A Quiet Place (2018) Review

A Quiet Place (2018)

Directed by John Krasinski

Screenplay by Bryan Woods, Scott Beck, John Krasinski

Starring: Emily Blunt, John Krasinski, Millicent Simmonds, Noah Jupe, Cade Woodward

Plot Synopsis: (via IMDb)
A family is forced to live in silence while hiding from creatures that hunt by sound.

My Opinion:

I was really looking forward to this movie well before all the hype. I liked the sound (ha!) of the plot synopsis as it seemed like an original idea plus I really like Emily Blunt so that helped as well. And Emily Blunt is a proper actress – she wouldn’t be in a BAD horror movie! Well, okay – Wind Chill wasn’t the greatest (although I kind of liked it but that’s probably only because of Blunt). Anyway, good modern horror movies are extremely hard to find and I’m very picky when it comes to this genre. There’s been an improvement, however, in the past few years with things such as It Follows and The Babadook and I’m happy to say that A Quiet Place continues this trend of original, well-acted, and smart horror films.

First of all, this movie does what I think is the most important thing in all movies, really, but is often ignored in the horror genre: it takes time setting up and making you care about the characters. Just like with the It adaptation last year (another chance to mention It – I loved that film). I’ll stay completely spoiler free in this review but I think it’s known that A Quiet Place focuses on one family as they struggle to survive in complete silence. It’s obvious that the parents love each other. How sweet – Blunt & Krasinski may actually have a loving real-life Hollywood marriage. I hope so! I want another Paul Newman & Joanne Woodward Hollywood love story. I’d like to believe the love is real because it comes across that way in the film. They were both great and the kids also did really well. You know the parents will do whatever it takes to protect their family.

By the way – Yes, it was really was hard to eat popcorn in this movie. Crunch crunch crunch! Hats off to those in my cinema – everyone actually stayed really quiet for this film. Shocking! You always have some asshole ruining things but I think, as the film was so quiet, everyone was too self-conscious to make any noise. Now if we could just get everyone to not distract the audience with their BRIGHT FUCKING PHONE SCREENS! What sort of movie could make people not want to look at their phones, I wonder? Hmm…. (Wasn’t an issue for me in this film since I was in the front row)


What else can I say? You’ve already seen all the reviews raving over this & heard all the hype. This is a brilliantly acted and thoroughly effective horror film. It didn’t scare me but no movies ever really do so maybe that’s just me (I’ve watched too many movies!). But I was very tense as I wanted this loving family to survive and, for a change, I wasn’t able to predict what would happen (unlike with the majority of cliché modern horrors). I’m happy to say that A Quiet Place lives up to all the hype. I’m loving this new trend of modern horror movies actually being damn good films. Can the Academy please recognize this one with some Oscar nominations next year? It’s time to start giving these films more credit when it’s deserved.

My Rating: 8/10

29 thoughts on “A Quiet Place (2018) Review

  1. I can’t get any enthusiasm for this film. I can’t buy into the premise of it. I just don’t think people can live quietly enough. Just the simple fact that they are using oil lamps means no electricity. Therefore, they must be cooking over fire. Fire for cooking, washing, laundry, is loud. Fires crackle, snap, make loud popping noises. Wood shifting and resettling as it burns down is noisy. Just basic living makes to much noise even before you add into it issues of coughing, sneezing, snoring. Sounds that are one that people have less control over.

    • Well, I don’t want to give much away but they do actually have electricity. 🙂 Not sure about snoring, etc. They didn’t address those types of things. I did really love the movie but, especially with horror movies, you have to suspend disbelief a little or you’ll never enjoy them. I think they did the best they could to make surviving in a world with these creatures believable. There are probably plenty of small plot holes here and there but, overall, the performances were great and it was a good story, especially for horror. So I liked it a lot. 🙂

  2. Doesn’t your cinema run a promo before the films telling people to shut their mobile phones off? My local is an Odeon and they make a point of twice before the film starts. :/

    • Hehe. Most the cinemas I go to have that. But people ignore them. Because people are horrible. 😉 Sooooo rude to ruin the movie for others but it’s rare that I don’t see or hear phones while watching movies. 😦

    • People who aren’t very organised and book movies too late when only the front row is left. 😜 Actually, it was the second row but no one was in front of me. Nice to get a break from looking at phone screens! It’s also a cinema where the first row isn’t that close to the screen so it’s okay. 😉

  3. Hmmm. I wish I saw the version you did because I cared nothing for this family. It did nothing to make me care for them and than they do stupid shit that made me cheer for their destruction. When it just gets good. It ends. I was disappointed in this.

    • Aww – Sorry to hear this one didn’t work for you! Horror movies are so subjective. I think I just liked that it felt like a really original idea. At least, the way they went about dealing with their situation felt original to me. I thought they did well in handling that lifestyle. I’d like to think I’d do things differently & perfectly but, in reality, I’d be the type to die within the first few days of something like this! 😁

  4. Pingback: Watched, Read, Reviewed: April 2018 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  5. Pingback: The Secret Of Marrowbone (2018) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  6. Pingback: Happy 6th Blogiversary To Me | Cinema Parrot Disco

  7. Pingback: Watched, Read, Reviewed: November 2018 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  8. Pingback: My Top Ten 2018 Movie Releases | Cinema Parrot Disco

  9. Pingback: My Top Ten Horror Movies Of The 21st Century | Cinema Parrot Disco

  10. Pingback: Watched, Read, Reviewed: February 2020 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  11. Pingback: Watched, Read, Reviewed: March 2020 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  12. Pingback: Watched, Read, Reviewed: May 2021 | Cinema Parrot Disco

  13. Pingback: My Top Ten 21st Century Horror Movies | Cinema Parrot Disco

  14. Pingback: A Quiet Place Part II (2020) Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a comment