŸ™‚

      • 1) Crazy-ass hair issues like myself. I need a haircut because the other week I was mistaken for a woman on a plane

        2) I love Gosling going shirtless

        3) Gnomes are the worst. They were the things that gave me the most nightmares when I read Goosebumps back in the day. And they were legit terrifying in the Goosebumps movie. 😦

      • 1) Awww… I’m sure you’d make a cute woman! πŸ™‚ Hmm… Is that a compliment? I meant it as one! Lol
        2) Me too. And I love Michael Fassbender going pantsless.
        3) Goosebumps! Haha! You’re so damn young! #IWasTooOldForGoosebumps But, seriously – Gnomes rule. I want about a hundred of them in my garden.

      • Hahaha ah good. This exchange has become as awesomely ridiculous as I’d hoped! πŸ™‚ I think I’d make an attractive . . . transgender. Erm. Yes. Yes I would.

        And Mutey, I’m about to turn 29 this December. Youth is not on my side. I mean, I guess it’s still a ’20’ number but fuck. Fuck this. Lol!

  6. I’m a huge fan of Gosling. I think he’s one of the best around just now. He’s outstanding in Half Nelson and Lars & the Real Girl and his underplayed subtlety in Drive is a far better performance than he’s given credit for. I was also one of the very few who liked Only God Forgives. Great post!

    • Thanks, Mark! πŸ™‚ For some reason, I wasn’t expecting there to be many Gosling fans. Especially male fans for some reason. I’d like to get back into being a fan – I think he’s just overdue a good movie again. Now I’m more curious about Only God Forgives as I’ve only heard bad things until now! I’ll check it out at some point. πŸ™‚

      • I was a fan since I seen him as a young Neo-Nazi in The Believer. He’s an outstanding performer that doesn’t always get the credit he deserves. As for Only God Forgives, it’s understandable why many didn’t like. If you view it in a metaphorical say and judge it by it’s symbolism then it works just fine. It took me a few times, though.

      • That’s a couple of times that The Believer has been mentioned now. I’d have to say that one sounds the most intriguing of those I’ve not seen – I wonder why it isn’t more well known as it sounds pretty good. Oh, man – sounds like I’d have to actually pay attention to Only God Forgives instead of playing around on my phone through the whole thing?? πŸ˜‰ I’ll try! Someday. I did get around to Things To Do In Denver When You’re Dead eventually! πŸ˜‰

  7. Great list. Gosling is an interesting performer with some weird choices. I agree with Half Nelson. More folks need to check it for sure. I loved Lars, Drive, and Pines too. Another amazing early performance is his skinhead / Jewish character in the indie gem The Believer. I think you’ll love it.

    • Thanks! Happy to hear from other fans of Lars & The Real Girl! I thought it was a great film. πŸ™‚ I’d love to know what you think of Drive – that would top most people’s lists.

  8. U should see The Believer (2001), he was amazing in it and showed that he was in for a great future in movies. He was excellent in Ides of March, Drive, Lars and The Place Behind the Pines

  9. I haven’t seen too much with him in – Drive (excellent), CSL (very good) and Notebook (good). He is definitely charming and able, but I know quite a few people who start pulling out their hair at the mere mention of “Only God Forgives”.

    I love him as an internet meme though – it is hilarious how obsessed some of the girls are with him!

  10. Great list lady. I LOVED him in Drive, and I am a huge fan of him in Crazy, Stupid, Love as well as The Place Beyond The Pines.

    Alos, while the movie was flawed, he was excellent across Hopkins in Fracture!

    • Yeah – I really need to fully watch Fracture! Saw part of it on a plane. It seems like a lot of people thought he was great in The Believer, too, so I’d like to check that out. πŸ™‚

  11. I looooooove Lars and the Real Girl so much! I don’t think it’s a movie for everyone, but I personally love it πŸ™‚ I think I reviewed it ages ago. Its the best role he’s ever played in my opinion and one of those quite rare occasions where the film really would not have worked without him. Even my boyfriend thought it was a sweet, lovely film and loved Lars.

    Ahhh I want to watch it now!!!

    GREAT list by the way and can I say he looks really fit in The Place Beyond the Pines picture, might have to watch that one next, ha πŸ™‚

    • Yay! Yet another fan of Lars & the Real Girl! I thought people would think I was nuts for putting that at number one but a lot of people seemed to agree. πŸ™‚ I agree Gosling was great in it – it’s hard to imagine someone else in that role. Ha! Well… He has some dodgy tattoos in The Place Beyond The Pines but the look worked for him. It’s a pretty good movie, too – worth a watch! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

