Thor: Ragnarok (2017) Review

***SPOILER-FREE REVIEW (as far as I’m aware!!)***

Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

Directed by Taika Waititi

Based on Thor by Stan Lee, Larry Lieber & Jack Kirby

Starring: Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston, Cate Blanchett, Idris Elba, Jeff Goldblum, Tessa Thompson, Karl Urban, Mark Ruffalo, Anthony Hopkins

Music by Mark Mothersbaugh

Plot Synopsis: (via IMDB)
Imprisoned, the mighty Thor finds himself in a lethal gladiatorial contest against the Hulk, his former ally. Thor must fight for survival and race against time to prevent the all-powerful Hela from destroying his home and the Asgardian civilization.

My Opinion:

As I always say when I start these superhero movie reviews, I’m getting very superheroed-out. However, I do have fun with the Marvel ones even though I wouldn’t call myself a massive fan. But then the Guardians Of The Galaxy films came along and it turns out that the “funny superhero movie” thing is MUCH more my type of thing! I love GOTG. And as for the Avengers, Thor is probably my favorite character because, um. I dunno? I’m trying to think of something mature to say… Okay, I like Thor the most because Chris Hemsworth is visually appealing. Okay?!

Of the standalone movies, the first Iron Man may be my favorite and I think the first Thor film is quite weak. But then I liked Thor: The Dark World a hell of a lot more than the first film and, with the Avengers films, we were able to see Thor develop much more of a personality. The “Thor with a sense of humor” thing that started to appear really worked for the character and I’m very happy that they’ve finally gone fully in that direction with this film. I’m surprised it’s getting such good reviews overall, though, as I can’t see “funny Thor” working for everyone? I hated Batman V Superman with a passion (yeah, I know that’s DC) and that whole “dark, brooding, depressing” superhero bullshit annoys me. But some people love that. Those who love dark & brooding are unlikely to love this new version of Thor. I personally love this new version of Thor (and all versions of Thor, including shirtless Thor) but my only negative comment is that this film does feel out of place in amongst all the other Marvel Avengers movies. It doesn’t really “fit”. I don’t know how some fans will feel about that.

I lied: I have one more negative comment so I’ll get that out of the way now. The story in this movie isn’t anything special. It’s your typical Marvel plot. But I honestly never give much of a shit about any of the Marvel plots as they all seem the same to me anyway & I see these all as “popcorn” movies that I don’t want to have to think about. I don’t mean to sound dismissive of these films as I know they have so many fans – I just see them in a different sort of way than a full-on fanboy or fangirl would see them. I don’t think I can say that this movie really added anything important to the overall Avengers stories. It was just a lot of fun to watch, which is the main thing that a superhero movie should be (in my opinion).


Here are the positives: there are loads of genuinely funny moments, Thor and Hulk are hilarious together, and I thought all the new characters were very good (especially Tessa Thompson’s super cool Valkyrie & Cate Blanchett’s super evil Hela). Oh, and Jeff Goldblum, of course. I didn’t realize he had such a big following! People seem to love him & he’s very funny in this. I also really liked Karl Urban (Oh yeah – I like Dredd a lot & that’s dark & depressing! Hmm) and I liked seeing Idris Elba get to do more than I can remember him getting to do in the other Thor films (I could do with re-watching them but doubt I’ll ever bother). And I think everyone knows that director Taika Waititi plays a character named Korg. He’s pretty damn hilarious and was clearly a favorite with the audience in my cinema. Oh, and it was one of those weird times when some people in my cinema clapped & cheered at the end of the movie. I always find that strange (it’s not a play!) but it gives you an idea of how some feel about Thor: Ragnarok – I saw a lot of people who clearly had a great time watching this.

I liked this movie a lot but, for some reason I can’t put my finger on, I didn’t love it. It seems like all the elements are there for me to love it. I think Taika Waititi is very funny, I far prefer fun & lighthearted superhero movies like this, and I loooooove Chris Hemsworth. The new characters are great, I laughed quite a bit, and even though I haven’t listened to Led Zeppelin in years after having a big phase of worshipping them in my teens I never stopped loving Immigrant Song (because it kicks ass) and its use, though predictable, is perfect for this movie. So why don’t I love this movie? I disagree with the hubby quite a bit on movies these days but I have to agree with him saying that this movie feels a bit “throwaway”. It’s fun but, years from now, it may not stand up as well when compared to some of the strongest Marvel films.

Also, I’ll remain spoiler-free but just a warning if you bring kids under 12: this movie is more violent than some and there’s one particular moment that was quite horrifying. My daughter turned to me with a look of horror on her face but I don’t think I was much comfort since I had a similar look of horror. 😉 But you know kids: they bounce back quick. About 15 minutes later she whispered “I love this movie!” while I still had yet to fully recover. The moment is listed in the parents’ guide at IMDb if you really need to know beforehand but it’s a major spoiler. Also, this movie is a lower rating in the UK but is a PG-13 in America. Damn. As we got it here first, I had no warning beforehand so be careful if taking sensitive kids to this. Knowing America, though, it probably only got the higher rating there for some “dirty talk” that will go over kids’ heads anyway. 

My Rating: 7.5/10

Is there a scene after the credits? Duh. Of course. One partway through and one at the very end. Worth staying for if you like to get the full experience.

Stan Lee Cameo: I feel like I should start rating these… I loved this one. Another fun cameo and he was the perfect person for this part. 🙂

43 thoughts on “Thor: Ragnarok (2017) Review

  1. Awesome review and seems to be a cool film. I must admit I’m absolutely not excited about new Marvel movies like it was 8 years ago for various reasons many of which you mentioned already (silly plot that no one cares about is one of them), but they’re still valid as big popcorn movies.

  2. I loved this one! Thought it had a great balance of well everything that Marvel does so well, the soundtrack was brilliant which I actually somehow forgot to mention in my review.

  3. It’s a lot of fun, but I think people are going overboard calling it the best Marvel movie ever and stuff like that. Will be interesting to see how the US audience reacts to it when it finally comes out over there.

    • Agreed – it’s a very fun film but not the best Marvel film ever. Although I’m not sure what is… I seriously have no idea how this will be received in America. Honestly, I may be one of them but I don’t understand those people anymore. 😉 So who the hell knows! I think some will hate it, possibly.

      • It’s getting so much hype ahead of its release that I think the general reaction can only be extreme — it’ll either be a huge success and everyone will love it, or they’ll swing against the critics and hate it. Probably one then the other!

  4. Hi, stranger! I often skip superhero movies, but I won’t be skipping this one by the director of WHAT WE DO IN THE SHADOWS and HUNT FOR THE WILDERPEOPLE, two films we reviewed earlier in life. It sounds like he kept his voice strong.

    • Hi! It certainly has the same sort of sense of humor as those. I should give Wilderpeople another chance sometime… I did love WWDITS! Hope you like Thor – it’s a lot of fun. 🙂

  5. I never realized how perfect the lyrics of Led Zeppelin’s Immigrant Song fit this story…

    “We come from the land of the ice and snow
    From the midnight sun, where the hot springs flow

    The hammer of the gods…”

    KInd of reminded of Queen’s theme from Flash Gordon – obviously a major influence on this film. That’s high praise!

    • Hehe. Yep! It’s the perfect song for it. Just like Iron Man being in Iron Man. 😉 Was always hoping they’d use it! This movie is definitely a bit Flash Gordon as well… Probably why so many seem happy with it. 🙂

  6. I’m okay with any version of Thor too! 😀 Seriously, I was rather disgruntled when he put his shirt back on.

    Anyway haha, I really enjoyed it. Korg is damn hilarious, and the natural flow of humor between Thor and Hulk was great. I’m really not into comedies, but anything Waititi does has the strangest humor and that I love so much.

    I could also do with rewatching, but the Thor movies have never been the most stimulating up until now. HOWEVER, I am definitely okay with looking at Thor all the time 😉

    • Hehe. He did perhaps have his shirt off for even longer than in the previous Thor movies. Funny how the shirt always seems to come off! 😉 Oh yeah – this movie made me like Hulk more as well. They were so great together! And the previous two Thor movies…. Meh. I admit I only really liked them because Chris Hemsworth was in them. Sure I rated them too highly at the time based on his hotness…. 😁❤️

  7. Great review! This one does have a different feel than the other Marvel movies. I think if they had toned down the humor in a few key moments and let the emotional/serious parts resonate a little more, this would end up way higher on my Marvel movie ranking. But it is what it is, and I had a lot of fun in the theater.

  8. Pingback: TAG – Five Flaming Hotties | Cinema Parrot Disco

  9. Guardians of the Galaxy sure had an impact on the tone of this film. It was fun and ejoyable Some of the jokes really were pretty obvious and the speeches a bit lame. But overall a solid popcorn movie. Cate Blanchett was a revelation. Anything she can’t do? And the rock thing whose name I should remember but can’t was hilarious.

  10. Pingback: My Top Ten Movies Of 2017 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  11. Pingback: Watched, Read, Reviewed: January 2018 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  12. Pingback: Black Panther (2018) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  13. Pingback: Avengers: Infinity War (2018) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  14. Pingback: My Marvel Cinematic Universe Movie Ranking | Cinema Parrot Disco

  15. Pingback: Deadpool 2 (2018) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  16. Pingback: Aquaman (2018) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  17. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – December 2021 – Anthony Hopkins

  18. Pingback: Watched, Read, Reviewed: September 2022 | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a comment