My Oscar Picks For The 88th Annual Academy Awards

Well, I guess it’s time to pick who I think will win Oscars this year! I don’t take this too seriously as I don’t know anyone who is into having an “Oscar Party” or anything like that. But this is a movie blog so I figure I better at least do this on here. πŸ™‚

To make it more fun, I’ll also choose what I want to win each category (which is quite often different from what I think will win). Here’s a quick list of the nominees that I’ve seen & links to my reviews:

Room – 9/10
Mad Max: Fury Road – 9/10
The Martian – 7.5/10
The Revenant – 7.5/10
Spotlight – 7/10
The Big Short – 5.5/10
Steve Jobs – 7/10
Inside Out – 8.5/10
Ex Machina – 8/10
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – 9/10
Cinderella – 7/10

Okay, for each category I’ll put WANT for the ones I want to win & WILL for the ones that I think really will win. Here we go!

2016 Oscar Nominees

Best Picture
“The Big Short”
“Bridge of Spies”
“Brooklyn”
WANT – “Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Martian”
WILL – “The Revenant”
ALSO WANT – “Room”
“Spotlight”

Best Director
Adam McKay, “The Big Short”
George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
WILL – Alejandro GonzΓ‘lez IΓ±Γ‘rritu, “The Revenant”
WANT – Lenny Abrahamson, “Room”
Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight”

Best Actor
Bryan Cranston, “Trumbo”
Matt Damon, “The Martian”
WANT & WILL – Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Revenant”
Michael Fassbender, “Steve Jobs”
Eddie Redmayne, “The Danish Girl”

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett, “Carol”
WANT & WILL – Brie Larson, “Room”
Jennifer Lawrence, “Joy”
Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”
Saoirse Ronan, “Brooklyn”

Best Supporting Actor
Christian Bale, “The Big Short”
WANT – Tom Hardy, “The Revenant”
Mark Ruffalo, “Spotlight”
Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies”
WILL – Sylvester Stallone, “Creed”

Best Supporting Actress
WANT – Jennifer Jason Leigh, “The Hateful Eight”
Rooney Mara, “Carol”
Rachel McAdams, “Spotlight”
Alicia Vikander, “The Danish Girl”
WILL – Kate Winslet, “Steve Jobs”

Best Original Screenplay
“Bridge of Spies”
“Ex Machina”
WANT – “Inside Out”
WILL – “Spotlight”
“Straight Outta Compton”

Best Adapted Screenplay
WILL – “The Big Short”
“Brooklyn”
“Carol”
“The Martian”
WANT – “Room”

Best Foreign Film (I have zero knowledge of these so am just choosing the name I like the most) πŸ˜‰
WANT & WILL – “Embrace of the Serpent”
“Mustang”
“Son of Saul”
“Theeb”
“A War”

Best Documentary Feature (again… I know nothing!)
“Amy”
“Cartel Land”
“The Look of Silence”
“What Happened, Miss Simone?”
WANT & WILL – “Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom”

Best Animated Feature
“Anomalisa”
“Boy and the World”
WANT & WILL – “Inside Out”
“Shaun the Sheep Movie”
“When Marnie Was There”

Best Film Editing
“The Big Short”
“Mad Max: Fury Road”
WILL – “The Revenant”
“Spotlight”
WANT – “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

Best Song
“Fifty Shades of Grey”
“Racing Extinction”
“Spectre” (ugh)
WILL – “The Hunting Ground”
WANT? – (I know none of these songs but the Bond one sucks) “Youth”

Best Original Score
“Bridge of Spies”
“Carol”
WANT & WILL – “The Hateful Eight”
“Sicario”
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

Best Digital Effects
“Ex Machina”
“The Martian”
“The Revenant”
WANT & WILL – “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

Best Cinematography
“Carol”
“The Hateful Eight”
WANT – “Mad Max: Fury Road”
WILL – “The Revenant”
“Sicario”

Best Costume Design
“Carol”
“Cinderella”
“The Danish Girl”
WANT & WILL – “Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Revenant”

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
WANT & WILL – “Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared”
“The Revenant”

Best Production Design
“Bridge of Spies”
“The Danish Girl”
WANT & WILL – “Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Martian”
“The Revenant”

Best Sound Editing
“Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Martian”
WILL – “The Revenant”
“Sicario”
WANT – “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

Best Sound Mixing
“Bridge of Spies”
“Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Martian”
WILL – “The Revenant”
WANT – “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

Best Short Film, Live Action (choosing the title I like!)
“Ave Maria”
“Day One”
“Everything Will Be Okay”
“Shok”
WANT & WILL – “Stutterer”

Best Short Film, Animated (choosing the title again!)
“Bear Story”
“Prologue”
“Sanjay’s Super Team”
WANT – “We Can’t Live Without Cosmos”
WILL – “World of Tomorrow”

Best Documentary Short Subject (choosing the title… again!) πŸ˜‰
“Body Team 12”
“Chau, Beyond the Lines”
“Claude Lanzmann”
WANT & WILL – “A Girl in the River”
“Last Day of Freedom”

39 thoughts on “My Oscar Picks For The 88th Annual Academy Awards

  1. Wow, Room and Winter On Fire are my favourites as well. Seriously no kidding! I doubt they’ll win though, Spotlight and The Revenant seem favourites and I think Amy’s having too much momentum to lose. Love that you liked Room so much, my number 1 movie of the year πŸ™‚ Great post!

  2. Just watched Room last night. While Brie was great, Jacob Tremblay stole the show. It’s very rare to see a film told from the POV of a five year old boy. As QuvenzhanΓ© Wallis was nominated in “Beasts of the Southern Mind”for best actress, I’m curious why Jacob Tremblay isn’t nominated.

    • I’m totally in agreement, Cindy! Tremblay was absolutely amazing. It’s ridiculous he’s not nominated! I know the Academy very rarely likes to nominate kids but he truly should be. I’d also want him to win if he’d been nominated. I can’t think of another performance in recent times that got such an emotional response from me. I’m glad they’ve at least given Room SOME recognition, though… πŸ™‚

  3. I think The Revenanant is clear favourite and should be. I liked Room, but I wouldn’t place it near the winners. The film that won’t get enough awards is Mad Max. I wouldn’t have even nominated spotlight and I loved The Big Short although Steve Carell should have been nominated.

    • I think The Revenant will win the most, although Room & Fury Road are my favorites by far. I agree that Fury Road won’t get enough awards – action movies never do. I’d love for it to win Best Picture! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ I TOTALLY agree about Tremblay. He’s amazing in Room! I don’t understand why he’s not nominated. Yeah – I think Spotlight has a slight chance but I’m pretty sure it’s the year for Leo & The Revenant as well. πŸ™‚

  4. Like you what I want and what I think will happen differ quite a bit. lol I want Sicario to win Best Cinematography the most though.

      • I clearly have to look into Deakins… πŸ™‚ The Revenant was indeed stunningly breathtaking, though! It really deserved Best Picture even though it’s really not my type of thing.

    • Haha. Yeah… What I want and what does win are often very different. Plus most the stuff I’d want doesn’t even get nominated at all. πŸ˜‰ I’ve actually not seen Sicario but I would think The Revenant might win that one! Oh… Is that what I chose?? Lol. (I didn’t take my picks too seriously…) πŸ™‚

  5. Most of your wants and wills match what what I would have picked. I do think Mad Max Fury Road will win most of the technical awards. That song from Spectre is not a Bond song. It’s just oh not sexy

  6. Wow! Interesting choices. I’d say we agree on about half of the categories. Still cool either way to see someone’s picks. I hadn’t accounted for this when I posted my picks yesterday, but now I’m going to begin the back and forth on my choices once more. This will be a tough few days.

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ How did you end up doing? I have to admit I didn’t keep track of how I did this year as I did ZERO research into the (many!) that I knew nothing about. I do sometimes but just didn’t have the time this year. I’m happy that Mad Max won the most, though. And Brie Larson, Leo & Morricone. πŸ™‚

  7. I like that the Best Picture race is so open this year. I haven’t actually seen any of the three frontrunners, so don’t really have a horse in that race… though so many people are now assuming it’s going to be The Revenant, I kinda hope it’s something else (just because I’m contrary, and because anything perceived as an upset is fun).

    I’ll basically be rooting for Mad Max in every other category it’s up for though, especially Best Director. Another contrary thing I hope for: Max wins all the technical categories, and nothing else wins many multiples, because then all the news outlets are forced to find a way to acknowledge it was the “big winner” even though it only won small categories. (I am contrary to a fault.)

    • Well, you got one of your Mad Max wishes!! πŸ˜‰ I, too, am elated that it was the big winner of the night even though it didn’t win the biggest categories. Which, really, is proof that the Oscars are complete & utter bullshit. “Yes, we’ll give this movie the most awards as it’s technically an AWESOME film but we won’t give it the biggest awards because we’re old & stuck in our ways and can’t admit that an “action” movie is a finer piece of art than most of the other nominees. We’d rather vote for a worthy topic than a good film!”. Hmm. That came out bitchy. Lol! πŸ™‚

      • I think it’s true, though!

        I noticed lots of the news headlines went with Leo’s win, rather than what won Best Picture or Mad Max‘s total. I bet a few places had to do some hasty re-writing of their pre-prepared pieces when it wasn’t The Revenant.

  8. Songs are all a bit lame but as Gaga’s song has an important message, I think it should win. And it probably will. I have my doubts about The Revenant winning the Best Picture… We’ll see. I’m going to watch Room tomorrow, can’t wait to see if I like it as much as most of the people (or at least those people who’s reviews I’ve read).

    • I was surprised that that boring Bond song beat Gaga’s, especially as the Academy is so political & always votes for a topic or message more than for the actual art involved in something. I gotta say all the songs, non-lyric-wise, were WEAK. Very very bland year for songs. I’m disappointed in the Best Picture winner but not the slightest bit surprised. Oh – what did you think of Room??? I absolutely loved it.

      • Nah, it didn’t do it for me. Both, Larsen and Tremblay were great but otherwise I was suprisingly unmoved… I don’t know why?

      • Aww. I’m sad to hear that. 😦 It really worked for me! Especially thanks to Tremblay, I think. I’m thinking having a kid may possibly help, judging by those who liked the film and didn’t. πŸ™‚

      • Interesting point! It might have some bearing, I don’t know. I have a friend, who’s childless as well and she really loved Room and usually I’m the one being sucker for well-made dramas but this time it was opposite. I think I’ll watch it sometime again, just to see if it affects me more when I’m not in a rush or ill while watching it.

Leave a Reply

