ATM (2012) Review

IMG_6896.JPG

ATM (2012)

Directed by David Brooks

Starring:
Brian Geraghty
Alice Eve
Josh Peck

Running Time: 90 minutes (so, 80 minutes too long)

Plot Synopsis: (via IMDB)
On a late night visit to an ATM, three co-workers end up in a desperate fight for their lives when they become trapped by an unknown man.

IMG_7177.JPG

My Opinion:

I reviewed House At The End Of The Street recently and was a total snobby bitch about how awful it was. Well, you know what? That was The Godfather compared to this pile of shit! When I first read about this I thought “Three people trapped in one of those little ATM shelter things I think they only have in big cities in America as I’ve only ever seen one in that episode of Friends where Chandler got locked in one with a famous model? Can that really work for a whole 90 minute movie?” NO! Apparently it can’t!!!

IMG_7174.JPG

Well, I don’t know – maybe it could have worked with a better script & characters. Hell, I liked Panic Room. Come to think of it, there was also that Ryan Reynolds movie where he’s buried underground for the whole thing and that wasn’t TOO bad, although I didn’t love it (oh – that was actually written by the same guy who wrote ATM! just noticed that on the poster above). Oh, and I have yet to see Locke, which is just Tom Hardy in a car, but THAT looks good. So, okay – the concept here maybe wasn’t all that bad. I guess the problem is the idiotic characters, stupid script, a totally generic “bad guy”, and one of those horror movie endings that makes you go “what the hell was the point of all that?!”

IMG_7176.JPG

Alice Eve is hot, though. Why do the boys in the audience get her while we have to look at the two dorks above? Really?? That kid from Drake & Josh??? He was also in the Red Dawn remake I suffered through recently. Ugh. If for some reason you’re a fan of his, do yourself a favor & watch the movie Mean Creek instead. That was pretty good. Do NOT watch this! I’m bored. Summary time!

IMG_7178.JPG

Summary:

Two guys, one girl with big cups. Stuck in an ATM thingy for 90 minutes while some psycho torments them (and us!) for no reason whatsoever. Yawnfest.

My Rating: 3.5/10

IMG_7175.JPG

23 thoughts on “ATM (2012) Review

  1. I also was thinking abt that Friends ep when I read the synopsis 🙂

    Maybe this would be better if it really was Chandler in there for 90 minutes.

    I think I’ll pass eventhough I really loved Buried

    Thanks for the heads up

  2. Pingback: Red Dawn (2012), People Like Us & We’re The Millers Movie Reviews | Cinema Parrot Disco

  3. Pingback: My Ten Most-Hated Movies Since Starting This Blog | Cinema Parrot Disco

  4. Pingback: Watched, Read, Reviewed: September 2018 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  5. Pingback: Frozen (2010), Dig Two Graves & Cargo & Jug Face Movie Reviews | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a comment