The Descent (2005) Review for Halloween Horror Fest

Here’s reblog number two of my “Mini-Neil Marshall Weekend”. I reblogged his film Dog Soldiers yesterday, which was okay, but The Descent is easily one of the better horror films from recent years & made my list that I posted on Thursday of My Top Ten Horror Movies Of The 21st Century.

See you in a while for a last-minute reblog related to a last-minute horror film that I watched last night. As the movie is the perfect thing for Halloween, I’ll be posting a review of it tomorrow along with another Blind Spot horror review that I’d originally planned to end on for October Horror Month. Happy Halloween Eve, everyone! 🙂

Cinema Parrot Disco

20131021-095643 pm.jpg
The Descent (2005)

Directed by Neil Marshall

Starring:
Shauna Macdonald
Natalie Mendoza
Alex Reid
Saskia Mulder
MyAnna Buring
Nora Jane Noone

Running time: 99 minutes

Plot Synopsis:
A year after tragedy strikes for Sarah, one of a group of adventurous female friends, the women decide to reunite for a caving expedition in the Appalachian Mountains of North Carolina. When part of the cave collapses, trapping them inside, the group of friends must find another way out. They soon find themselves fighting for survival when they realize that they aren’t the only ones in the caves.

20131021-095751 pm.jpg
My Opinion:

This is my third review for Halloween Horror Fest (and I have a lot more to go!). I first reviewed From Beyond followed by ParaNorman. I’d always wanted to see The Descent and was finally convinced to check it out after reading Kim’s very positive review of it at…

View original post 901 more words

4 thoughts on “The Descent (2005) Review for Halloween Horror Fest

  1. I watched this for a Blind Spot last year, and had tried to watch it like four times before that. I can say that I am not a fan of this one – don’t get the love.

    • Aww. That’s too bad. I think the atmosphere is fantastic! It made me truly claustrophobic. And the tragedy in the beginning was absolutely heartbreaking. I do know the American ending SUCKED big time, though. So glad I saw the original British ending as I think the movie would’ve been ruined had I seen the other first…

Leave a Reply

