My Top Ten Horror Movie Quotes

Happy October everyone! Let’s kick off this month of horror with a top ten list of my favorite horror movie quotes. 🙂

I fully expect to have missed some with this list (I don’t re-watch horror movies to the degree that I watch favorites from other genres) but I’ve tried to pick the first quotes that popped into my head from my favorites. Oh, and I’ve never considered the Alien films or Jaws to be horror, FYI, so you won’t find “Get away from her, you bitch!” or “You’re gonna need a bigger boat” on this list. Those would top the list.

So here are my mainstream & super obvious Top Ten Horror Movie Quotes:

10. “If it’s in a word, or it’s in a look, you can’t get rid of the Babadook.”

As Heard In: The Babadook

I loved The Babadook – it was one of the very few horror films after 1989 that didn’t totally suck. Anyway, nothing is more freaky than that damn book and this is a cool rhyme (even though it doesn’t actually rhyme if you have an American accent…).

9. “The soil in a man’s heart is stonier.”

As Heard In: Pet Sematary

This is probably my only choice on this list that’s not totally predictable. I don’t know why but I had a slight obsession with this movie when it came out – it probably helped going & seeing it with a group of friends (I assume it was rated R? I actually wasn’t old enough. Hmm). Plus, one girl would shout out “PASCOW!” at school for months after seeing this. Anyway, “Sometimes dead is better” is probably the more famous line but the above quote, said by two characters, is more important to the story & the one I always liked.

8. “They’re all gonna laugh at you!”

As Heard In: Carrie

I also love “I can see your dirty pillows.” Ha! Dirty pillows! Carrie’s mom is such a nutjob. Yeah, I like my Stephen King movies…

7. “You are all my children now.”

As Heard In: A Nightmare On Elm Street Part 2: Freddy’s Revenge

Oh man, there are SO many A Nightmare On Elm Street quotes to choose from! Funny I’ve chosen one from my least favorite & least watched of the series. In fact, I was like “does he say that in number 2??”. It’s just such a well known Freddy line. I was also always fond of “Welcome to prime time, bitch!” and Nancy’s “Whatever you do… don’t fall asleep“. Well, I have another one higher on the list.

6. TIE: “One thing about living in Santa Carla I never could stomach; all the damn vampires.” & “Death by stereo!” & “My own brother, a goddamn, shit-sucking vampire!”

As Heard In: The Lost Boys

Dammit, there are also so many quotes in The Lost Boys! I’m also fond of saying “Maggots, Michael. You’re eating maggots.” anytime we have Chinese food. Goddamn I must be shit-sucking annoying to live with.

5. “They’re here!”

As Heard In: Poltergeist

Well, duh. So obvious. But you all immediately knew what it was from!

4. “One, two, Freddy’s coming for you. Three, four, better lock your door. Five, six, grab your crucifix. Seven, eight, gonna stay up late. Nine, ten, never sleep again…”

As Heard In: A Nightmare On Elm Street

I’m a sucker for rhymes or creepy lyrics to the tune of some kids’ song. “One, two, buckle my shoe” will only bring the above lyrics to mind for a generation of Freddy fans now. Or, maybe more than one generation – you young kids seem to like this one too!

3. “Heeere’s Johnny!”

As Heard In: The Shining

Again, like the Poltergeist quote, this one is super obvious. But The Shining is my favorite horror movie (along with The Omen, the Nightmare On Elm Streets & the series that my top two are a part of) so it’s naturally going to be high on my list. Guess that’s three Stephen King movies on my list (even though he hates this movie).

2. “They’re coming to get you, Barbara!”

As Heard In: Night Of The Living Dead

I love Romero’s zombie movies (yes, even Day, Land and Diary. but especially Day!). The Barbara (it’s spelled “Barbra” on IMDB but that just looks weird) line has to be the most famous Romero line & the one I quote the most by far, unlike my number one choice. But number one is just so damn cool

1. “When there’s no more room in hell, the dead will walk the Earth.”

As Heard In: Dawn Of The Dead

Love it. I don’t find this to be a very “quotable” quote like most of those on the list but it’s just such a great line. And I also love it being said by once again by Ken Foree in the (also totally excellent) 2004 remake. I suppose it’s somewhat quotable – you could say things like “When there’s no more room in hell, the Kardashians will walk the Earth“. Or something. Nah, that doesn’t really work – someone come up with something better! Well, I love these movies & keep saying every year that I’ll review the whole lot in October but never do. Maybe next year! 😉

53 thoughts on “My Top Ten Horror Movie Quotes

  1. How about, “Do I look like someone who cares what God thinks?” Pinhead – Hellraiser.
    I’m pretty sure he said this……….haven’t seen the film for years and if he didn’t say it, he should have!

      • Yeah, the first “Hellraiser” was pretty special and scary. The Cenobite with the teeth was quite shocking……….that whole setting with the Cenobites……the dim foggy light, the venetian blind effect, the rattling chains…….and of course, those characters……..the one with the chattering teeth, was a particularly frightful creature! From the madness of Clive Barker (Hellbound Heart), who also wrote Candyman! Another classic!………And another great quotable line……..but should we quote it? I’ll have a go:- “Candyman……Candyman…..Candyman…….Candyman……….Candyman”!
        There…….I’ve done it………….Aaaaaaaaaargh!

  2. Can’t beat the original Dawn of The Dead quote!

    Not a scary one but “I had to dismember that guy with a trowel” from Cabin in the Woods always makes me laugh.

    • Definitely can’t beat it – it had to be my number one. 😉 Love that movie so much! As for Cabin in the Woods, I should watch it again sometime. I know a lot of people really love that one. 🙂

  3. This is an excellent post! So many iconic ones here.

    One that always sticks with me: “Your mother sucks cocks in hell.” – The Exorcist. Vulgar, but memorable. lol

    • Thanks! 🙂 lol! Indeed – I probably should have at least given that an honorable mention. 😉 Never really been a favorite film of mine but there are some very memorable quotes in it. 🙂

  4. Good list! Not a fan of The Shining though. Have seen it like six times and it still just fails to grab me. In comic books I have the same problem with Watchmen. Two widely acclaimed properties that everyone seems to love, yet I just don’t really enjoy them. Weird.

    • Thanks! 🙂 But, yeah, that’s just weird. 😉 lol! Well, Stephen King agrees with you as he hates the movie! I don’t think Watchmen is that fantastic of an adaptation, though. It was just an okay film.

    • Yeah, I almost put that one too but I was afraid I’d have just too many Elm Street quotes. 😉 Gotta love Freddy! I hope people add some more too – I’ve had a lot of great additions from people already. 🙂

  5. Hi – why didn’t these make the list?? #Wanker

    “Kevin….”

    *tied with

    “It is very late…”

    and

    “It’s bats….”

    Also – I’m actually surprised you don’t have “Why don’t you put her in charge???” on here…

    ei

    • They didn’t make the list as I don’t know what they’re from! Lol! Knowing you, Night of the Creeps or Return of the Living Dead. 😉 As for Aliens, the greatest movie EVER, I did mention that I’ve never considered that “horror” (it’s sci-fi to me). Although, it’s one great line of many. But… I’d go with “Get away from her, you bitch!” :-p

  6. “Ouch, there goes my penis.” <—- name that flick

    This is a totes fab list my friend, I like the number one choice, very surprising yet wholly justifiable and I love that "Here's Johnny" is at #3. That's damn great.

    #lazytonight
    #nopervertedhashtags
    #sorry

  7. A favorite quote from a favorite movie..”Re-Animator” from 1985. While reanimating a cat the doc says, “Don’t expect it to tango. It has a broken back.”

  8. Awesome article. You definitely earnerd your movie nerd street cred. Right on. I loved this. So many iconic quotes… especially the old school Romero ones. I forgot how many great lines were in Lost Boys. And I thought I was the only one who thought of that maggot scene when i eat Chinese 😉 The Elm Street nursery rhyme probably haunted me the most of your Top 10. Even reading it sent chills.

    • Thanks! 🙂 I’m very happy to have movie nerd street cred. 😉 lol – I love those Lost Boys quotes!!! That movie is underrated. And the Elm Street rhyme is definitely creepy. Love it. And love the Romeros, of course. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Happy Halloween! My Horror Month Roundup | Cinema Parrot Disco

  10. Pingback: R.I.P. George A. Romero  | Cinema Parrot Disco

    • Aw, thanks! I had a lot of fun putting this post together. This was back in the days when I had more free time and actually put in a little effort on the blog. Lol. The Lost Boys is SO quotable! Love it. Easily my favorite vampire film & I’m not ashamed to admit it. 🙂

  11. “A Naked American Man Stole My Balloons…”
    has to b my All-Time Fave

    but What We Do In Th Shadows has some great lines:
    – “Yeah some of our clothes are from victims. You might bite someone and then, you think, ‘Oooh, those are some nice pants!’
    – “I go for a look which I call dead but delicious”
    – “I went in the lounge the other day and there was blood all over my nice antique couch.
    “Which one? The red one?”
    “Well it’s red now, yeah.”

    Happy Halloween!

Leave a comment