My Top Ten Movies Watched At Home In 2014

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2014/12/img_8077.jpg

Hi everyone! Crap – when did it suddenly become almost-2015?! Shouldn’t we be living on Mars by now or something? This isn’t the future I imagined back in 1984. What a disappointment.

Anyway! Where was I? Well, it looks like I have two days left of 2014 so I guess I better post my Top Ten Lists! Looks like I did this well into January last year but I’ll be busy this January with my Studio Ghibli Month starting next Monday. Woohoo! (Oh man, why did I decide to do that to myself?! I’m sooo not prepared!).

I’ll start with the list I actually enjoy the most: These are My Top Ten Movies Watched At Home In 2014. Tomorrow I’ll post My Top Ten Movies Of 2014 (going by UK cinema release date). Then I may do My Top Books Read In 2014 on New Year’s Day – that’s a pathetic list since I didn’t read much this year. I’ll stop rambling – here’s my list counting down from ten to my number one favorite. As always, these are the ones I enjoyed the most although there are others I watched that are probably more “worthy” and I’d give those higher ratings. I’ve included the links to the ones I’ve reviewed. 🙂

10. Spring Breakers

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2014/12/img_8069.jpg

This probably doesn’t deserve to be on the list, but… You know when you like a movie but you have NO idea WHY?? This is one of those movies for me.

9. TRON: Legacy

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2014/12/img_8072.jpg

I know it has its flaws but I don’t care – I had a lot of fun with this one. Plus: Garrett Hedlund! He’s so pretty… Also: DAFT PUNK SCORE!

8. Phantom Of The Paradise

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2014/12/img_8071.jpg

What’s not to like about Brian De Palma’s totally 1970s Faustian rock opera horror film?? Okay… Most of you went “WTF?” in the comments of my review but I do appreciate when a good discussion gets going on an interesting film like this one (thank you, Man In Black! I’ll get to the rest of your comments soon – I’ve just been taking a blog break over Xmas). 😉

7. The Cabinet Of Dr Caligari

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2014/12/img_8074.jpg

I’m surprised by how little I knew of this classic before watching it this year. Not only was the style of the whole film amazing but I thought the story was also ahead of its time. Every film lover should watch this movie.

6. Kiki’s Delivery Service

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2014/12/img_8073.jpg

This is one of several Studio Ghibli films I watched this year but I never got around to reviewing any of them, which is partly why I’m going to review a bunch of them together in January. I like the simplicity of this one. It’s the most “child-friendly” Ghibli I’ve seen so far and it’s one that really grew on me after watching it a couple of times.

5. Bernie

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2014/12/img_8075.jpg

I like doing these lists at the end of the year because I find that some movies really grow on me & end up much higher on the list than I would have expected. Bernie is one of these movies. I’ve always been a fan of Richard Linklater’s style and I’m not sure why I hadn’t checked this one out until this year. I’m also not sure why it seems to have not received as much attention as some of his other films considering that the story is quite fascinating, especially the ongoing story involving Linklater & the real-life Bernie. I’m still amazed by the whole situation…

4. Full Metal Jacket

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2014/12/img_8076.jpg

As I always say, I’m NOT a fan of war movies. However, I’ve worked my way through most of the war movies in the IMDB Top 250 and ended up loving a lot of them (The Bridge On The River Kwai and The Great Escape being my favorites). I didn’t love Full Metal Jacket as much as those and the first half was far better than the second half but I still really liked the film. I may have to stop saying I’m not a fan of war movies…

3. Daft Punk’s Electroma

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2014/12/img_8078.jpg

I like Daft Punk. And sci-fi. And cool robots. And “artsy fartsy”. I loved Electroma. So sue me. (Btw – thank you to the whole five commenters on the review for this! Lol! More than I expected… 😉 I’ll catch up on replying to comments on this blog soon!)

2. The Return Of The Living Dead

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2014/12/img_8079.jpg

I love zombies. And I especially love the 80s. I have no idea why I never saw this one before now but it’s certainly one that’s a new favorite I’ll re-visit every now & then.

1. Nausicaä Of The Valley Of The Wind

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90e/43272996/files/2014/12/img_8083.jpg

Obviously, I’m a fan of Studio Ghibli films as I’m dedicating a whole month to them. But there are maybe four or five Ghibli films I LOVE (so far) while the rest I just “really like” so I still wouldn’t call myself the biggest Ghibli fan compared to other people out there. However, Nausicaä Of The Valley Of The Wind really blew me away. (Ha! “Blew” me away… Blow away? Wind? Get it? Okay, it really wasn’t that funny). This was like some weird sort of mash up of the later, more well known Ghibli stuff and 1981’s Heavy Metal. It’s post-apocalyptic and fairly violent for a Ghibli and very much not for young kids. I LOVED IT. It’s so very “me” and I can’t wait to review it for Studio Ghibli Month.

HONORABLE MENTIONS:

Like I said, the above are the ones I enjoyed the most but I watched a lot of other very good films that really deserve a mention as well:

City Of God
Marnie
Blue Is The Warmest Color
Night Of The Creeps
Rashômon
Howl’s Moving Castle

You can see my full list of movies watched in 2014 HERE. Sad, I know… 🙂

26 thoughts on “My Top Ten Movies Watched At Home In 2014

    • Ha! Would love to see your list. 🙂 I don’t know why people only do lists of the cinema releases – I usually enjoy the stuff I watch at home even more! Although 2014 was a great year for movies that came out. Sorry I’m so behind on reading your blog – I’ve been trying to take a bit of a break through December. You know I’ll go straight to all your Film Fridays! 🙂

      • It’s an excellent idea! I have spent the last 3 days catching up on everyone’s blogs. If you get behind for even a few days it’s tough to get back. Don’t worry about it at all!

  1. Pingback: My Top Ten Movies Of 2014 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  2. Pingback: My Top (Seven) Books Read In 2014 (and mini-reviews!) | Cinema Parrot Disco

  3. “I may have to stop saying I’m not a fan of war movies…” – GOOD!!!!

    I am a huge fan of war movies hahahaha. They are just great 🙂

    Looks like you checked out some good ones this year 🙂

    • Hi Zoe! 🙂 God, I’m sorry I’m sooo behind on replying to your comments & reading the blogs. I decided to take a break for a few weeks over Xmas & I’m having a hell of a time trying to catch up now! Yeah, I sure seem to like a lot of war movies now considering that I hate war movies. Lol 😉

  4. This IS a great idea! I have only seen Spring Breakers from this list, maybe I should check some of those others too. Though, I hated Spring Breakers. 😀

    • Thanks! 🙂 lol – Well, Spring Breakers IS the most out of place on this list… 😉 I honestly don’t know why I like it! But I do recommend all the rest of the movies for sure. 🙂

  5. Agree with Abbi, what a good idea because these are the random movies we all end up watching, a mixture of genres and past ones we haven’t seen. So weird but I also feel that way about Spring Breakers… at first I was like this is garbage, but I sort of liked it and I have no freaking idea why. Spring break bitchessssssssss lol. You have to see this Portlandia episode where these people get cursed with watching the Cabinet of Dr. Caligari haha. http://youtu.be/Dt1CC7h_JLE

Leave a comment