Smurfs: The Lost Village (2017) Review

Smurfs: The Lost Village (2017)

Directed by Kelly Asbury

Based on The Smurfs by Peyo

Starring: Demi Lovato, Rainn Wilson, Joe Manganiello, Jack McBrayer, Danny Pudi, Michelle Rodriguez, Ellie Kemper, Ariel Winter, Meghan Trainor, Jake Johnson, Mandy Patinkin, Julia Roberts

Production company: Sony Pictures Animation

Plot Synopsis: (via IMDB)
In this fully animated, all-new take on the Smurfs, a mysterious map sets Smurfette and her friends Brainy, Clumsy and Hefty on an exciting race through the Forbidden Forest leading to the discovery of the biggest secret in Smurf history.

My Opinion:

I don’t have the energy to “review” this. I suppose Smurfs: The Lost Village isn’t as bad as those godawful live action movies they did with Doogie Howser but that’s not saying much. I know I’m probably too picky on kids’ movies but it’s hard not to be when Pixar & Disney have proven that it is actually possible to make really good movies that people of all ages enjoy. This movie has that “straight to video” feel and it’s one that parents will stick on for their kids to watch while they go & do housework or something. So I suppose that’s one positive thing about it? They should stick that on the cover when it comes out on DVD! “Smurfs: The Lost Village is a good ‘keep the kids entertained while you do housework’ movie.” – Cinema Parrot Disco.

I suppose I’m also a little extra picky since I adored the Smurfs cartoon as a kid in the Eighties so can’t help but compare. At least they didn’t mess with the look of the Smurfs too much but it unfortunately didn’t work as well as The Peanuts Movie, which I really enjoyed. To be fair, this movie is at least a step in the right direction and I don’t think it does any damage to the Smurfs legacy (unlike the horrible live action ones). Actually, I’m not entirely sure why this movie doesn’t quite work. It could’ve been worse but a dull story and some pretty bad casting of voice actors who didn’t suit the characters made for an hour & a half that felt very long in our uncomfortable cinema seats. I hated Gargamel – sorry Rainn Wilson! And Jack McBrayer as Clumsy Smurf probably isn’t to everyone’s taste… His voice can get highly irritating after an hour & a half (or two minutes). I guess Demi Lovato was fine as Smurfette since I didn’t really give her voice any thought and didn’t know until the end credits who had played her. There’s some bland & totally forgettable pop music in the movie, which always annoys me in kids’ films. Oh – except for Blue (Da Ba Dee) by Eiffel 65, which is a thoroughly embarrassing guilty pleasure of mine. Pure cheese! But less embarrassing than this movie.

Okay – a slight spoiler now (if you care). But as my kid pointed out during the movie, she knew all about the lost village already thanks to the toys that have been released (my kid likes to complain about SPOILERS! It’s adorable). The totally predictable & not at all surprising mystery of the lost village is that it’s all girl Smurfs. So Smurfette is finally not the only female Smurf. I’d have never guessed! I only bring it up because it felt like that all female community on The Walking Dead, giving me & hubby the opportunity to make Negan jokes to each other throughout the film to help ease our boredom. Maybe we can make Smurfs jokes to ease our boredom while watching The Walking Dead next season (since that show SUCKS lately – why do we keep watching?!). I think this “review” is finished. I’m going to go do some housework.

My Rating: 4.5/10

12 thoughts on “Smurfs: The Lost Village (2017) Review

  1. Great review! Not something I’m ever going to see so was cool to read through. Your comment “Iā€™m probably too picky on kidsā€™ movies” is completely understandable, I think its necessary to be picky and critical of ANYTHING really… It’s how we improve. Yeh something is made with children in mind, but it can still be decent. Just like Disney and Pixar as you point out… šŸ™‚ Great review though! Enjoyed the read.

  2. The trailer my local cinema has been playing for the last 10 years (feels like it at least) gives away the entire movie, including the girl smurfs at the lost village! Doh! I’m just glad this is finally out so I don’t have to watch it anymore, it was getting to the point I could repeat the trailer word for word. Thanks for taking one for the team!

  3. Pingback: The Last Temptation Of Christ (1988) Blind Spot Review | Cinema Parrot Disco

  4. Me and my kid enjoyed the movie. Character depiction is well done and the colors in the movie are awesome. It is different to Disney & co. I think. Enjoyed this one! šŸ˜Ž

    • Glad you (and your kid) enjoyed this one! : ) My kid did seem happy enough with it. I do still love seeing the Smurfs since I loved them as a kid. And it’s better than those live action movies… šŸ™‚

  5. I half wanted to see this. Part of my wariness was do to those awful live ones. I didn’t watch them. But I could tell they were bad without having to watch anything. This makes me glad I didn’t spend the money to see this but if it is ever on Netflix or something, I would check it out and see if I could watch it.

  6. Pingback: My Top Ten Movies Of 2017 | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a comment