Which Book Should I Read Next? (A Poll!)

Last Christmas (2014) I got a lot of books as gifts, which I worked my way through in 2015 (the only one of those that I haven’t read is A Game Of Thrones – I don’t have the energy to start that yet!). I did a Top Ten (okay, 14) of everything I read last year including reviews of each of those books HEREif you’re curious.

I have to say that I really lucked out last year – I absolutely loved several of the books that I read (especially Ready Player One and The Martian plus I read my first George R.R. Martin and Joe Hill books, which have me definitely wanting to read more by those authors). This last Christmas, though, I got no books. However, I got a load of vouchers! So what did I buy? Books! They’re in the above photo, including some I’ve had for years but still not read.

I mainly stick to reading Stephen King most of the time. And, okay, I admit it – I read way too much Dean Koontz. I’ve just always loved horror and the supernatural when it comes to books but for some reason have barely explored the genre I love above all others: sci-fi. I like fantasy as well but have read very little of it (I do adore The Hobbit & The Lord Of The Rings).

I think, with sci-fi, I’m scared of it. I don’t have a science-y mind. Those books are for smart people! The technical gobbledygook in Star Trek: The Next Generation confused me enough as it was (god I loved that show). Maybe it’s why I like sci-fi comedy when it comes to reading (The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy is my favorite book ever). So I thought it was time I try some new authors. The first two books I picked up were a Neil Gaiman & a Terry Pratchett. Look at me! Expanding my horizons and shit!

I’m in the middle of reading Stephen King’s The Bazaar Of Bad Dreams at the moment but I thought it might be fun to do a poll asking everyone which book I should read next. It’ll give me an idea of what’s the most popular. I would also love it if people would like to recommend any other authors, especially in the sci-fi and fantasy genres. Or horror & supernatural… The one thing I never really like is “crime” novels, though – the Patricia Cornwell was given to me and I don’t know if I should read it or not. Any fans of hers here?

Enough of my blathering – here’s the poll. You can choose up to three. And feel free to discuss any in the comments – I love a good book chat. 🙂

52 thoughts on “Which Book Should I Read Next? (A Poll!)

  1. I absolutely adored Stieg Larsson’s Millenium trilogia but it’s crime. I’ve read some Cornwell and she’s OK but nowhere near of being my favourite. If you (for some reason) want to start reading more crime, I’d start from Swedes, they’re all great writers. Have you read Dragonlance novels, the old ones by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman (probably if you like fantasy); I love those ones. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón is one of my all-time favourites, it’s a bit of a fantasy, I guess. It’s really, really beautiful book. Perks of Being a Wallflower is really, really great book but it’s nowhere near of those genres you mentioned. 🙂

    • Hmm. Well, I’ve not heard of any of these other than The Perks Of Being A Wallflower! (Read that. Loved it). 🙂 Oh, wait – is that the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series?? I did read the first book & liked it but not enough to read the rest. The Dragonlance thing sounds interesting. Thanks for all the suggestions! I’m going to go look these up. 🙂

  2. You just HAVE to read “The Princess Bride”…………A fantastic read, even if you have seen the film! To be perfectly honest, “The Princess Bride” is a great film and is certainly one of the classics………………but it doesn’t hold a candle to the book! I recall the Man In Black sword-fighting with Inigo Montoya and it is just brilliant! I had to flick back and read it all over again, it was so good! A great, great book!
    This guy could write………….Butch Cassidy & the Sundance Kid, Marathon Man (he wrote the book), Chaplin, All the President’s Men, A Bridge Too Far……….I could go on!
    Genius writer…………..Genius book! READ IT NOW!!!

    • Okay. Let me get this straight. Are you saying that I should read The Princess Bride?? 😉 lol. I absolutely ADORE the movie but find it weird reading the book AFTER seeing the movie so I never got around to it. I know I should…. It certainly looks like it’ll be the poll winner! 😉

      • Look………..I don’t think I am spoiling anything here, but the book starts with the grandfather looking for this GREAT book called “The Princess Bride” that his father read to him as a kid. Nobody has this book, so he searches high and low for it and finally finds it in an old second-hand bookshop. But the book that he finds is like 5,000 pages long and he can’t understand how it can possibly be the same book as it is way too long and upon trying to read it, he finds it incredibly boring (but it is the same book)………………..!
        Every man, woman and child should be encouraged to read this book! You will find that you will be smiling to yourself throughout and will think about it long after you finish. It’s like you have found something that no one else knows about and it is your secret to be treasured forever!
        Hopefully this is enough to whet your appetite…………you won’t be disappointed.
        Goldman is brilliant……………he covered so many genres and mastered them all!

      • Lol. I’m loving your enthusiasm! 😉 You have me even more excited now (and I was already excited since I love the movie so much). It’s currently in third place but it’s very close! But I don’t have a closing date on the poll. Plus, I haven’t voted myself yet… 😉

    • Yay! Thanks for your vote! I’m behind on comments so only checking the results now. Looks like the Gaiman book will win, closely followed by Philip K Dick & William Goldman. But, yeah, there are no losers since I’ll read them all eventually. Everyone’s a winner, baby, that’s the truth! 😉

  3. Anything by Philip K.Dick is top notch.

    If you’re trying Terry Pratchett go for Going Postal. I know The Color Of Magic is the first of the Discworld series and it is fun but the aforementioned is a lot better.

    Joe Hill’s Heart Shaped Box is also on my list to get to…sometime soon.

    If you like end of the world books don’t miss Robert McCammon’s Swan Song from 1987.

    • Hehe. I’ve already spent my vouchers so it’ll have to be The Colour Of Magic. 😉 But if I like it, I’ll certainly read more! Looks like Philip K Dick is in the lead so far. 🙂 Oh, yes – I LOVE anything apocalyptic!!! I didn’t even think to mention that genre. It’s probably my absolute favorite! So I’ll look into your recommendation for sure. Thanks! 🙂

  4. Some great picks here (I voted – front runner being Heart-Shaped Box, of course). Hmmmm, Cornwell? Skip her and rather read Karin Slaughter, hands down. I am not a fan of Reichs or Cornwell, really, and slaughter is the more brutal writer, if we are being honest here.

    Can’t wait to see what you read next 😀

  5. I haven’t read any of these, but I’ve been meaning to check out Princess Bride just because I love the movie so much. As far as fantasy, I highly, highly recommend The Neverending Story, as well as the Inkheart trilogy, Spiderwick Chronicles, and Eragon series, all of which are much better than their respective movies.
    They’re probably juvenile compared with your reading list, but you can’t go wrong with classics like Narnia or the Chronicles of Prydain too.

    • Well, everyone is certainly highly recommending The Princess Bride! I adore the movie as well. 🙂 Yeah, I think I might like The NeverEnding Story so I may check that out. Not read any of the others but did read the first Narnia years ago. It’s a classic! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Book Poll Results: And The Winner Is… | Cinema Parrot Disco

  7. Pingback: My Blog’s March 2016 Recap | Cinema Parrot Disco

  8. Pingback: My Blog’s April 2016 Recap | Cinema Parrot Disco

  9. Pingback: Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman (Book Review) | Cinema Parrot Disco

  10. Pingback: The Colour Of Magic by Terry Pratchett (Book Review) | Cinema Parrot Disco

  11. Pingback: Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill (Book Review) | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a comment